What is the importance of Witr prayer according to Hanafi school of thought?
Re: Witr Prayer
IN Hanafi school, Witr is considered wajib and if you miss it, you have to do Qazaa.
yes I do know that much but I am looking for some elobration on that...like why is the witr prayer considered wajib?
Islam main WHY ka koi answer nahi hotaa mere bhai. Prophet
said that this “WHY, WHY” is the trait of yahood and its the path of destruction. I mean why do we have 4 rakat for Asr and Isha but only 3 for Maghrib? the answer is “because Allah says so”
witr ek **du'aa hai aur ek meesaaq**** bhii hai Allah ke saath jiskii ham rozaanah tajdeed karte haiN taa k hamaare diloN meN waHdaaniyat kaa jo charaaGh ham ne jalaayaa thaa vo bujh na sake aur uskii yaad dehaanii aur 'eyaadah roz karte raheN. agar ham witr kii du'aa samajh kar paRheN to hameN ma'loom hogaa k ham apne Rabb se kia 'ahd o paimaaN karte haiN shab o roz. **
you are right…but that ‘‘why why’’ is condemned for those who are asking just for the sake of it…and the intention is to ridicule etc…
when a person asks ‘‘why why’’ to learn or increase his understanding…i don’t see how he is a yahoodi or on a path to destruction…
probably the person asked how/why it was classified as ‘wajib’ instead of fard,sunnat,nafal etc…
It really disppoints me to see people misusing the ‘‘why why’’ statement to put down anyone who asks a question…
Abay chup. Maine tumhe islam ke dairay se nikal diya. kar lo jo kerna hai ..
[mod]Stick to the topic please[/mod]
Peace name_105,
The Hanafis classify the nawafil performed along with the fara’id into ‘masnunah’ and ‘mandubah’.
(1) The ‘masnunah’ are five: two rak’ahs before the subh; four before the zuhr, and two after it, except on Friday; two after the maghrib and two after the ‘isha’ prayer.
(2) The ‘mandubah’ are four: four -or two- rak’ahs before the 'asr, six after the maghrib, and four before and after the ‘isha’ prayer.
Ya Allah, why did i even bother asking this here ![]()
firstly i m not a bhai :no:
secondly i m not doing “why why”…i really want to know what islamic scriptures (Qur’an, Sunnah, Hadith, School of thoughts) say abt witr prayer so when someone asks me why/how is it wajib and is there any reasoning (according to Hanafi school of thought) behind why do we have to do Qaza for it if we missed it i know the answer
thank you but that doesn’t answer my question, may be if u tell me about wajib paryers that may help
gud answer…i also wish to say the same.
Peace name_105,
As TLK Bhai said in post#2, the witr prayer is necessary (wajib), and thus necessary to make up with other missed prayers (according to the Hanafi school).
Your asked 'why’?. Refer the details below:
Imam Kasani (Allah have mercy on him) wrote in Kasani, Bada-i- Al-Sanai, 1.272: "If one does not perform Witr in its time. it is necessary to make it up according to our scholars because it is a necessary (wajib) prayer, so it is compensated by making it up, just like obligatory prayers. This is because of many hadiths of the Prophet
in which he most emphatically emphasized the witr prayer. [Ibn al-Humam, Fath al-Qadir]
Book ‘Prayer (Kitab Al-Salat): Detailed Injunctions about Witr’ of Sunan Abu-Dawud Hadith No 1414
Narrated Buraydah ibn al-Hasib: I heard the Apostle of Allah
say: The witr is a duty, so he who does not observe it does not belong to us; the witr is a duty, so he who does not observe it does not belong to us; the witr is a duty, so he who does not observe it does not belong to us.
**Is witr can be read in three rakat like maghrib prayer?
**Witr prayer comprises of three rakaats. After offering two rakaats, one should sit down and read the at-tahiyyaat. The durood should not be read. Instead, one should immediately stand up after the at-tahiyyaat. One should then read the Surah Faatihah and another Surah. Thereafter, one should say Allahu Akbar and raise one’s hands upto one’s ears (and upto the shoulders if it is a woman). The hands should be clasped again, and thereafter, the dua-e-qunoot should be recited. Thereafter, he should go into ruku, complete the third rakaat, sit down for at-tahiyyaat,durood, and a dua and then make the salaam.
**Is Witr can be read as one rakat? If a person don’t memorized Dua-e-qanoot, what shall he/she read?
**Hadith 1417
Narrated AbuAyyub al-Ansari: The Prophet
said: The witr is a duty for every Muslim so if anyone wishes to observe it with five rak’ahs, he may do so; if anyone wishes to observe it with three, he may do so, and if anyone wishes to observe it with one, he may do so.
Hadit 1418
Narrated Ubayy ibn Ka’b: The Apostle of Allah
used to observe witr with (reciting) “Glorify the name of thy Lord, the most High” (Surah 87), “Say O disbelievers” (Surah 109), and “Say, He is Allah, the One, Allah, the eternally besought of all” (112).
Hadith 1419
Narrated Aisha R.A., Ummul Mu’minin: AbdulAziz ibn Jurayj said: I asked Aisha R.A., mother of the believers: With which (surah) the Apostle of Allah
used to observe witr? (She reported same as in the Hadith of Ubayy ibn Ka’b, No. 1418) This version adds: In the third rak’ah he would recite: “Say, He is Allah, the One” (Surah 112), and “Say, I seek refuge in the Lord of daybreak” (Surah 113), and “Say, I seek refuge in the Lord of mankind” (Surah 114).
thank you LKK
the ahadith that u shared were helpful