"Women of Courage"

Any movement in history is incomplete without “women”, who always stood side by side with men. During Pakistan Movement women workers went from houses to houses for campaigns. They raised funds and encouraged men.

Fatima Jinnah (Mother of the Nation) made a great contribution towards the cause.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/fatima.jpg

Raana Liaquat Ali Khan was another prominent figure. Not to forget, Lady Martab Ali, Begum Mohd. Ali Jauhar, Lady Haroon, Begum Shah Nawaz and Salma Tassaduq were the few ladies that spent numerous hours of hard work and dedication towards the Movement.

Women participated actively in procession and strike.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/procession.jpg

Sughra Bibi was the courageous girl who climbed the secretariate gate and hoisted the Muslim League Flag. (She was only 14 at that time)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/sughra.jpg

In short, we can’t forget these brave ladies who spent their undivided attention for the independence of Pakistan.

** “Hats off to the Sisters and Mothers of the Nation we call Pakistan” **

Should we call her ...............

ch ch ch ch.. NATIONAL figures ko to maafo karo yaar..

[This message has been edited by confused (edited August 02, 2001).]

very hi nice te patriotic…
thanx 4 sharing…
God bless u…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

Very interesting post. Thanks, Qrius.

The role of women in Pakistan’s independence struggle and later on in wars can’t be ignored. Sughra Bibi is a great example of a common women that how involved women were in the independence struggle.

I wouldn’t mind getting a brief info about the women who took part in that struggle.

very nice thanks for sharing

jazakallah thannx for sharing

well done Qrius

It was good to refresh the memory

I used the following quotation in a speech that I once gave at a seminar for Women. I thought it might be suitable for this thread.

"No nation can rise to the height of glory unless your women are side by side with you. We are victims of evil customs. It is a crime against humanity that our women are shut up within the four walls of the houses as prisoners. There is no sanction anywhere for the deplorable conditions in which our women have to live. You should take your women along with you in every sphere of life."

Quaid-e-Azam Mohd. Ali Jinnah

NICE.. VERY nice ..

.. both muzna and Qrius..

pyar maseeha, sabb say bara hay, laakh dawa ki ek dawa hay.
poori ho kar hi rehti hay, pahunchay khuda takk, ye wo duaa hay.

Mather-e millat

Linux Is Best To Love

Hats off to all courageous women

Qrius, great thread with a great title

Reminds me of the quote:
‘Never underestimate the will or the ability of a woman, who has decided what she wants’

thanks muzna and fish for the quotes..

thanks ^DerVaisH^, Nadia_H, PureLand,waleed,
~Sehar~, confused and sailor.

khan_sahib, unfortunately there’s hardly any info that i could found on these ladies..bibi sughra was always an inspiration for me since as a child when i saw her interview on tv once.

If any of you have any info or more pictures on these courageous ladies..feel free to share it with us..

God Bless you all

Hamara lahoo bhi shamil hai tazee nay gulistan main

Humain bhi yaad ker laina chaman main jub bahar aaye.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><<><><><><><><><><><>

Women plays a very vital role in every aspect of this “man’s world”. That is why Churchill said give me good mothers and I will give you good nation.

She has to walk side by side with us and we must help her.

In the end I salute to all those proud daughters of Islam who had served the nation.
Hats off.

to everyone. Great thread. Like KS said more info on the ladies… Not enough recognition is given to them. Pakistans women already have their role models. Lack of education is keep them away from them.

Awesome post

I remember reading that she use to forget everything about herself and would be on her brother’s side no matter what. Quad-e-azam encouraged men and she encouraged women. She use to visit poor women with low self esteem give them courage and make them strong, she encouraged women to study. And most of all she always had dupata to cover her head

hey what did suhaga baby did?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/frusty.gif

“The devil has put a penalty on all things we enjoy in life. Either we suffer in health or we suffer in soul or we get fat.”

God bless them all. They were and will remain and inspiration for all Pakistani women.

wow!! rare pics..thnx for sharing.. Mythgh u need some lessons in history..

“And forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.” ..Kahlil Gibran