Women and Skirts!!!

London is far worse!!!

Re: Women and Skirts!!!

As far as I know, the Koran requires that women dress with modesty. I have seen some knee-lenght skirts that are way more modest than some of the new capri designs that have become popular.

Modesty is a relative term here. I think skirts, even though they show a bit of ankle and calf are more modest than tight low-rider jeans that show no skin at all yeah? I have a nun come to my house every tuesday (she is part-time nanny to a boy that comes to play) and she wears knee-lenght skirts sometimes. With those, you know, "sensible" shoes. I really and sincerely doubt that even if she walked thru the most conservative of areas in Pak, she would attract "that kind" of notie from the guys.

I have an aunty who moved to the West from India about 25 years ago. Her husband had a thing for short skirts - the shorter the better.

She indulged his interest by wearing the short skirts at home - when it was just the two of them. She wouldn't dream of wearing it outside of the home.

I always thought that it would depend on the religiousness of one's family, if Muslim that is.

its a cultural thing, a choice made by not-so religious person, or under pressure to fit in to western culture. its very very rare afaik

but at the end of the day, its only dressing like old age european grannies. not razmataz of the shalwar kameezers

Why all this fuss about a skirt when she can wear a lunghi instead?

Its perfectly normal. At home you can do whatever you like! Out doors its your choice, I wear a skirt to work now n again. Summer time all you'll ever see me in is a skirt etc. When i was younger my dad had a problem now im older weirdly he doesnt bat a eyelid. So yeah whatever, do what you like!

Oh and i know *alot *of pakistani muslim girls that wear skirts, short etc etc end of the day its up to them people do far worse for goodness sake!

if you are full covered then why not? accessorize it with long boots, long stockings, tights, skinny jeans, or if its complimenting with the blouse then can also wear it on top of dress pants and high heels.

:smokin2:

Yes do whatever u want, wear a bikini to work if u want, I couldn't care less, but plz don't go around saying ur still acting in accordance with islamic guidelines, you'll only make me laugh. :)

Waisay islamically, skin tight jeans are also prohibited yet they're very common among girls in Pakistan (places like karachi especially) so I wouldn't be shocked if I saw a desi girl in the west wearing a skirt.

Its not a big deal to them. So why should we wreck our heads over it? let's just leave it between them and Allah swt.

skin tight jeans are one thing, I have seen shalwar kameez that are way worse.

But since its shalwar kameez its OK. >_>

^ :omg: sooooo true!!! Talk about double standards! :rolleyes:

^ These kinda shalwars are so “in fashion” in pakistan itself… where the Quran clearly mentions a woman should cover her legs down to the ankles. So if girls living in Pakistan have forgotten that… why should a western girl remember?

I wonder why I'm totally comfy with short-sleeves but can't wear knee-length skirts (my hubby wants me to wear them). Isn't it one and the same thing.... if you can bare your arms, why not bare your calves and ankles too.... nahin. Is it because short-sleeves are more acceptable culturally in Pakistan? I've also seen a lot of women and girls wearing deep necklines. So, why do the skirts bother us Pakistanis so much when short-sleeves and big necklines don't?

P.S. I can't even wear Capris.... whats wrong with me?

^ You’re backward in thinking :hehe:

nothing wrong with you ...u r just daqyanoosi ... :)

But I DO wear short sleeves.... someone please help me get more forward thinking like my husband wants me to be :@:

zara daikh ker , fast forward na ho jana keyun k fast-forward movie bohat jaldee khatam ho jatee hai :)

Really??? I have two other Pakistani women in my office and both wear skirts, as do I. As far as home is concerned, it depends on your level of comfort with your siblings/parents. I 've been to Hawai with my brother, and we are both very comfortable around one another.

I've seen that here amongst Pakistani Americans, though rarely. There will be a small group of girls who wear short shorts/skirts, bathing suits, etc. They're also the most covered in masjids. There's a group like that everywhere. I don't know what to say about that. Part of me is like they know they're getting a lot of attention and people talk about them. Either they like that or they don't care. But it's their decision to dress like that, it's their life.

IMO, where someone comes from doesn't really determine how they're going to dress. Yes, Jhelum is more conservative than Lahore. But does that mean that there aren't modestly dressed women in Lahore? Of course not. Gori converts to Islam tend to dress modestly and they're from America. IMO, location isn't really related to dressing sense unless the person believes their cultural background, instead of their religion, determines clothing. So when that girl is saying that Jhelum is more backward, she's avoiding religion and placing more emphasis on the culture and how big/modern a city is. I don't know if that made any sense.

Why do people feel the need to preach islam at every oppurtunity? Im sure everyone has a Quran in their home. Im sure majority *of people know the rights and wrongs. Whats the need in giving us islamic lessons when people already know the basic points?!
Life? Needed? *
quickly!** Ameen!