Wifi newbie needs advice

So i’m planning to get me self a wi-fi network going .. nothing elaborate just hook two computers up.. I plan to get cable internet.. so my question is:

1. What do I need to buy.. just an AP and Wifi cards or a Router/AP combo and wi-fi cards? (i’m sure the cable internet people will install the cable modem so i don’t have to buy that).

2. Since these toys are expensive.. i plan to buy a regular 10/100 PCI card for the computer close to the cable point and hook it up to the AP/router directly why the other computer in the other room will have the wi-fi card and hook into the same network… all kosher???

3. I plan to go for the G, but any reasons not to??

muchas gracias

I went for 'B', simply because the actual speed you get is the lowest of all denominators... and the ISP won't give me more than 1.3 MBps anyway. However, if you are planning a lot of data sharing between the two computers, 'G' should be the way to go, but it won't speed up your internet connection for the computer connected thru Wi-Fi.

Having a Router/AP integrated is useful so you get a hardware firewall, which is pretty neat. Then again, I suspect most new products (also those with great deals and rebates these days) are all router and AP integrated, so its practically a moot point. Most router firewalls now are very adaptive, and you won't have problem with VoIP or anything like that (I have heard enough horror stories with older routers where MSN NetMeeting will just refuse to work).

Connecting the primary computer thru old-fashioned ethernet cable is perfectly fine, and obviously cheaper.

Its preferred to have the AP and Wi-Fi card from the same vendors. Most work with each other, but some don't. So if you buy them in separate visits check with your vendor. Some manufacturers pre-package AP/Router with Wi-Fi card for notebook. If you are gonna connect another desktop thru Wi-Fi, then obviously you are gonna need either a desktop Wi-FI card or a USB card (it will just eat up another of the precious USB slot). Thats all.

so i have to buy a Router/AP and can't just do with an AP.... hmmm i guess the cost difference isn't substantial.. better check.. I'm planning on sticking with one brand throughout.. even my 10/100 ethernet card is a linksys.. so i'll stay with that brand..

oh well took the plunge.. ordered a D-Link Router and Card.. let's see how it turns out.. i'm kinda scared reading up all those horror stories on the web .. it's for just about every vendor out there so i had to chose D-Link instead of Linksys as it's tested on MTS which my work connection requires.

Get a Router, and get a wireless card. Wire a pc to your router, make the other wireless.

I have the Linksys 54G, and it's card - installation was a sinch. Their tech support really helped. I'm not sure about D-Link's tech support. They havent been very helpful in the past.

Baba G, wrong forum, tut tut tut :nono:

that's what I did hskhan. got the router, and one wi-fi card.. the other PC will connect using it's linksys 10/100 card..

See i did start wanting to get all brands the same.. and Linksys was the goal.. however i have to work from home at times and total compatibility with work networks was necessary.. all colleagues have D-Links and it's the only one tested so far to work without problems so i had to change plans midway and go the D-Link way..

so i may not have a good network but by golly i'd be able to work from home..

TofiBaba technical part thorRa sa hee thaa.. baqee kee brand discussion hay.. iss liyay jurrat kee Bazaar main kholnay kee..

*Originally posted by Baba G: *
that's what I did hskhan. got the router, and one wi-fi card.. the other PC will connect using it's linksys 10/100 card..

See i did start wanting to get all brands the same.. and Linksys was the goal.. however i have to work from home at times and total compatibility with work networks was necessary.. all colleagues have D-Links and it's the only one tested so far to work without problems so i had to change plans midway and go the D-Link way..

so i may not have a good network but by golly i'd be able to work from home..

TofiBaba technical part thorRa sa hee thaa.. baqee kee brand discussion hay.. iss liyay jurrat kee Bazaar main kholnay kee..

Actually different brands wouldn't have made a difference to connect to work. At home I use Linksys as the router, Netgear Wifi AP (i don't like mixing functionality) and at work its all Cisco. I try to get users to go with Linksys but they have all different brands. One user just got the Dell router/AP combo. It all works.

PS: j/k about that forum bit.

Well, about the only incompatibility I know is between some models of Airlink and Netgear, and that is also not tested by me, but I was told.

Just like TofiBaba said, I have multiple devices... Netgear's AP is picked up without any problem by D-Link's Desktop Wifi card. I have a Netgear notebook card, so obviously that works, but when I took that computer out of town, it worked with many different Access Points. My new notebook has Intel's card as part of Centrino and it picks up all AP's including Netgear's at home.

The 10/100 Ethernet is actually a non-issue. I am not aware of any inconsistency in wired connection for general use. LinkSys or whatever, they all work the same.

ugh i'm so not tech..read the title and thought you havea newbie wife and need technical advice. HA! :)

*Originally posted by amelie: *
ugh i'm so not tech..read the title and thought you havea newbie wife and need technical advice. HA! :)

sukher hai...aap kuch aur nahi samji :)

Baba,
i use a d-link box (router/firewall build-in)- 802.11g with cisco aironet laptop card. have not seen any problems yet.
Note or help: dont install comcast provided software on your pc, if you are setting up a DSL router/wireless box.