Willful Sinning

We had a conversation around the dinner table yesterday and the topic is both spiritual/philosophical and religious. Not knowing which forum to post it on, I’m posting here and will leave it to the Mods to decide :@:

So the conversation began with a shay’r (which I may have mangled a bit):Poocha farishta nai kab’r mai baygunnah sai
Gunnah kyun na kiya, kya Khuda raheem na tha?

To loosely translate or explain my interpretation of the shay’r, it implies that you can sin or fail to fulfill your faraiz during your lifetime, because Allah is forgiving and generous and will forgive you your sins. I’m not challenging Allah’s rehmaaniyat. Rather, my query relates to actions/sins done with intent (to use an analogy, kind of like premeditation in first degree murder) versus actions resulting from carelessness or passion (to take the analogy further, like second degree murder or manslaughter).

First, do people justify their willful sins with such a rationalization? And second, is our general ‘goodness’ as a person and future tauba enough to merit Allah’s rehmaaniyat in the face of those willful sins?

Please discuss.

Re: Willful Sinning

moved from AV.

ihv always thought about this. People are aware of the 'evil' of sinning and people know they receive punishment for their acts. yet they sin. my take on this: People are myopic. that is an essential quality of humans. (what i make out of economic courses). they'll rather have a candy today instead of 2 candies 100 days later. This short-sightedness is what i think motivates people to sin today, get instant gain and hope for the best from God later. The day of judgement is in the distant future and mercy of God is far greater. Had there been a visible Sin-ometer, gauging our every sin and displaying the punishment, people would lose the incentive to sin.

Peace Sehrysh

The purpose of the statement is being taken out of context. The angel in the poem is "wrong" for asking that question. I am betting on it. To see if I am right see if the "baygunnah" retaliates with a powerful jawab.

If it was me ... I would ask "jo poochne wala hai, kya wo bhi baygunnah nahein hai?

There is a clear position in 'aqeedah that one of the seven types of people who will have the Shade of Allah on the Day of Judgement will be that person who has been noble through childhood.

Also, another reply is "Kya aapne ye siwaal RasoolAllah (SAW) se nahein poocha?"

Because it's poetry it does not mean it is correct, but it could also be a situation that is being developed to demonstrate a point. To get the full understanding please bring 2 verses before and 2 after these and then read again.

Baygunnah ho, saree jahan ke nekiyan kamai hon phir bhi wo janat kamane ka burabar nahein ... Yaqeenan jo jannat mein dakhil ho jae sirf Allah ki Rahmat se wo howa ho ga.

Well when it comes to one field i think i have a totally clear mind on the matter.

Here is my simple interpretation of the only sin i will commit gladly. The sin of killing or taking the life of another human.

I see it as the ultimate sin of sins. And the man who makes it a part of his life to learn how to take a life is the greatest of sinners.

However killing is a terrible sin and all implements used for this transgressions go against the way of good and are in fact evil.

Yet there are times when the death of one evil person saves myriad of people from suffereing. This is a divine purpose and one skiled in taking a life comes in usefull.

For if you do not commit this sin then the sin of not commiting it is far greater.

And by taking this life you give life to many others and also complete a divine purpose.

Thus in such cases i believe very strongly that killing which is still a sin also becomes a sacred sin. A sin which if commited is rewardable, only if commited for greater good.

I dont want to go to deep but in my mind one who kills and does so with skill but for a good cause is thus a sinner but a sinner who's sin also serves good and thus is in a class of it's own.

It's very hard to explain but simply it is part of the very fabric of my creed.

So yeah while sinning is a crime this sin is a divine crime and one of those crimes that becomes elevated beyond anything we can comprehend.

Killing is indeed a sin but for a just cause it becomes divine and thus a sin worth commiting...

But Allah knows best.

Good answer by Psyah.

Poetry is merely poetry. Something to have fun with. Not to be taken seriously or literally.