Hey man I didn’t know you were Indian.
Not taking any thing back of Federrer, still I think it was his day. What ever he was doing was going in his fevor
and it was not a day for marc, what ever he was doing was going against him.
At the end he was too shy killing the ball.
**Federer floats on air after first Slam as Serena soars again **](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)
LONDON (AFP) - One Grand Slam title. That proved the difference between stardom and the scrapheap for Roger Federer, who crossed the fine line between fulfilled and unfulfilled potential in lifting his first Major title at Wimbledon.
If Serena Williams’ triumph over sister Venus in the women’s singles was largely predictable in their fifth Grand Slam final sister act, Federer’s win could have far-reaching significance for the men’s game.
The manner in which he achieved victory bore the hallmark of a great champion who has all the weapons needed to triumph on any surface.
And indeed the 21-year-old from Basle has done just that this season with wins at Marseille indoors, Dubai on outdoor hardcourt, Munich on clay and Halle and Wimbledon on grass - something not achieved on the men’s Tour since Pete Sampras in 1998.
That was the year that Federer announced himself as a future star by lifting the singles and the doubles junior titles.
That latent potential hung tantalisingly out of reach until Sunday’s straight sets win over unseeded Australian Mark Philippoussis - and Federer briefly wondered if he should continue on the Tour amid talk that he lacked the mental strength to match his talent.
“I gave everything I had these past two weeks. For me this is the best ever. This is something for me that I cannot understand yet - it’s just too good.”
While Philippoussis, back from two years sent fighting knee injuries, was putting out former champion Andre Agassi and then German star Alexander Popp, Federer was steeling himself for what turned out to be an amazing semi-final win over US fifth seed Andy Roddick.
Roddick came to Wimbledon as king of Queen’s Club whereas Federer, tipped as a champion from the day he knocked out Sampras on centre court in the fourth round two years ago, preferred to warm up by winning the grasscourt event in Halle, Germany.
Roddick had been firing down aces at will - but Federer made him look ordinary as he produced a shoal of winners, totally neutralising his rival’s massive serve.
Having shown the exceptional quality of his return Federer then went up against a Philippoussis serve which had fired 46 aces past Agassi.
He neutralised that too - but also won the ace count in the final 21-14, while limiting double faults to two as his rival fired down four.
“I served more aces than them - can you believe it?” said a stunned Federer.
Nine unforced errors in three sets during his 7-6 (7/5), 6-2, 7-6 (7/3) final victory also spoke volumes for the manner in which victory was achieved.
Federer said he had dreamed of emulating childhood hero Boris Becker in landing the title - though there was more than a hint of Sampras - and, given the bandana, five-time champion Bjorn Borg - in his play.
“Becker was my very first idol. Sampras was more my favourite player. When I came on the tour myself I didn’t want to have idols any more.”
The Swiss knows all about the extreme emotions life can bring, former coach Peter Carter having died in an accident in South Africa before his protege could land the first Major he craved.
“He gave me so much on the tennis side and the human side,” said the Swiss.
Fans of the men’s game now can look forward to a healthy long-term rivalry between the champion and Roddick, at 20 just a year younger.
The rivalry among the women remains a sister act, in contrast, after Serena once again saw off Venus as she had 12 months earlier.
Two-time champion and fourth seed Venus looked to have shrugged off an abdominal strain and a hip injury in taking the opening set but Serena, finding it hard to play at full pace against a sibling - and a wounded one at that - finally captured the crown 4-6, 6-4, 6-2 to level the family scoreline at two Wimbledon singles crowns apiece.
“I just had to tell myself to look at the ball and nothing else,” said Serena, knowing Venus was barely fit enough to play.
“I came out because I just thought the people the fans deserved a final - that’s why I was out here,” said Venus, who had managed to play through the injury in her semi-final win over Belgian Kim Clijsters while Serena dumped Justine Henin-Hardenne, her semi-final conqueror in the French Open.
Revenge tasted sweet for Serena, who admitted: “I should have won the French.”
Instead she has won a ‘mere’ five out of the last six Slams for six crowns in all compared with four for Venus, whom she has now beaten six times in succession.
Further plaudits belonged to mixed doubles champion Martina Navratilova, who in teaming with Leander Paes of India to see off Israeli Andy Ram and Russia’s Anastassia Rodionova, levelled Billie Jean King’s mark of 20 Wimbledon titles at the age of 46.
“It’s been a great ride - this is very special,” said Navratilova.
Todd Woodbridge, partnering Swede Jonas Bjorkman, won a modern day record eighth men’s doubles while Clijsters and Ai Sugiyama took the women’s doubles crown.
All my Favourites lost in this Wimbledon this year. First Agassi, then Venus, then Scud and then Leander in Men’s doubles ![]()
Did they lose because they played bad or because I supported them ?![]()
I am glad you are an Indian supporter.
Because you supported them. ![]()
Is ko kehte hain manhoosiyat!
Spock ![]()
Originally posted by Spock: *
Is ko kehte hain **manhoosiyat!*
haha
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Is ko kehte hain manhoosiyat!
Ab itna bhi Manhoos nahin hoon main :)
Funguy - Now onwards I am going to support Pakistan :)
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Funguy - Now onwards I am going to support Pakistan :)
KK members - This is history in the making. Can someone frame these words and post a pic?
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Ab itna bhi Manhoos nahin hoon main :)
Joke mara tha yar, naraz na hona!!! Oh and plz dont support Pakistan, warna aajkal wesay hi kaam kharab hai khellon me, aur kharab ho jaye ga!
well said Asif_k
BTW Y dont u start supporting Spock directly rather then pakistan. ![]()