Woman of substance-Mukhtaran Mai

Mukhtaran Mai has been nominated for the prestigious ‘Sakharov Prize’, God willing she will be successful. To be nominated for a prize which was given to the likes of Nelson Mandela, Aung San Ky and Kofi Annan is a matter of great pride for Mukhtaran Mai, women of Pakistan and all Pakistanis. These are the real hero’s of life, its examples like that of Mukhtaran Mai which makes a difference in the life of millions.

Mai nominated for Sakharov Prize

From our correspondent

20 September 2005

ISLAMABAD — Gang-rape victim Mukhtar Mai is one of 10 distinguished people nominated for the prestigious ‘Sakharov Prize’ which is awarded every year by the European Parliament (EP).

The award is given to the exceptional individuals and organisations who fight against intolerance, fanaticism and oppression.

Allegedly subjected to gang-rape on the orders of a panchayat in June 2002, Mai has emerged as a campaigner against ‘injustice’.

She has now devoted herself to promotion of education in her area and put all the money she received from within and abroad in educational foundation set up for this purpose.

She is among 10 individuals and organisations initially nominated for the Sakharov Prize for 2005 carrying a cash award of Euro 50,000.

One requires nomination from a political group of the EP or support of its at least 25 members to be considered for the prize. A political group in EP led by Dr Andre Brie and Francis Wurtz has nominated Mai for the award.

French association defending freedom of the Press worldwide, Reporters Sans Frontiers, is among other nominees of the year for Sakharov. The EP committee on foreign affairs will shortlist the nominees to three of the 10 candidates for the prize. The list will later be forwarded to the EP Conference of Presidents, which will select the winner on October 26.

The prize will be awarded at a ceremony to be held in Strasbourg on December 10, the day on which the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights was signed in 1948. The award was launched in the 1988 in the name of Nobel laureate Andrei Sakharov.

A nuclear physicist and assumed as founder of the Hydrogen Bomb in former Soviet Union, Sakharov later won laurels for campaigning against nuclear proliferation in the world and close society of his native country under the communist regime. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1975.

Prominent among the recipients of Sakharov Prize are Nelson Mandela (1988), Aung San Suu Ky (1990), Tasleema Nasreen (1994) and Kofi Annan (2003).

http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticle.asp?xfile=data/subcontinent/2005/September/subcontinent_September763.xml&section=subcontinent&col=

Re: Woman of substance-Mukhtaran Mai

^You will now be attacked for being against pakistan and not supporting dictator sab!

Agreed, this part says a lot about her. While she bravely fought unselfishly to make sure others don’t go through what she did, Army generals living in their mansions and their supporters lambast her as a traitor put up to her fight for justice by foreign agencies,pathethic people!

Pak needs more brave souls like her.

wht the hell??..she is nothing but a fake case....a joint production by pentagon and our sweetest NGO,s

That’s a very sad thing to say. Poor woman suffered a great deal. Such comments don’t help the situation.

FAKE? There is nothing fake about what happened to her.

If you or anybody you care about gets raped, i highly doubt your immature and silly attitude will remain. :rolleyes:

beta realdear, i dont wanna waste on such loser fake woman and her mothers NGO,s....beac many of u on this forum dont know the actual face of NGO,s....
mai has lost her all support and thts a big time fact..beac she has been supported by america and thts the reason people now hate her...even liberal roshan khayal peoples party member critcized tht loser mai...

Mukhtaran Mai epitomizes the human spirit, resilience in the face of adversity and strength of character. She also represents a shining example of civil society fighting for justice against oppression and savagery of the Jirga system. Some may choose to deny and slander, but they cannot suppress reality nor can they fool the people who will always defend the oppressed.

Instead`of haraunging Mai we should salute her for being bold enought to fight for her honour against a system which is inherently biased against women.

Saeeda Malik the Minister of Women Development in a tv show aired on a private television raised a valid point against the NGOs she said they are so good in human rights and all that and they gave mukhataran the courage to speak in public about what happened to her etc etc and these NGOs took her to spain and even to India but the same NGOs never invited an indian rape victim.They never contacted any NGO in India to sent a victim so she can also publicly tell her terrible experience.The trauma she and her family faced after that incident.

So Guys it is simple to be anti governmnet is fine criticise on issues in which government fails to act but to be anti national should not be tolerated because they just cash on these rape victims and help those who want to tarnish pakistan's image.

Have you ever looked at those women right activist most of them not all are rich and part of the elite just for their projection they do all these activities.They dont care for the poor rape victims

Everyone feels bad what happened to mukhtaran and other rape victims.Justice should be given to the poor women rather than just exploiting her in public for vested interest.

^^

This thread's purpose is to celebrate he award being conferred upon Mukhtaran Mai, NGO's for their good or bad is not part of the discussion.

As for the gist of your argument why Paki NGO's do not invite raped women from India or other countries, cause they deal with paki victims not other country stories. More importantly, what has any govt even done to protect the honor of its citizens? When Mukhtaran was raped on order of the Jirga who do u think exposed this story? It was the NGO's. How many women these NGO's have saved or provided protection is never discussed or mentioned cause it weakens Govts case. Instead of throwing dirt on those who are doing something for society it wud be better if we stood by them in times when they are hounded by the same totalitarian forces which nurture and generate scoundrels responsible for violent crimes such as rape.

Agreed, those who criticise these NGO’s will never do 1/100 the good that NGO’s do.

It is very easy to criticise, again those who do will never show 1/100 the courage she has shown and will never do as much good for their town as she has done.

When people do good, become known, and make people realize how bad the government actually is, there will always be govt supporters and jealous haters trying to bring them down.

I hope the people who did rape her do get the death penalty and is enforced, for once (another eye opener for r.mush who claims pakistan is shining, look at the judicial system) and we can move on, because yea she was treated like crap and what happened to her i woudnt wish on any1, but now her only purpose is to bring down pakistans image( yes i cant beleive it either im agreein with mush) and project it internationally as a country of 70-80 million barbarians (men for now) who prey on women, her bank accounts are booming. She needs to dwell on the justice system of Pakistan. and the ruling elite instead her along side with that Biaaaaaaachhhhhhhhhhhhh Asma Jhangir and the rest of the payroll NGO's purpose is to f Pakistan over. Look at those SOB's peoples party also who keep fanning this fire and recently "donated" i think a million dollars to mukhtar mai only to make their daddys at state dept happy!

this is the problem…u people dont realise facts and think tht the person telling the truth is jealous or blah blah…

in pakistan every 1 knows the oqat of these corrupt ngo,s which have done nothing but working for anti pakistani stuffs and thts y when eva these corrupt characters ngo,s women give interviews,they 1 clarify tht " they r not working for western countries"…even abdul sattar edhi called these ngo,s CIA AGENT…

and u know wht…there r NGO,s which r openly working for SECULAR FULL FREEDOM society…and u know wht comes in this…

i know alot alot abt NGO,s as i belong to very social and political type family and also my friend worked with NGO,s and then left beac the reasons i told u..

those ppl sayin mukhtaran mai is a liar and greedy.. i hope u yerselves get raped one day so you know how it feels..

There are good and bad people every where. No one questions the charity organisations who mainly get the funding from the people the rich and soemtime the poor as well. Philanthropist like edhi and other ngos contributing in the educational and health sector.Many illegal babies who are left outside edhi homes are brought up, educated and even married by the organisation on donations.Only these so- called liberals who just attack the government and in the presence of foreign media what are they doing for our image.

Fine they bring a rape victim, a women who is declared a kari in the interior of sindh and punjab in front of public.By bringing mukhtaran in the public they didnot achieve anything.These ngos attained what they really wanted the publicity the media attention and surely they got that.But poor mukhtaran didnot get anything.

Everyone has the right to express his or her views but first think what will one get by slinging mud on the president in a foreign country where he is the peoples representative .The foreign power would not intervene and help mukhtaran.

matter of fact is Mai has nothing except bringing bad name for pakistanis and telling the whole world tht we pakis raped our own women...even now many people just know her name but dont know her any role whts so eva for the rights of women...she is nothing but a trained from ngo,s.........
sara beta,yeh topic baro ka hai aur purely pakistanis ka hai....americans ka nahi

guy1 I agree with you that these ngos trained her but we should be sympathetic to mai.Mukhtaran mai and many other victims really want acceptance in our society so pakistanis who believe that we are the ones who care for pakistan and pakistanis should first accept these poor women as victims of injustice.

Puttari, I’d say if being pakistani meant that all rape victims are whining and giving pakistan a bad name by telling everyone all teh bad stuff that happened to them, then i’d much rather be american… but no Pakistanis r more classy than your sick twisted mind. Get over your visa rejection, America is better off without trash like you. :slight_smile:

America has plenty of trash as well. KKK.

Yes america does have trash, I agree. But at least we don't go around saying that our rape victims are greedy women going against Pakistan because they want justice. Guy1 n buland khan, i know it hurts you to speak in english, I hope you realize that such extreme patriotism is not healthy nor Islamic. :)