Will this nullify your fast?

This thing that I heard from a Shiekh in one of the Friday Prayers. He is not an alim, its a musallah and he works is a close by office and comes there to give khutba and lead prayers so I am having a hard time believing him, plus the fact that I heard this for the first time in my life.

he said that during the fast, if you look at a food item and just wish in your heart that if I was not fasting, I would’ve eaten this apple or mango, or something like I wish i was not fasting so I could eat this will nullify your fast because the niyat of fast is no longer there.

I was amzaed to hear that. I highly doubt if its true. To me, Fasting is all about wishing to eat but not eating because it is Allah’s order not to.

Has anyone heard that before.. is it true .. I hope not, cause if it is true, I know that many of my past fasts are no longer valid.

Re: Will this nullify your fast?

TLK I have not heard about it but I guess it can make your roza Makrooh but not nullify. Or may be even Makrooh is not the rite word but not a good act to do. If you are fasting then give it its proper respect.

Thats so weird I've never herd of this before, like you said the whole point of fasting is to wish for somthing you cant have

im not sure about this..but even if its true..u didnt know about it..so i guess its alrite..

Jeez, in that case, if that is true indeed, then half my rozas aren’t valid :no:…I thought roza was all about thinking and feeling the hunger, wanting something you cannot have so we can understand a perspective, so we can appreciate what blessings we really do have…

Hehehe Peace TLK sounds like this Imam brother only knows basic English.

Psyah bhai, do you know the correct version of this ruling? is this a ruling at all?

^ TLK bhai :salam:

I know that there are established beliefs that we are rewarded on the intentions behind our actions. I also know there are many places within the Qur’an where simply praying is not enough, but the prayer should create good nature in people.

Likewise, if a person who does not eat is just doing a diet, or alternatively a person who eats out of forgetfulness whilst in the intention of fasting his fast is still in tact. (And we should not remind people if they eat during Ramadan)

So based on these established ideas I have the feeling that brother wanted to say that if a person’s intention is not for fasting then even if he does not eat food he is not fasting. Rather than saying that a person looks at food and longs for it is an acts which nulifies the fast it would be more accurate to say to intentionally absorb oneself in food and food odours is reprehensible and to simply not eat food is not enough to be said that one is fasting.

IN THAT CASE*............there are many other religious activities for which we can react in a similar manner. One might think to themselves, *"Oh i don't feel like getting up to pray because I'm too sleepy or my favorite TV show is on." **So, if we DO overcome our lower nafs and get up to pray.......does having such a thought nullify/invalidate our prayer?

My understanding is that Allah doesn't hold us accountable for our negative thoughts until we put them into ACTION. God's generosity is assured by the Prophet SAWS, who said,"If somebody intends to do a good deed and he does not do it, then Allah will write for him a full good deed in his account with Him; and if he intends to do a good deed and actually did it, then Allah will write for him in his account with Him, from ten to seven hundred times to many more times its reward. And if somebody intended to do a bad deed and he does not do it, then Allah will write a full good deed in his account with Him; and if he intended to do a bad deed and actually did it, then Allah will write one bad deed in his account." (Al-Bukhari)

My mom has said that if you complain about fasting continuously, you're diminishing your reward. I don't know how true this is. But I've NEVER heard of your fast being nullified because of this. This SHEIKH should have backed up his comments with some authentic hadiths. His comments (especially if they cannot be backed up by authentic and reliable hadith) are rather discouraging. If we are to be **penalized **so heavily for our negative thoughts..........even if we don't put them into action............then why bother saying "Aoodhu billahi minash shaitan-ir-rajeen" or why do we recite Surah Naas to seek refuge with Allah for our evil thoughts????? If what this Sheikh has said is indeed true.......then people might think to themselves, "What's the point of my praying/giving zakat/doing good deeds when I've already nullified it with my thoughts." It would be disheartening.

******One can get up for suhoor with the INTENTION to fast for the sake of Allah.........but later during the day......due to exhaustion from weather/job/kids/...........a person might have a FLEETING moment of weakness where they wish they could grab something to eat from the fridge. So should such a thought NULLIFY their fast.......especially considering that the individual INITIALLY intended to fast for the sake of Allah and to seek reward????? **I understand the situation where one's ORIGINAL INTENTIONS may not be in the right place. But if you had SINCERE INTENTIONS to begin with.................even then it's human nature to falter a bit.

Even the Prophet SAWS said that the it's natural for Iman to go up and down because one's heart is not always consistent. We're advised to stay in the middle ground and try our best....because the Prophet SAWS also said that ending up on "extremes" will make deen difficult to follow.

Prophet (S.A.W.) said in an authentic hadith reported by Imams Ahmad and Al-Hakim, "The heart of the son of Adam is up to be more unstable than the boiling water in a pot."** The prophet also said about it in another authentic hadith reported by Imam Ahmad, "It was called "al’qalb" (meaning the heart) from "Taqalub" because of its changing nature; the example of the heart is like a feather at the trunk of a tree that the wind keeps turning it upside down." For this reason, the prophet (S.A.W.) used to supplicate frequently which was reported in an authentic hadith by Imam At-Trimithi saying, "O’ Allah, The One Who changes hearts, make my heart firm on your deen."**

RV, since ou are the last one to post so I am answering by clicking the button indirectly to you, Brother Psyah and OP TLK Bhai and Niksik Bhabi!

My respected friends,

Roza as it is designed is to control the mindset of us...human being.

Roza is not merely bodily sacrifice but training the mind to restrain from eating not only for the sake of worshiping but gaining the benefit of physical control. And above all, training the MIND to be respectful of the order sent by Almighty knowing that eating or drinking during day time is still available.

Also,** no one is looking at you if you drink or eat **if you do not want to.

Hence, there is absolutely no one but yourself to control yourself.

Coming to the question:

Yes, if you are questioning your fasting or Roza while fasting breaks this essential rule of accepting the law since it is not just the physical nature of fasting and holding oneself from eating and drinking, it is the** intention**, and keeping the intention and sustaining the intention which matters.

Otherwise:

As you mentioned RV

Anyone who eats 'un-intentionally' should be responsible of breaking the fast/roza!!
And that is not true.

Meaning it is the intent and willingness and not as much as the physical aspect of fasting/roza which matters in the eyes of Allah.

In essence, I agree with this shaikh who TLK bhai saheb talked about.

Now, I am not saying that merely drooling on food will nullify the roza (it may enhance the sawaab), but it is the **regret and feeling remorse to fasting **as well as **feeling envious/jealous of people who are eating **which MAY nullify the roza. (Not a fatwa but what I could understand from te information available)
Good thread.

Simple Answer No Need for Big Essays and Going round beating the Bush .. lol

If a Thought Like that comes to mind .. its a Makrooh Tanzihi i.e. Minor .. If this Thought Continues ..Now and Then.. Then it becomes MAkrooh Tareemi ..i.e. You could say Minor Haraam ..But if this thought is Continued everyday ..The Tahreemi Becomes Haraam and then your Fast No Longer Exists...

The REason for this is .. that in the Month of Ramadhan ..The Shaitaan isnt there to Provoke you to have this thought ..The Satin is Locked up ..throughout Ramadhan ..So its Upto the person to controll his/her Desires ..and if someone knows that eg, if he took a certain route to mosque he ll have to go thru a fruit market .. then take a alternative route ..

You do make some sense here based on your good intention and perception. :-)

mufsidaat-e-soom (roza) main aisee koi baat kutub main mojood nahi jo roza ko faasid ker day

taham maini is sawal ko ik Alima say deryaft kia un ka kehna hai ..is terah say kehna Taqwa kay khilaaf hai ...gunahgaar ho ga ..tahaam roza us ka baaqi rahay ga

waysay mera apna zaati khiyaal hai k woh shiekh k kehnay ka maqsad kuch or ho ga

jaisai k hum kehtay woh shakhs jo roza to rakhay lakin farz ibaaadat ada na keray aisai shaks k rozay ka kia faida yeh to aisa hee hoa k jaisay ik shaks sara din bus bhooka piyasa raha ..is shaks kay opper say rozay ka yeh farz to saaqit ho gaya lakin ajar k layhaaz say khaale raha

tlk app nay us sheikh say confirm to kerna tha k un ki baat ka maqsad kia hai ?

P_G, oon kee baat ka maqsad wo hee thaa jo aap ko meri thread se samajah ayaa hai. Mujhay yeah nahi pataa ke unhon ne yeah fatwaa kahaan se pataa kiya ..

waisay jazakallah for clarifying that and jazakllah to that alima who helped you.

Aisaa nahi hai kay main din bhar khaanay kee chezzon pe raal bahataa rehtaa hoon, lekin kabhi shayad rozay kee halat main dil main aisaa khayaal aa hee saktaa hai, akhir inssan hoon.

Thank you PG again for offering the answer and thanks every one for adding value in this thread

Weird. Never heard of that either.

I think most muslims end up salivating at the idea of food especially towards the close of each day as iftari comes near, so ... how is that not a normal human reaction?

Anyway, I love how we make things so complicated for ourselves :)

Try reading about the incident of the cow at the beginning of the Quran, which you may have come across if you're trying to read the Quran for Ramadan. Too many nitpickey details do not necessarily make us more religious.

You knw I've heard this from somewhere before too but i cant quite put my finger on when and in what context..

What if you start thinking in the middle of Prayer that oh if I was not praying at this time, I would be watching my fav show and enjoying it ..

or worst .. I wish I was not praying at this time so I could watch my show

As br. Psyah and br. FBI said, it's the intention that counts but combined with action equals a done deed.

Sometimes thinking that you could do something, but then not going through it and avoid doing it can result in a bigger reward because you fought your Qareen (the Jinn/Devil assigned to each of us that whispers to us to do things which are void of Islam). So by avoiding the temptation eventhough that whisper/thought was there, you have not only abstained from not following your desire but kept your fast for the sake of Allah in hope for a bigger reward. So that's 2 good points.

Allah knows best.

I hope what i said made sense. You can control your actions, but it is not always entirely possible to control thoughts/desires.

PS: Shaitan is locked up during the month of Ramadan, but i think your Qarin (Companion Jinn) stays with us thoughout our entire life to entice us to do bad, as a part of many tests we're put through in this life. Which is why people still do bad things during the Holy month eventhough Shaitan is not there. (Please don't quote me on this. This is just what i think.)

The Prophet (saws) said: "Everyone of you has been assigned a companion from the Jinn. The companions asked: Even you O' Messenger of Allah? And the Prophet replied: Even me, except that Allah has helped me against him and he has submitted. Now he only tells me to do good".

Reported by Muslim - Eng. Trans. Vol.4, p.1472, No.6757