Women and Age

It’s such a blinkin’ sensitive issue.

From a young age i’ve always looked older than my age. At first i thought it’s because i’m tall so when i was 14 and 5ft8 people were like aaaaah 19. So i let it go by. Now i’m hitting 23 and people still feel i look older…now i put it down to the mature face and i hope to god that the numbers catch up with the look soon.

So i was discussing this whole age and women thing with my friends. MY friends look younger than their age. The 29 year old passes as 22year old and the 27 year old as a frickin 15 year old and the 23 year olds as 19 year olds. And one turns around and says when she was in college people used to call her a ‘schooly’ so she used to cry. And the other says that she’s sick of the exclamations and shock on peoples face when she says her age and the ‘oh you look so much younger’ that she actually tells people she is 24 not 29 so as to avoid herself embarassment.

What do you look and do you feel embarrassed? I always thought if you look more youthful you’d be flattered. Guess not. And yeah i hate looking older..feel as if i’ve been denied enjoying my ‘youth’ because i have this paranoia, mental fixation with the fact i look older.

Insaan kisi haal mein khush nahi raihta... go figure...

It depends with me. When I was in my early teens people thought I was 18, when I was 20 people thought I was 17. Now that I am in my mid twenties people think I am 22 (when slim). However, since I gained a lot of weight, people now think I am around 28 with children. haw haiiiii

I'm 24. I look anywhere between 15-20. But, nah, it's not embarrassing. Except when someone comes into my classroom and says, "Where's the teacher???"

omg i love ur haw haiiii :rotfl:..

dd wat abt ppl who looks mature n act kiddish :(… ?..

(If it would have been in my hands I would not have moved beyond 25)

Well, I have turned 27 and I have become more confident.Chopped off my long locks...besides that there is no great change. I have always looked my age, though sometimes people do say that I look young but thats just not to be believed 'cuz I know I don't.
I was always very mature and decent for my age ( in retrospect I don't think thats a good thing, you need to enjoy your youth), now though I am aging with grace; I don't mind loosening up a bit...thora bohat chalta hai
Aging, hmm , never thought about that but ya keeping in view our culture, I am quite old but am not embarrassed somehow...though people don't appreciate independent or educated girls who cross the 25 threshold...

DD i'm hitting 23 this september too :( i feel ancient...i wana be a high schooler again...i hate getting old... :(

thanks to my parents who put is in school early my brothers and i have always been 2 yrs younger than avg class age thruout school...

now tho with a break in my studies when i go back for masters i'll prolly be same age as everyone else...

like u ive also always been among the taller ones in my class...and it was funny coz my best friend was the shortest one...kinda cute :D

i'm often told that personality wise i'm much more mature than my age...as for looks, like u i reckon i dont look younger but could pass for older... :) and yeah i hate it too :D

cool :slight_smile:

my cousin was mistaken for 16 when she was 30 once in Canada…she went with her hubby and they refused her to enter some place where it was above 16 entry :smack:

People think I’m around 25-27 … and I’m 24. :bummer: I get annoyed and sometimes upset when people ask who is older: me or my sister. She’s a lot older than me so I take that as an insult … cause sometimes they think I am older than her.

I’ve had the same issues as you DD whilst growing up. I am 5’85"/5’9" and cause of my height combined with build … people always thought I was a few years older.

I remember visiting the casino at Niagara Falls when it first opened. I was around 18 and they said I looked too young to go in … I was so pleased that for once somebody thought I was young..

*Originally posted by Sahar02: *
I'm 24. I look anywhere between 15-20. But, nah, it's not embarrassing. Except when someone comes into my classroom and says, "Where's the teacher???"

must be some expensive makeup you use, eh? lol

When I was in high school and if I happened to wear shalwar qameez to one of the masjid events, people always always always asked me how many kids I had! I used to get so upset at that time. Then slowly I got used to the fact and if somebody asked me how old I was - I would always reply 30 with 3 kids. and that always shuts them up lol! But yeah I look older than my age but I'm used to hearing that since I was in h.s.

*Originally posted by Talha: *

must be some expensive makeup you use, eh? lol

:-|

Ha Ha .. i was alwasys mistaken to b in my early twenties... mayb cus i was never over weight... i didnt mind it though ... :-) ...

kids in my appartments have started calling me AUNTY :eek:

:crying:

DD…tell me about it…:rolleyes:

ive had this discussion with my dad like million times…and he wins all the time…im petite…therefore i get away with it…im 19 now…but i know for sure that even if i hit the age of 23-24 they wont be able to tell the difference..coz im a loud mouth…always giggling and laughing…on other hand my sis she’s amshallah taller then her age…but people can always the right age on her coz she has this bhola bhala face and suuuccch innocence…:disgust:

i have started calling the kids beta myself…

aand when i do that my younger cuosins are like haan??

People always think I'm younger than I am. I remember when we were little, my and my sister were often confused for twins even though she's three years younger then me. She's mashallah pretty tall and I'm a petite so now people think I'm 14-15 if I don't wear makeup and they think she's 18. One lady stopped us in the masjid and told me that I should respect my older sister and call her baji. Pretty embarrassing for all parties involved.