Will Pakistan accept Indian help?

Quake unlikely to bridge India, Pakistan on Kashmir
10 Oct 2005 10:21:06 GMT

By Y.P. Rajesh

NEW DELHI, Oct 10 (Reuters) - Pakistan is unlikely to take up India on its offer to help tens of thousands of people hit by the massive weekend earthquake despite a new warmth in ties, officials and analysts say.

The hitch is Kashmir, the divided Himalayan territory claimed in full by the neighbours and now the scene of devastation after an earthquake of 7.6 magnitude.

Accepting Indian help would mean giving Indian troops – experts in disaster relief – access to Pakistani Kashmir, the area worst affected by Saturday’s earthquake.

That would be a public relations disaster for Islamabad as it would show Pakistan as incapable of managing relief in a region which New Delhi continues to claim to be an integral part of the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir, analysts said.

Besides, it would have security implications as Pakistani Kashmir is known to house Islamist guerrillas fighting against New Delhi’s rule in Indian Kashmir.

“Our men and machines are ready to go across and help them,” said a senior Indian defence official. "But I would be majorly surprised if we get a call.

“This is not just any region we are talking about. This is Kashmir, so we can understand their hesitation.”

Kashmir, a breathtakingly scenic region, has been at the heart of India-Pakistan rivalry since the subcontinent gained freedom from British colonial rule in 1947.

Both nations claim the region in full but rule parts of it. They have fought two of their three wars over it and were near the brink of another in 2002.

India blames Pakistan for a 16-year Islamist revolt against New Delhi’s rule in Indian Kashmir in which tens of thousands of people have been killed. Pakistan denies the charge.

Although ties have warmed between the nuclear-armed neighbours since they launched new moves to make peace two years ago, progress over Kashmir has been slow.

BRIDGE TOO FAR?

Hours after the deadly earthquake centred near the India-Pakistan frontier in Kashmir struck, Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh called Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf and offered New Delhi’s sympathies as well as its readiness to help.

He was told Pakistan would get back. Two days on, there still has been no word even though Islamabad has appealed to the international community for assistance.

“At the moment, we are assessing our requirements,” Pakistani Foreign Office spokeswoman Tasnim Aslam said when asked if Islamabad was taking up New Delhi’s offer.

“We see that the earthquake has also hit parts of India and IOK (Indian occupied Kashmir). The Indian government is also undertaking rescue operations. If need be, we can help them like they have offered us,” she said.

Analysts said the devastation in the two Kashmirs did not compare. While officials say the death toll may hit 2,000 in Indian Kashmir and the fate of 10,000 more is still unknown, more than 20,000 died in Pakistan and Pakistani Kashmir.

Besides, India, with the fourth largest military in the world, was well equipped to deal with domestic requirements as well as help neighbours, as it did in the aftermath of the Indian Ocean tsunami last year.

More than four years ago, when a devastating earthquake struck the western Indian state of Gujarat, it broke the ice between the bitter foes and launched “earthquake diplomacy”.

Then Indian Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee, who had previously refused to meet Pakistan’s Musharraf, took a telephone call from him and Islamabad sent planes with tents and blankets.

While some Indian and Pakistani analysts expected the latest earthquake to bring peace dividends to south Asia others said the hopes may be misplaced.

“It would have a dramatic effect on the India-Pakistan dialogue if Pakistan accepts India’s offer for help,” C. Uday Bhaskar of New Delhi’s Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses said. “But the reality is this is highly unlikely because of all the complex elements involved.” (Additional reporting by Zeeshan Haider in ISLAMABAD)

Re: Will Pakistan accept Indian help?

Govts on both sides are well ahead of public opinion, they have already spoken with each other on the phone and India has offered assistance to Pakistan to the tune of Rs1Billion.

Pak wants India’s help: Musharraf
Press Trust of India
Islamabad, October 10: Ruling out"misunderstanding" between Indian and Pakistan armies while dealing with relief operations in quake-hit divided Kashmir, President Pervez Musharraf today said Pakistan was considering Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s offer of assistance but Islamabad has to carefully work out what it needed from new Delhi due to “sensitivities” involved.

Asked whether he would seek help from India in view of the offer by Singh to provide whatever assistance to assist people effected by the quake, Musharraf told CNN “we are looking at it.”

“It is very kind of him, he sympathised and condoled with the losses we had (suffered). He had offered assistance”.

“We need to work out what we would like to have from them. You do understand there is a little bit of sensitivity there. But I expressed my gratitude and we will work out whatever we need from them we will certainly ask”, he said. To a question whether he was concerned over any misunderstanding between the two armies which had fought two wars in the past, Musharraf said “no there is no misunderstanding there. You are right, we fought wars. At this moment, we should not be discussing about wars we fought. But the sensitivity I spoke of arises exactly because of whatever you said”.

URL: http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=56259

India announces one billion aid
(Updated at 1430 PST)
NEW DELHI: India has announced Rs. billion aid for quake victims in Pakistan, an Indian TV channel reported.

India has announced 100 Crore rupees aid for relief of the earthquake victims in Pakistan as other world nations have announced donations for disaster stricken people, the channel said.

Source: The News (Jang)

Pakistan says no to India helicopters’ offer for rescue effort
(Updated at 2015 PST)
NEW DELHI: Pakistan has said it doesn’t immediately need helicopters offered by India for rescue operations in its earthquake-devastated areas, an Indian government statement said Monday.

India had made the offer immediately after Saturday’s earthquake as a goodwill gesture that was reciprocated by Pakistan with a similar offer. But neither country was likely to accept aid from the other, given the uneasy relations between the two hostile neighbors.

``The Pakistan director-general of military operations has stated that for the moment they have adequate helicopters and other rescue efforts, but would approach us if they needed our assistance,‘’ the Indian statement said.

It also said the Indian commanders were in contact with their Pakistani counterparts for any assistance needed to bring relief to the survivors of the quake in the disputed region of Kashmir, which is divided between the two countries.

** India announces one billion aid**

NEW DELHI: India has announced Rs. billion aid for quake victims in Pakistan, an Indian TV channel reported.

India has announced 100 Crore rupees aid for relief of the earthquake victims in Pakistan as other world nations have announced donations for disaster stricken people, the channel said.
Source

Charity starts at home

Pakistan to Accept Quake Relief From India

By VIJAY JOSHI, Associated Press Writer

NEW DELHI - Pakistan said Monday it will accept relief aid for earthquake victims from its longtime rival India, a move that carries immense political implications for the neighbors who have fought three wars.

India’s Foreign Secretary Shyam Saran said his country would send tents, food, blankets and medicine to the hard-hit Pakistani portion of Kashmir.

The announcement came after Pakistani Foreign Ministry said Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh telephoned Pakistan’s high commissioner in New Delhi and “reiterated his offer to send relief aid to us for earthquake victims.”

High Commissioner Aziz Ahmed Khan met Singh and then contacted the government in Islamabad, which decided to accept the Indian offer after consultations at the highest level, Pakistani Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Tasnim Aslam said.

Earlier Monday, India said Pakistan turned down its offer of helicopters for rescue operations, saying it had enough at the moment. Pakistan also ruled out launching joint rescue operations with India for earthquake victims in Kashmir.

Pakistan and India have a long history of bitter relations, particularly over Kashmir — the focus of two of their three wars. However, the two sides have taken several steps since last year to improve relations.

Soon after Saturday’s earthquake, Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had called Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf and offered humanitarian help. Musharraf also made a similar offer for the victims of the quake in the Indian portion of Kashmir where more than 800 people died.

Death toll estimates in Pakistan ranged from 20,000 to 30,000.

Jaow jaow, sanu nai tuhadi madad chahi di.. :dur-fittay-mu:

Thank You India. For once we can forget out political differences to unite in helping human beings. This just shows that natural disasters do not conform to national boundaries.

India was also hit with this same earthquake. So if India is offering help to Pakistan then Pakistan should also send some border soldiers to help the affected Indian areas.

And yes accepting help does not mean showing weakness.

The heliz were probably rejected because of tactical reasons, afterall its kashmir we are talking about, but that was a nice gesture from India, and we appreciate it.

Why not...India also accepted help from Pakistan during earthquake in Gujarat.

I feel the pain of the people of Pakistan (& Kashmir), Let the governments of India & Pakistan continue with their stupid Politics.

Agreed. I hope this will forever thaw relations between the two countries much like the Turkey-Greece disaster did in the past.

This is no longer a time for politics and disagrements, when our region is suferring. We will not forget this.

Yeah, Indian help should be welcomed.. Time for poiltics is over now.

we may have earthquakes or other disasters in the future and may need pakistan's help.

would you want people to keep dying but not get aid from anywhere they can get? ( be it india ).. its ridiculous to say no we dont want india to help Pakistan… Right now, people who are suffering knows how much help they need…except for ‘pakistani people’ living in USA, who cant do S H I T for their people.

Today, bad times comes to pakistan .. tomorrow who knows if the same thing happened to india…Pakistan would more likely to help them as well…

keep in mind, humanity always comes BEFORE nation,religion or anything..

as it did in Iraq right?

did anyone offer to help them?..no! so…

india is offering help to pakistan…

it has nothing to do with iraq war

a blanket is a blanket is a blanket....a tent is a tent is a tent, and so on.

they accepted like any sane party would do. what's the big deal?

yea, its not like people are gonna kill themselves in winter, but will not accept the blankets which are provided by India...

narrow mind thinking i would say , Chel Chabila Babu

I was only messing yaar…

Help is help, shouldn’t deny help…

God bless the Indians.