Will your mother make a good mother in law?

Not sure about my mum she really dotes on my brother and might have werid jealousy issues about his time etc

Re: Will your mother make a good mother in law?

My mom is a better MIL than a mother (makes sense?).

I think my mom will be the same^

She'll most likely only side w/ my SILs or just never get involved. I often say how I feel bad for my future SILs b/c she tends to get very annoyed for the smallest of things but I feel like w/ new members of the family, she'll be a lot different in a good way.

Of course your own mother and even you yourself will make a fab MIL in your own eyes.........it's everybody else's mommy who would be a monster-in-law. :p

More seriously...I think my parents would be great in-laws. They have their flaws like any human being....but they're big-hearted, don't impose on others, respect privacy and space.....and these are important qualities that in-laws...and people in general should have.

lol^

So true.

I'm pretty sure mind would. She's only had boys and would probably love a daughter. Only one of my brothers is kind of a mama's boy and the rest are pretty independent so I don't think there would be any jealousy or influence issues. I really have no problem standing up to my parents, maybe I'm a bit battameez lol.

In fact I've told her many times that whichever girl I marry will probably be calling her a lot to vent/ask for advice because I can be downright moody sometimes. Also, my mom's MIL was a typical desi MIL from hell so I'm sure she's very wary of becoming her lmao.

Honestly, my mom would be a scary MIL. :/

(I think the same about my own)

I'm pretty sure she will. she will absolutely love her, ager woh me ko sudhar k insan ka bacha bana dey ... :(

I think it depends if the MIL is for a boy or for a girl ... I feel my mum will be a better MIL to my sister's husbands than she is to my wife ... the reason being they will probably fear hurting their wife's feelings, but in my case I fear that either my wife or mum hurt each other's feelings. There is greater chance for rivalry between wife and her MIL than between a daughter and her mother ... but it can happen ... Also, there is virtually no chance for a son-in-law to rival his MIL.

However I have not answered the question ... a mother is a mother. Having a good one is basically saying how well she raised you. But to be a good mother-in-law is saying that she gives you space to be a married person and how she comes across to your spouse.

Essentially I believe this is like comparing apples and pears ... a brilliant mother may try to mother the spouse as well and the spouse may interpret this mothering as interference or the spouse may welcome it. Alternatively a brilliant mother who also mothers the spouse may be interpreted as nice by the spouse.

On the other hand a not so nice mother may be considered good by the spouse or not so good by the spouse for similar reasons.

Then to factor in your own understanding of what makes a good MIL ... it becomes rather complicated to find a pattern in all this ...

my mom is good MIL with SonIL and DIL.

I don't have a brother but I think my mother would make an OK MIL . The main problem with her is the house cleanliness issue and thinking that everything about house keeping should be her way and it irritates us so many times so I can imagine if there was a bahus to come she too would get pissed of otherwise she won't put any one in trouble intentionally or trigger fights etc etc.

like my mom :D

I think my mom would be a bit of an emotional MIL...lol

My mum is already proving to be a great MIL, MA. My bhabis are always in praise of her even when she isnt around. Maybe because my mother isnt the sort who criticizes or interferes or even taunts.

She loves both honestly & sincerely & gets that in return, Alhamdullilah.

Aw, that is so sweet^

After reading all the crazy whining and b******* here, I have decided to save my mother from the horrors of a DIL

my mum is an excellent MIL n this is not bc she is my mum bc my SIL is also a perfect bahu allhumdullah mum can hide anything 4m me but she share everything mth my SIL i m happy 2 c such a perfect relationship in my family :)

MashALLAH,it seems ham dono ki mothers ki nature aik jesi hai.

My mom is an easy MIL, mA. I know i am gonna be a total opposite :snooty:.