Why would you object?

I’ve seen it in person, and on this board.

Someone will say Mash’Allah, Alhumdulillah, Subhan’Allah, etc…and the person near them will get upset. As if something horrible has just been said. Yet at the same time, a few curse words by the objecting person every now and then in a sentence is all fine to them, and shouldnt raise an objection. What is this hypocrisy?

I will use Mash’Allah whenever I feel like it, and if you dont like it, please take the next exit to your left. Jazak’Allah. (this is my view) grin

What’s your take on this? Thanks.

I agree...JazakAllah for sharing...:D

jazakalla! thanks for sharing

^Mashallah..both of u think alike..

Re: Why would you object?

Subhan Allah kia pawiter vichar hain … .. :flower1:

do what u feel like doing and forget what the others like or dislike....
especially in matters concerning ur religion....

Itotally know what youan munni. Its funny how even some 'muslims' dont exactly feel comfortable when someone utters such phrases in a gathering.

Let the fools be foolish :)

Well I don't get upset when people use these phrases, but I don't use them much myself, it's just never been part of my everyday speech in life neither have I heard it much around me. I've mostly seen only university students from Islamic societies use these type of expressions on a regular basis.

If a greatness of Islam and/or teachings of Islam is discussed, what’s wrong with remembering ALLAH to whom all greatness belong?

Subhan ALLAH <<< All greatness belong to ALLAH

If some one share something beneficial, what would be the best than giving the person a dua for reward in return?

Jazak ALLAH <<< May ALLAH give u Jazaa

…??

Jazak ALLAH munni indeed for bringing up this topic…

Maniac: well said :k:

Well it isn't a question of faith alone. It has more to do with attitudes and a certain mindset. Munni, I am sure everyone here noticed that. I for one would not object when the person I am conversing with would say Oh Jesus, Raam ki kirpa say, or Wah guru dee.. These are mere expressions.. true refective of one's faith but in no way being imposed upon you or said with the intention of harming others OR they do not even imply that one is being condescending towards the others religion.

I fail to understad how people who act as secular and liberal minded start disparging things and mocking others when clearly nothing is being said against them/their religion OR where religion doesn not factor in in the first place... I don't know, maybe its the insecurity, the inherent fear of something

one of my friends is s saudi, she cant spk english very well but we try to communicate as best as we can, and shes always putting in MashaAllahs and alhamdulillahs and subhanaallahs i think it sounds so pretty, esp. since they mean something so sweet in her accent
i dont see whats wrong with using them :flower1:

‘Muslims’ who feel uncomfortable with these words and phrases are usually the half baked types, the ones whose Islam is limited to Eid prayers or maybe a Friday prayer now and then…

In Hadith Qudsi the Prophet (sallallaho alaihe wassallam) tells us, Allah said "I treat my servant according to his expectations from Me, and I am with him when he remembers Me. If he remembers Me to himself, I remember him to Myself; if he remembers Me in a gathering, I remember him in a better and nobler gathering." (Bukhari)

Maniac, yeah I have noticed that some muslims feel uncomfy with it as well. sigh

Mr Xtreme, thats interesting, I've noticed mostly adults use it outside of uni. Including my mom, and she uses it with non-muslims all the time. grin

I agree Anwaar.

lost soul, I also fail to understand why people object. Maybe it is insecurity, who knows.

Xara, I also noticed how beautiful it sounds when this lady was visiting an iftar we had at my uni. She would use the phrases once in awhile in conversation to one of the students, and I just thought wow, that sounds beautiful. smile

Dhulfiqar, that is one of my favorite hadith. Thanks for sharing.

Munni, I wouldn't go far, I was in a relation for 4 years. She would always say MashAllah and InshAllah. I hardly used to say this before i met her, but now I am proud to say that i am in the habbit of saying it most of the time. But, It was sad that my own sister would make fun of it when ever she would talk to her. She would tease me " Tou inshAllah kab mil rahaye ho ? MashALlah ye wo like she would tease me in regards of her. And i never told her but to me it was sad.

Why Arabs like Xara's friend, when they say MashALlah and InshAllah, sounds so beautful ? Beacuse they mean it from their hearts. When most of us including me say it, we just say it, say it. Like I know when i say inshAllah i don't translate the meaning behind it all the time, i.e ( Ager Allah naye Chaha Tou Zaroor ho ga ). But when they say it, trust me they really really mean it from the bottom of their hearts. Hence it sounds so nice and so touching. ( at least thats how I intereprate it as i know it does sound so paak ).
JazakAlalh For sharing.

Fe-Amman Allah
-Salman