Wimbeldon - 2003

Hewitt beaten by this 6'10, man that guy is tall can reach any shot, Hewitt was frustrated full time, if this tallest guy ever made into tennis matures he could rule man!!!!

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Andre Agassi Yaar. Roddick is very over rated and doesn't have much of a game except his serve. Glad to know that Leyton Hewitt has lost in the first round and created history.

Women - I am cheering for Venus williams. :)

Kyoon bhai? Ilay kum parh gaye hain is dafa kya?

but i guess he already has a successor: Ivan Karlovic :k:

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Is Sampras retired? Don't know much about any of these guys but one of the Williams will probably win the ladies title.

Sampras retired for good. He was a class player to watch at Wimbeldon, no doubt.
With the defending mens champion out from Land Down Under, I think Agassi has a good chance to win. Though the Spaniard Juan Carlos Ferrero is a strong contender as well.
On women's side, I would love to see a rematch of Serence Williams and that chick from Belgium, Justine Henin-Hardenne (French Open Winner). This time round Serena would kick the living daylights out of her on grass :D

i'm happy that hewitt is out i hate him.

DAY 1 ROUND-UP:

As Wimbledon shocks go, this one was seismic. The last time a defending champion in the Gentlemen's Singles was eliminated in the first round, it was 1967 and only amateurs could play at The Championships. Australia's Lleyton Hewitt became the second man to bow out immediately after taking the title when he was felled today by a 6ft 10in Croatian qualifier.

Ivo Karlovic had only won one match on the main tour this year but his cannonball serve seems designed for grass and he used it brilliantly to overcome a slow start and win 1-6, 7-6 (7-5), 6-3, 6-4. The upset result hasn't fully hit Karlovic yet. "I believe I'm going to realise some other day that I win," he said.

Hewitt's defeat clears the path in his section of the draw and Wimbledon 2003 may prove to be one for the big servers. American Andy Roddick, winner of the Queen's Club event recently, sent down 14 aces on his way to a straight sets victory over a nonplussed Davide Sanguinetti of Italy.

His next opponent is the man who beat him here last year, Britain's Greg Rusedski, who eliminated Germany's Alexander Waske in three tight sets by pulling out some huge serves when he needed them. He was joined in the second round by another Briton, Lee Childs, who sprung his own surprise by ousting the seeded Nikolay Davydenko in five sets.

Switzerland's highly talented Roger Federer and last year's quarter-finalist Sjeng Schalken of the Netherlands coasted to easy victories, but the game of Paradorn Srichaphan - conqueror of Andre Agassi last year - went awry mid-match before returning in time to beat Dominik Hrbaty in five sets.

The youngest player in the men's field, the 17-year-old Spanish prodigy Rafael Nadal-Parera, began his senior grasscourt career with a four-set win over the promising Croatian Mario Ancic.

Day one of the women's event was much more routine. Hewitt's girlfriend, world No. 2 Kim Clijsters of Belgium, took just 31 minutes on the Centre Court to thrash Rossana Neffa-De Los Rios of Paraguay 6-0, 6-0.

Venus Williams, Chanda Rubin and Daniela Hantuchova were almost as quick as they each handily disposed of European baseliners in straight sets, but the 1999 Champion Lindsay Davenport laboured to her win over Australian wild card Samantha Stosur.

However, it was a bleak day for British Ladies: their two women in action today, Anne Keothavong and Lucie Ahl, were both beaten.

Roddick is very over rated and doesn't have much of a game except his serve.

I agree roddick is over rated, he has the potential to become a great player but other aspects of his game need to improve. serves can only take you so far in world class competition.

Women - I am cheering for Venus williams. :)

Oohlala ;) ;)

I stopped watching tennis as soon Stefan Edberg retired. I loved his volleys. He and Boris becker had an amazing rivalry.I remmember one of his game with Borris that lasted five sets. Borris becker was a good player himself. He always fought hard for each and every point

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *

Oohlala ;) ;)

I stopped watching tennis as soon Stefan Edberg retired. I loved his volleys. He and Boris becker had an amazing rivalry.I remmember one of his game with Borris that lasted five sets. Borris becker was a good player himself. He always fought hard for each and every point

Thank God you only loved his volleys. :D

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Thank God you only loved his volleys. :D

Well I have a very twisted mind and a wild imagination. You can only help me clarifying it :D

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

I agree roddick is over rated, he has the potential to become a great player but other aspects of his game need to improve. serves can only take you so far in world class competition.

Wait and See.Wombeldon is his.He is great Grass player.

Rusedski faces favourite Roddick](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)

LONDON (Reuters) - Greg Rusedski’s second-round shootout with bookies’ favourite Andy Roddick this afternoon will be a highlight that is too close to call, according to world number one Andre Agassi.

The pair jointly hold the record for the fastest recorded serve at 149 mph (240 kph), have met twice before with honours even and are both looking in fine grasscourt fettle.

“That’s certainly going to be an interesting match to say the least … I really believe it’s 50-50,” Agassi said after his first-round win on Tuesday. "It’s going to be an enjoyable match to watch.

Roddick beat Rusedski at Queen’s Club 10-days before Wimbledon, but the Briton went on to win the Nottingham tournament last weekend, so both have tasted grasscourt success this year.

The duo’s previous meeting was at Wimbledon last year when Rusedski beat Roddick in straight sets in the fourth round.

Seeded five, Roddick is quoted as the 11-4 favourite for the title, playing in the side of the draw that lost top seed Lleyton Hewitt on Monday.

Fourth seed Roger Federer meets left-hander Stefan Koubek of Austria in what could also be an awkward match for the talented Swiss who has yet to produce his best tennis in grand slams.

Women’s fourth seed Venus Williams, who follows Federer on to Centre Court on Wednesday should have no such problems against Slovenia’s Katarina Srebotnik, ranked 42 in the world.

The twice former champion teams up with defending singles champion Serena later so the sisters can begin the defence of their doubles title.

which is a good thing..no?

NO that's the right answer.

I always had high regards for Roddick, I saw him once play in a charity event in Austin, he was damn good, and he was only 18 at that time. He is definitly going somewhere.

**A-Rod Wins Battle of the Big Servers **](http://www.wimbledon.org/en_GB/news/matchreports/2003-06-25/200306251056563097429.html)

The much-anticipated Centre Court match between the two biggest servers in tennis, Andy Roddick and Greg Rusedski, ended in turmoil and acrimony after the British player had launched a foul-mouthed and untypical verbal attack on the umpire Lars Graff. On the brink of winning the third set, Rusedski instead lost his momentum and slumped to defeat in straight sets, 7-6 7-6 7-5 in two hours three minutes.

Having lost two sets on tiebreaks in a brilliant match, Rusedski survived a sustained attack on his serve by the fifth-seeded Roddick at the start of the third set, rallied marvellously and appeared to be running away with the set.

But at 5-2, with Roddick serving to stay in the set and 15-30 behind, one of his shots landed on the baseline and was called out by someone in the crowd. Although Rusedski returned the ball, he then turned away and did not play Roddick’s next shot.

The umpire awarded the point to Roddick, cautioned the crowd against “calling out during the rallies” and sparked a furious reaction from Rusedski. He swore at Graff repeatedly and will almost certainly be heavily fined. In fact, he did enough during the row to invite dismissal for what he said. All of the exchange could be clearly heard by TV viewers and one of the BBC commentators, Barry Davies, said, “We apologise on Greg’s behalf for the language he used.”

Though still in with a fine chance of winning the set, the deeply-upset Rusedski promptly lost his serve to love, and lost the next three games too, clearly too angry to care any more about what he had eagerly anticipated as one of the most crucial matches of a career he was resurrecting after being out injured for nine months.

Having won the recent grass court tournament at Queen’s Club in London, beating Rusedski on the way, the 20-year-old Roddick was not only favoured to win this match but also fancied by many to go on and win Wimbledon.

Although still short of match practice, Rusedski had also won a pre-Wimbledon event at Nottingham last weekend and he hung on admirably in the face of Roddick’s greater fire power, matching him for aces and managing to return many of the American’s high-powered forehands.

But he was undone in the tiebreaks, losing the first by seven points to four to go one set down, and collecting just one point in the second tiebreak.

When Roddick conjured three break points in the opening game of the third set, things were bleak for the British left-hander. But he survived them all, striking his 12th ace in the process, and came roaring back to break Roddick in the next game with a brilliant cross-court backhand and then take a 3-0 lead. A fourth set looked a foregone conclusion until Rusedski lost his cool, his temper and the match.

Rusedski was extremely furiuos last night before eventually losing to Roddick. That call from the crowd clearly was sheer stupidity and Referee shouldnt have given the point to Rusedski. He was clearly upset and protested and said" atleast replay the point, it aint my fault" and i agreed with him.

Roddick. :k:

Yes I agree with Saby, the point should have been played again. Rusedski lost his temper and composure and with it the game.

Why should the point be layed again if it is against the rules to do so? Rudeski is a twat and he lost.

BTW/What the heck is he? Brit, Canadian

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
Why should the point be layed again if it is against the rules to do so? Rudeski is a twat and he lost.

BTW/What the heck is he? Brit, Canadian

The point shoudl have been played again because he mistook the spectators shout for out as being from the linesman, so he did not continue with the play. It is only fair that the point shoudl have been played again.

He is a Brit.