Woolmer replaces Miandad as Pakistan's Coach (Merged)

------------x--------------
We love it they way it is,what goes of your father…or my father..Lol
:rotfl:,boy oh boy,your “told you so” attitude,Allah kisi ki nazer na lagnay day,hahahaha, we love it,you dig..we love it,
India aur Cricket say agay jahan aur bhi hain,:jhanda:

------x-------------
Be fair now, to say the least and on the contrary Pakis are more subdued with their Cricket than any other nation,
Surley you meant INDIA and WI for that matter,

We don’t explode fire works in pakistan after each stroke and wood rattle nor we burn papers and stuff in stadia after each innings,…
stay cool and chill ma man, I’m back :dhimpak:

Changes at the top for Pakistan

Was he pushed or did he jump?

Osman Samiuddin

June 16, 2004

And then there were none. Bob Woolmer’s arrival as Pakistan coach puts the final nail into the coffin of the architectural troika that Pakistan hired last year to purge an ageing and fractious team. At least Javed Miandad, unlike Rashid Latif and Aamir Sohail, lasted for over a year.

But like the other two, Miandad’s departure – for the third time – was enveloped in some confusion. During the press conference at a sweltering National Stadium in Karachi, speculation was rife about the manner of his departure and the reasons behind it. Was he pushed, or did he jump? Was it problems with players that caused his demise, or was it his alleged reluctance to embrace technology and modernity in his methods that proved his undoing?

Miandad allegedly informed one reporter that he was leaving of his own accord, carrying out a threat he had first made in April. Rameez Raja, the chief executive of the PCB, clarified in a chat with Wisden Cricinfo that the board had terminated his contract. Later there were reports that the decision to part ways had been a mutual one.

The reasons behind his departure were the subject of some conjecture. “With Miandad, it must be because of his problems with handling players,” said one journalist. “He is stuck in the cricketing dark ages, shunning laptops and proper analysis – he just isn’t a modern-day coach,” observed another. Given that his previous stints as coach had ended because of differences with players, the former reason is entirely plausible, albeit one Raja denies.

“Inzamam and the other players had no differences with Javed,” said Raja. “We want to professionalise the top tier of Pakistan cricket and we just felt it was time to move towards that. We all know Miandad gave it his best shot, but we just needed something more.”

Wasim Bari, Pakistan’s chairman of selectors, thought it to be a combination of both. “Globally, the position of the coach has become a highly specialised and technical one. I think that realisation has played a big part in this. But yes, there were whispers after the India series about team unity and problems the team management had in communicating with the players, so maybe that played a part too.”

Within this context, the question of how effectively Woolmer will be able to communicate with the players – given that not all of them are comfortable speaking in English – rather than how much he will earn, seems crucial, although some thought otherwise.

Woolmer has asked for a local, low-profile assistant coach to bridge the communication gap, and the retention of Haroon Rasheed – “for the foreseeable future” – as manager will also help. Aaqib Javed, the former pace bowler and coach of the World Cup-winning Under-19 team, is among the names that have been mentioned for the position, but a decision will be taken in the coming weeks.

Other names in the running included Dean Jones, who had expressed an interest, but Woolmer, says Raja, “had been identified early. His scientific approach and analytical expertise attracted us and it was just a question of sorting out his commitments with the ICC before hiring him. Woolmer won’t be a magic wand, but we are extremely optimistic that he will bring about a positive change in the way the team operates and thinks.”

Woolmer, who will soon have a much-needed physiotherapist-cum-fitness-trainer in Andy Gray, is said to be excited at the prospect of working with Pakistan and has already indicated to the board that he will be putting pressure on them to initiate more research and analysis into the cause of Team Pakistan. “He wants to meet some of the Pakistani players in England at the moment already,” said Raja, “so that he can start building up a relationship with them.”

Perhaps Woolmer will be an inspired choice. Maybe he will finally manage to instill the discipline and professionalism that a young team so desperately needs. Maybe he will be, after nine changes in the last five years, the one coach Pakistan has yearned for.

How the players respond to him is not as easy to predict, and neither is the degree to which Woolmer will succeed here. Scepticism doesn’t arise from Woolmer’s nationality or capability, as it did unfortunately with Richard Pybus. No, this unease emanates from the fact that, unbelievably, only 15 months into a rebuilding project, all the raw materials have been switched. How do you build something when you are not even sure of the tools you are to use? What is there to say that Woolmer won’t be replaced before his contract expires in 2007?

The PCB may argue that they don’t believe in change for the sake of it, but clearly they don’t hold much hope in continuity. It is common practice in Pakistani politics for incumbent governments to scrap all policies of past governments, irrespective of whether or not they were beneficial. Likewise, changes in the PCB management, as the board itself admits, come with changes in personnel and policy. Last year, Miandad and Latif formed a potentially explosive odd couple; this year Inzamam and Woolmer are the chosen ones. Next year … well, a year is a long time in Pakistan cricket.

Osman Samiuddin is a freelance writer based in Karachi.

© Wisden Cricinfo Ltd

http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2004/JUN/170825_PAK_16JUN2004.html

Probably the best decision any Pakistan Cricket Board has ever made. Recent past has made me lost all faith in the Pakistan Cricket Board and its administrators. In my view the cause of downfall of Pakistan Cricket is PCB and its pathetic administration or rather lack of it.

I wish I could dance with joy like but alas if things were as simple. It certainly is a good perhaps great “step” forward in the right direction.
Well know fact is that Pakistan cricket has been sailing on the winds of individual player performances. Immense talent hid the deficiencies of PCB. Pacified Board created Player Power phenomena, leading to disaster and the major share of failures can be credited to PCB.

All successful cricketing nations have professional and structured cricket boards which unfortunately is not the case in Pakistan. Pakistan Cricket team requires a Professional and accountable PCB [not just the players]. A professional coach is just one of the requirements and that is why it is only a step. Appointment of a professional coach was long over due. Heartening news is not appointment of a professional foreign coach but rather probably the best foreign coach and the duration of his appointment.

As for the effectiveness of Bob Woolmer I think some of the concerns raised in the article and by a number of guppies are genuine and only time tom come will tell. But I feel PCB has at last moved in the right decision and it needs to be supported. Bob Woolmer for an intelligent individual he is, must have considered all the factors and would have done his home work before accepting such an assignment. So let be hopeful…

According to a quote in The Times Bob Woolmer was taught urdu by his parents and even lived in Karachi for a while so maybe he won't have as much trouble adapting as some think.

The PCB must allow him to complete his contract. It would be a disaster if the usual political in-fighting saw him leave early. The damage to Pakistan's reputation would be beyond repair.

Aejaz bhai, Thats it for PK Abroad. You wont see him replying it at all. But good thing you pointed it out as I was going to post similar sooner or later.
-Salman

sounds like he knows what he’s gotten himself into. I think he’s in far better shape to succeed than say Pybus because he understands what kind of hyenas he will be fighting. and his offer to Miandad was a masterstroke. if Miandad and other critics have the least bit of common sense, they would let the man do his job.

**Bob Woolmer Q&A **

Interview by Scott Heinrich

Bob Woolmer has been appointed coach of Pakistan following Javed Miandad’s controversial sacking. Woolmer, 56, is regarded as one of the world’s leading tutors, having been in charge of South Africa from 1994-1999 and more recently having headed the International Cricket Council’s high performance initiative.

Here, the former England Test batsman tells BBC Sport he has rediscovered his hunger to take on one of the toughest jobs in the game.

What inspired you to accept the Pakistan Cricket Board’s offer?

The PCB sat down with me some time ago and were keen to get my ideas on what a coach should do and be.

I gave them my views and a small presentation, and later on they asked if I would be interested in a job.

Over a period of two-to-three months we came to a conclusion. I was impressed by their desire to take the team to a new era. That’s not to say Javed didn’t do a good job, but they really want to move forward.

These opportunities don’t come along too often in life and I decided I’d like to take this one. All coaches need to look at coaching in different environments at different levels.

I’ve become more excited the more I’ve thought about it.

You turned down the Sri Lanka job last year and were in talks to take over at the West Indies. Why Pakistan and why now?

I would be lying if I said the financial offer wasn’t attractive, but I just looked at what I was doing with my cricketing life and suddenly thought that at 60 I wouldn’t be able to do this.

Maybe I should have taken the opportunities that were on offer earlier, but I wasn’t thinking at the time the way I am now.

I discussed it at length with my wife, my two children, the dog and the cat. The time is right and it’s a real challenge.

Have you missed coaching since leaving Warwickshire after the 2002 county season?

I have missed the day-to-day aspect of coaching. Working with the ICC high performance program and working in the UAE was an illuminating experience.

I’ve realised I have still got things to offer as a coach. I have over 36 years of experience and I’d like to pass that on to Pakistan.

The climate in Pakistan cricket is as turbulent as ever right now, with the fall-out of the defeat to India still being felt. Does this enhance your sense of challenge?

**That seems to be the common perception, but my perception is that they are doing things pretty well right now.

The most important thing right now is to get all of Pakistan behind the team, and that includes ex-coaches and the critics.

We don’t need to worry about what has happened in the past, but we need to learn from it and try not to repeat the errors. **

Everyone has to get on the bus and go in the same direction.

The PCB is not averse to interefering, and certainly past coaches have complained of this. How do you plan to handle the board?

I think it’s important I communicate not just with the players but with the board as well. It’s important I get their input.

Everyone has views on cricket and everyone is entitled to their views. A consensus on how to go forward has to be reached by the people who administer the game, play the game and coach the game.

**I believe the coach is a conduit to that. Too often the coach is seen on one side or the other, but that’s not the point. Everyone should know what everyone else is doing. **

So communication is the key word?

**Communication has always been the key word. It’s not rocket science. The difficulty I will have is getting through to the guys who do not understand English or my sense of humour.

It’s about getting the team ethic right and explaining to the people who don’t think we’re doing it right that this is the method we want to approach. If they like it, then we must all get on that bus. **

Do you have any new ideas that you are ready to unleash on your squad?

Absolutely. I’m writing an extensive coaching book at the moment in conjuction with Dr Tim Noakes and you get enthused by that. You just want to try the things out.

**But before I do anything, I must sit down with the 20-30 players Pakistan recognise as the best in the country and interact with them.

We mustn’t be seen to be doing things that people aren’t comfortable with, but at the same time we must put in structures that help the players - because they are the ones that count.

The key element is that the players understand where I am coming from. **

o paiRyo it's not about me .. it's about the Pakistani team.... same coach rakh lainay say parathoN kay dushman Jonty Rhodes naheen ban jaatay..

*Originally posted by phoenixdesi: *

i really really hope that he will finish players-power cultre from our team.....we do not need wasim and waqar who always played to their own agendas...

PDesi, you are the first to put the finger on what was Pakistan'a real problem. Akhtar in particular was put on such a high pedestal by Pak media and in fact Pakistan public that no coach could get performance from him. If you guys want to get somewhere then stop this over-depedence on fast bolwers. I remember even on GS there were so many posts on Rawalpindi EXpress and how he was going to make chutney of Indians bats. Uska sir itna bada hooa that ke uske under koi bhi coach kuch bhi nahai daal sakta that.
So change to coach all you want. It aint gonna help if you don't change the way team is managed.

This is all fine and I am quite happy, yeah yeah yeah.... All that stuff is good. SERIOUSLY! But here is something of great concern to me: How will Pakistani players react to this change? There was a post I was reading here once, a few months ago, where a guppie made a very good point that no matter how good the coach is, the players need to listen and do as the coach says. I am not convinced that Pakistani players' maturity level as professional players is high enough to deal with the situation as their personal politics and quarrels amongst each other will render the coach-change, which was very good, useless!

Here is a question: When was the last time a foreign coach was happy with the PCB and wasn't forced to quit?

*Originally posted by fallenpieta: *

Here is a question: When was the last time a foreign coach was happy with the PCB and wasn't forced to quit?

There has only been one foreign coach of the Pakistani team and that was Pybus. The question is Pybus who?

I never liked him anyway :snooty:, but does this mean it’s trouble time for India in the upcoming series( there’s one right?)

Woolmer wants Miandad’s help](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040617/3/4gwb.html)

LONDON (AFP) - New Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer believes predecessor Javed Miandad can still play a role in the future development of the team.

“I know Javed is not a happy man at the moment but I would like his input,” Woolmer said on Thursday.

“He would be very important in guiding me on how to run the show.”

Miandad was outraged after the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) terminated his contract 10 months early as punishment for the team’s home defeat to bitter rivals India and appointed former England Test batsman Woolmer to take his place.

Woolmer, a former South Africa coach, hopes Miandad can put his resentment to one side.

“I played against Javed, I’ve been to his house in Pakistan for a meal and he would be very important,” he told BBC Sport.

"It’s up to him, but along with others in the country his advice would be invaluable.

“It’s up to me to sift through the advice and bring the whole of Pakistan cricket together.”

As South Africa's coach between 1994 and 1999, Woolmer is well-used to the workings of a politicised board, and since then, his experiences as the ICC's high-performance director can only have improved his diplomatic skills.

If Woolmer decides to live in Karachi, and learns rudimentary Urdu, he would probably say "bohoth arson ke baad haath dhone ko milah hai"

Excuse me, Mr. Bob! You’re hired to run the show. :rolleyes:

as far as I can see, he does want to run the show. in fact he’s been given more authority than any coach before him to put the Pak team on the right track.

only thing he’s trying to do here is prevent Miandad from becoming any more bitter than he already is. this is most probably a PR move to shut up Miandad before he whines any more about being kept out of Pak cricket’s future and blah blah blah. Miandad has too big an ego to help the Pak team in any capacity at least in the near future.

waisay, if the Pak team/PCB at some point successfully conspire to force Woolmer out, and Miandad comes back as coach, I swear I’ll stop watching cricket.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

waisay, if the Pak team/PCB at some point successfully conspire to force Woolmer out, and Miandad comes back as coach, I swear I'll stop watching cricket.

P R O M I S E ?

Miandad wasn’t sacked: Shaharyar

Wisden Cricinfo staff

June 18, 2004

Shaharyar Khan, the chairman of the Pakistan board, has clarified that the decision to end Javed Miandad’s tenure as coach was taken mutually by both Miandad and the board. According to a report in The News, Shaharyar said that while Bob Woolmer, the new coach, would receive full support from the board, it was wrong to state that the PCB had sacked Miandad.

"I am sad that this impression has circulated around that we have sacked him. The truth is we spoke to him on certain issues and he indicated himself he could not continue and the financial part of the remaining months of his contractual period should be fulfilled by us.

"I had a detailed discussion with Miandad and he told me that he wanted absolute power and authority as coach and he would produce results in the next 11 months. I told him we could not give him that absolute power and the coach would have to work in cooperation with the captain, manager and selectors. Miandad said if he didn’t get the powers it would be better for him to go.

“I think sacked' or terminated’ are the not correct words to use here. Because we didn’t terminate his contract we wanted to use his experience and skills elsewhere for the remaining part of his contract but Miandad preferred to leave with mutual understanding.”

Reacting quickly to Miandad’s claim that the Pakistan board did not giving him enough authority in decision-making, Shaharyar offered the assurance that Woolmer would have complete power. “We will give Woolmer full authority and we will make sure he has the powers to implement his decisions on and off the field. If we get complaints about any player coming into line with the ground rules laid down by Woolmer, we will take action against him or them.”

Woolmer’s first assignment will be the six-nation Asia Cup tournament, which starts on July 16 in Sri Lanka.

That is the right way to go about it. Hope they implement this sincerely. :k:

boo

crap, its too late!!

j/k