Why we failed to produce long lasting Milli Naghme in recent times?

Like Jeeway Jeeway Pakistan, Sohni Dharti Allah Rakhe, Main bhi Pakistan hoon tu bhi Pakistan hai.

I don’t remember any popular milli naghma that was produced during last 10-15 years and is still popular. Last batch was probably, Awaz group’s ‘Ae Jawan’ and Haroon’s ‘Dil na lage’.

There was a time, when PTV was giving so many popular songs in a year, doing experiments with poetry and music to produce hip hop pop songs like ‘Dil Dil Pakistan’ and ‘Itne baRe jeewan saagar main tune Pakistan diya’.

Is it due to fact that we don’t have writers / poets who can write such beautiful lines or our society lack patriotism to produce such heart touching melodies?

Dil na lagy was by Fakhir.I don't think we can blame writers,poets for that.We still have good writers,lyricists, music composers but we lack the jazba now.The atmosphere that was 10-15 years ago was completely different from now.Things are so policitized now that we get to hear more political songs than patriotic songs.Yesterday I asked a kid at flag stall that why was he buying a Pakistani flag? He replied because there is a ceremony at school tomorrow.I asked what kind of ceremony ? He replied diary me likha ho ga :(

Re: Why we failed to produce long lasting Milli Naghme in recent times?

wow, that's really sad.

sad indeed as we never need so much attachment with our land as it is required now. Schools have just become money making machines, they are not producing people who can feel attachment for land and responsibilities towards it. They are just producing money minded individuals.

^ I agree; also, when speaking your own native language is looked down upon in the top schools, I guess this lack of attachment is to be expected. Media is not exactly helping matters either.

It is not Pakistan specific.

We live in a consumption based society now. Everything is to be consumed and replaced quickly, including music and patriotic music.

There have been so many hit tracks from OSTs of the dramas to pop numbers over this period. But whenever we want to play some patriotic songs, most of the time, its something from the period upto 1980s.

Do you think those hit tracks would be 'long lasting'?

I don't know about before, but 1980s was a period of social suffocation and propaganda of false patriotism. A lot of patriotic stuff was encouraged by state. Pop music was discouraged (remember how Nazia and Zohaib were hounded by Mullahs?) and hence patriotic music was produced more in proportion to pop music than it is now.

Don't know about latest hits. But may be today's generation will remember that due to nostalgia.

The problem is we are not even producing some hit patriotic songs nowadays. The long lasting is the next stage.

Mullas never liked any kind of music, but inspite of all their resistance, 80s gave us not only Nazia Zohaib, but also names like Aalmgir, Vital Signs, etc

I think there have been more songs but they've not been given the mili nagmay status or simply haven't gained popularity although can't think of anything recent.

Jazba junoon
Junoon say aur ishq say
Humsay hai yeh zamana

Jazba junoon was in Mid 90s.

Junoon se aur ishq se was in early 2000's (Soundtrack of Jinnah)

PTV conducts competition of milli naghme almost every year, but we don't hear any hit. Strange enough, patriotic songs from other side of border like 'I like my India', 'Sarfaroshi ki tamanna', 'mera rung de basanti chola', 'Ye jo des hai tera', 'Aisa des hai hai mera', 'des rangila' are quite popular in Pakistan and that are quite recent.

not enough $$s?

do we need $$ to produce a milli naghma? :hmmm:

I think first ever milli naghma of Pakistan was ‘chand roshan chamakta sitara rahe’ written before independence. That was the time, when people used to make parcham at home from dupattas.

I mean milli naghma do not bring in instant cash… as opposed to a saas/bahu soundtrack.

milli naghma in India can bring cash. The most attractive part of movie Bhagat Singh was its song 'Mera rung de basanti chola' and they had made more money from sale of music than actual movie.

Lets produce a milli naghma for India then!

may be Pakistani singers in India can make your wish come true. Ali Zafar ke ziada chances hain :p