Why the recent western trend

Why is there a recent trend to westernize Pakistan? Are Pakistani’s not proud of their own heritage and culture?

I don;t think westrenisation is only Pakistan's problem. This is the threat that most of the non-english cultures around the world are experiencing right now.

Why is there a recent trend to westernize Pakistan? Are Pakistani’s not proud of their own heritage and culture?<<

Oh yes we are

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

It’s just that if you don’t have something, like hmmm… oh well a tradition or norm that you need you’ll adopt it from other cultures and fill the gab. (We’re not talking about religion here right, as there is huge difference between religion and culture) Issi tarah if a tradition or norm is not good enough, like the dowry tradition, then we should replace it with another more human tradition.

As for the trend – as I see it, it’s because we don’t know our own good enough to feel proud. Mostly we learn about the dark sides of our culture through family, friends and others – we try not to think about the beauty of our culture. Plus times are changing, some norms are simply outdated, not that they aren’t good – we just don’t have enough time for them. For instance the old family system, that most of us are so proud of, is slowly dying, coz we don’t have enough time for our elders the way our parents had for theirs, and we are more aware of our private lives and our rights to have one – unlike old days. Many changes come with modern technology, and we have to figure out where we stand in all this halla gulla.

Originally posted by sabah:
*>> (We’re not talking about religion here right, as there is huge difference between religion and culture) *

aur jab mein yeh kehta tha, tu merey saath larti theen!!
I think the biggest inevitability is the fact that almost all education is based in english, and in order to follow the latest advancements in different fields of education, we have to follow the west, which translates into us having to speak english more than we have to, and eventually doing everything the western way, more than we have to. The basics of our own culture are hopefully never gonna go away, but in practical life, we are definitely being taken over by the west, as is every other country in the world.

aur jab mein yeh kehta tha, tu merey saath larti theen!!<<

Lo jee koi in ki suno, kab laRi meiN aap se haiN? Aap jaise masoom bande se laR ke maiN muft meiN gunnah bhala kioN kamaooN :-p

Seriously, I think I’ve always said that there is huge difference between religion and culture, especially our culture and religion. This difference is the most difficult to explain when talking to non-desis. Anyway if I did say the other then I’m glad that I’ve learned one more thing through this board. Aur phir aap ka bhi shukriya, as I must have learned it from you

I think the biggest inevitability is the fact that almost all education is based in english, <<
Although I agree with you here, still I think it’s interesting to note that western countries, non-English that is, are not changing their culture the way we are even though they too use english books and tech. Why don’t they change like us? Some countries are not even so concerned about their cultures still they don’t change to say American etc.

>> Why is there a recent trend to westernize Pakistan? Are Pakistani’s not proud of their own heritage and culture?<<
Yes the trends are changing. Reason is not Pakistanis are forgetting their culture but it is the demand of the time, most of the people are living independent lives becoz they have to cope up with the job and the busy life. But still Pakistani culture has many weak points if some other good tradition replaces that one, that will be a good sign.

Why don’t they change like us? Some countries are not even so concerned about their cultures still they don’t change to say American etc.
Their traditions have also gone through a lot of change. But they don’t go through a rapid change, their old traditions and norms were definitely different from todays. Now they have reached a point where no other change can be made (I guess

). And one other thing is that, in our desi lives other people play an important role, we can change even ourselves just because we fear log kia kahian gay. They (westerners) don’t pay attention to these things…
Pakistanis are going through the change in culture because now we are stepping in the outside world, we are corrosponding with the westeners now… and most of the people like to follow them because if they dont they fear that the westerners wont pay attention to them. Pretending that we and west are alike might have resolved some differences but it is definitely going to kill our culture soon.

Why is there a recent trend to westernize Pakistan? Are Pakistani's not proud of their own heritage and culture?

Recent?!? I think its been on for a while.. a long while!

I agree with ghalib. The trend is not recent....it's been there for quite some time.

Whether or not it has to do with being proud of our own culture is a good question.

Is it possible to be proud of one's heritage yet want to change it for the better? Now, before you all jump.....I'm not suggesting that Americanization is betterment....just that some may consider it to be.

Some things in the west are good and should be taken on board. Equally, some parts of Pak culture are also superior and they should not be lost. It's a matter of common sense and taking the best of whichever culture.

Strawberry cheesecake is nice...should I refuse to eat it cuz it's from the west?

Nope.. You certainly shouldn't. While on the topic, I think these paki bakeries gotta give up on that creme that they put on those cakes. It tastes like water, only "cremified". Amreeeki creme is so much better..

hmmm....the subject of Paki cream is very close to my heart. In Paki deserts they don't use frehs cream, they use some artificial gunk (at least that's what it tastes like). But to be honest, after weeks on end without any decent deserts - I'm not a big fan of mithai - it all tastes good!

But in my opinion Rahat Bakers is the best in the whole wide world.

Paki cakes r the best..esp. when they’re from Rahat.
try chocolate fudge cake some time

Whoever says that Pakistanis are becoming westernized? It is totally not true. What you see in big metropolitan areas like Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, etc., is no reflection on how culturally insular we are. There may be Satellite TVs and all in villages, but the life in most of rural Pakistan is on a standstill, just the way it was 5000 years ago.

Xtreme, cream? Man, come to Lahore with me, I will have you eat the real stuff, (that stuff that makes your stuff grow) siri payee, falouda, Nihari, Machhee, you will forget about stupid cheesecakes.

Xtreme says: “some parts of Pak culture are also superior and they should not be lost”

Xtreme, substitute “all” for “some” is how I feel. If a few people have bad habits, we cant blame our culture for that.

Thank you all for a warm welcome. I think I have to agree with most of you in the thought that it’s the demand of time. If an American from hundred years ago saw some of the young American generation now, they might faint with disgust. So perhaps you are right in saying that Pakistan is going though a time of change just like any other country. It’s just that conservatives like myself have a difficult time adjusting to that.

Keeping in spirit with the “Islamic” trend on few parts of the forum, I couldn’t help but think that perhaps one way to make Pakistan better would be to revitalize the Islamic spirit in its population, especially the young generation. Well, I can’t say much about that as I have to work a lot on myself in approaching that 100% Muslim mark.

I agree with NYAhmadi. If you are talking about Pakistanis living abroad and their practice of culture then you may be right but for Pakistanis in Pakistan that is not true in general.

I think Pakistanis living abroad are a lot more conservative than the so called Pakistanis in Pakistan. Besides, the recent trend that I have observed and heard about from people with first-hand-experience was very disturbing.

The Pakistanis in Pakistan are The Pakistanis, and not the so-called.

Your observations and the 1st hand information of others may not necessarily represents the whole Pakistan. May be you are talking about only a fraction of whole Pakistani society.