I have this problem my my Dell Laptop. It has Windows XP SP1 on it. The problem is that when i start it for the first time, it works for 10 mins and then hangs and then i have to shut it down and restart. Upon restarting it works fine until the next time I start it over. Therefore, whenever I shut my laptop it will only work for 10 mins the next time…I reformatted the hard drive. Still doesnt work. I have tried the CHKDSK /F from command and it fixed the error..still the same problem is going on…I think there is some problem with the hard disk …pls help ![]()
Re: Windows shutdowns
Have you checked the event viewer? Chances are you will find the cause of this hanging there.
Also open up the task manager and keep watching the cpu/mem usage and processes running. It will soon show you if there is a process that kicks off when the system stops responding.
event viewer says something about windows updates ready to be installed
DO you get a message that SYSTEM will SHUT DOWN in 60 SEconds .. ???
i would suggest u divide ur work in 9 minutes intervals.. ![]()
no cool breeze I don't get the msg . Its just hangs straight away
yaar Faizy come one :),, that guy is in trouble naa.. we need to give him good advice. khair back to dicussion now.
Homer bhayee. you said that you have formatted your system.,,,,, did you do a compelte format or you just installed windows on top of your existing one. what seems here is some kind og hard ware problem which is triggering. or some kind of application which is trigering this. what you can do is like to format your system again and check if it works for some time or not. then keep on installing applications ONE by ONE and keep on checking..
I suggest u format it & install it but immediately install an anti virus, before loggin on to the internet. Chances are ur immediately attacked by viruses which slows down the entire PC/laptop considerably.
It looks like your machine has spyware or some germs(viruses). You need to install antispyware (in less than 9 minutes) and also upgrade to XP sp2.
If you dont have any information or your information is backed up,re-installing Xp will be the best thing.
thanks a lot guys :) ...I have fixed the problem - I had the data backed-up. I did a completed format and upgraded to SP2. It seems to have solved the problem- I have also got anti-spyware installed...
thanks again...
The first thing I would suggest one should do after a clean install is to unpack the firewall and then the AV ... if you've got a firewall in place and then get "plugged" you should not face any problems cause viruses require certain open ports in order to propogate ... and if you've got 'em blocked by the firewall ... things should go fine ;)
HOMER aap k laptop pe jin aa gya hae ![]()
i suggest u take it to a pir who can exorcise it :k:
IREM ji i donot believe in piri mureedi..thanks but laptop ka jin maine nikaal diya hai
oye that is exorcism not pir muridi ![]()
nahin she said exorcism by pir isliye :) ...thats why....exorcism by some aalim who knows it is fine....anyways exorcism has been performed....thanks for ur help malik on this issue
HJS,
it's time to spend some money u got a virus so buy Anti Virus Software. I had same problem.....
Make ur computer to have some rest :P