Women Oppressed in Islam??

Re: Women Oppressed in Islam??

No one here claims that one has to dress like Ms. Veena Malik to be considered not oppressed.

If a woman is forced to cover herself from head to foot, it is oppression.
If she covers herself of her own choice, it is not.

For the record, I have no idea how Ms. Malik dresses.

and how we know she is forced to?

Aray bhai. I am not stating anyone is being forced to wear (or not) anything. I am just providing my definition of oppression vis a vis clothing/dressing. If she is not forced to, there is no oppression. Kissa khatam.

I was specifically addressing a mis-conception, (in my humble opinion) in a post mentioning Veenaji, where lack of oppression was associated with indecent dressing.

Isn't forcing some one not to dress from head to toe also a form of oppression?

Of course. Exactly what I said.

Liar liar..pants on fire :p

No. That is true. I know there was a thread on Veenaji. I recall defending her right to be "visible". But didn't click on the link. That's the truth, so help me God.

^:rotfl: right to be “visible”.

I like that :cb:

:eek:

Kya huwa? I recall they had either an image or a link or something.

aKhan1: christians, hindus too have their cranks, I agree.
but the majority of muslims, have been cowered by these few militants, who kill, maim, blowup anyone with impunity. this is where the muslim majority has failed.
in christians & Hindus, they are shunned by the majority, and isolated, and the law too moves against them.
regarding buddhists, that is a new trend, and one which needs to be curbed, before it becomes associated with intolerance & violence.

And who made you the spokesperson for 1.6 billion people who you have just accused of supporting the terrorists? We can all play this game, buddy, we all saw the state funeral provided to scum like Bal Thackeray . So much for shunning and isolating the bigots.

huma: in pakistan everyday you open the paper, shias, ismailes, christans, hindus, Pastuns, baloch, tribals are being killed, blown up and yet you want to justify their atrocities by saying " shiv sena bhe tho gonda gardhi kartae hain!"
what is happening in Pakistan, is not gonda gardi, it is khoon kharaba!

In India, for a Muslim, there are several hurdles. They say roti kapda makaan essential. Having ones own home is a sure way to escape poverty and lower middle class status. But to beet of my knowledge is is an order of magnitude more difficult for a Muslim to own a home.

Education key to success. Anecdotally I know in a big city in Gujarat a Hindu acquaintance who is a tutor, was forbidden from give tuition at her home to those Mohammedans.

List can go on. You get the picture.

It is NOT about Religion or Country. It has ALWAYS been about ideology. The Right Wing in EVERY country cloaks bigotry in Religion. I have always maintained that those in the middle should speak up and no longer be the silent majority.

What? Where did I justify all that? Isi liye mein ab in baton pe comment nahin karti kyun k ap log intezar mein baithe hote ho k kub koi kuch kahay or aap usay accuse karna shuru kar do on the basis of your twisted interpretations.

This is a forum dominated by Muslims and so judging by the GS members' reaction alone, anyone can tell that the majority are disgusted at the khoon kharaba. The rare few gems who were applauding the killings of the Shias were banned by myself personally because we don't tolerate such bigotry on this forum, it goes against what we as Muslims stand for. And yet you choose to remain oblivious to all of that and you insist on undermining our sentiments by saying we don't condemn the terrorists but only Christians and Hindus do. Lol okay. It's amusing to see you guys dancing around the place tooting your own horn. Perhaps it makes you feel better about yourself so please do continue.

are they really? Like Huma said..Bal Tackarey wasn’t shunned? People feared him!

Christians…maybe the majority does shunn the looneys now…I was talking about how it was at the beginning…at the beginning of Christianity most of the ppl feared the “Church”, one wrong word and your life was over. It was all about “God”, but we all know that what it really was…it was just about power.

The majority of Muslims cowered? I don’t think so…if the majority were afraid, then these looneys would be ruling Islamic countries…not fighting against them…and it really has nothing to do with religion…none of these so called “religious” ppl have anything to do with any religion…it is all just a game of politics where innocents get sacrificed.

It is all just for power…

Do you REALLY think all these militants are Muslims?? :hehe: It is just politics…just politics.

akhan1 & huma: i sincerely hope that people like you can make your voices heard, and pakistan's people overcome this power struggle played by the vested interests in your country. it is sickening to hear the killings of innocents in any country.

Dear Ms. Khan

I have been stating this for the longest time. That the Right Wing in every country is root of problem. That if only the Moderates spoke up more often and did the right thing, these problems will vanish.

The funny thing is - the Right wing of country A despises the Right of country B. Read RSS and its counterpart. While the Progressives on either side of the border get along nicely.

For the remuneration our office sends you, would you kindly add being our spokesperson to your Scope of Work. We can discuss increased fees through appropriate channels.

Much obliged.

Yup...hopefully in Pakistan IK will come into power...and then the majority's voice will be heard and action will be taken...and the majority is not the militants...it is the rising youth of Pakistan who are finally fighting back.

Thank you very much...I would like to discuss my increase in fees before we go ahead :D