Why teach another language

I have often wonder why some parents don’t teach their kids their native language. If not for connecting with the culture, teach it to improve problem-solving skills :slight_smile:

Bilingual Babies Have More Flexible Brains

April 11, 2016 | by Ben Taub
Bilingual baby
photo credit: Polyglot in (potty)training. Michelle D. Milliman/Shutterstock

Babies who are exposed to two languages (not including baby talk) instead of one during the first year of their life may develop a cognitive advantage over their monolingual counterparts, attaining better problem-solving skills. And while most babies don’t actually have many problems to solve, this early boost to their mental progress could stand them in good stead for their adult lives.

Previous research has shown that people who speak multiple languages tend to have enhanced connectivity in areas of the brain involved in executive function, which refers to a range of cognitive capabilities related to planning, reasoning and problem solving. However, researchers from the University of Washington were keen to learn if this neurological side-effect of multilingualism could be detected in babies who had not yet begun to talk.

To test this, they recruited 16 11-month-old babies (via their parents, obviously), half of which came from families that only speak English while the other half came from English-Spanish bilingual families. The researchers used magnetoencephalography (MEG) to measure the brain activity of the babies as they listened to a stream of meaningless speech sounds that are common to either English, Spanish or both, as outlined in the video below.

Reporting their findings in the journal Developmental Science, the team discovered that the babies from bilingual families exhibited strong brain responses to both the Spanish and English sounds, indicating that they were able to recognize and process both types as “phonetic sounds” rather than general noises, or “acoustic sounds.” Babies from English-speaking families, however, only responded to English sounds, suggesting that the Spanish sounds were not phonetically processed.

This outcome indicates that, even before babies start talking, they are able to recognize linguistic sounds. However, a much more important finding was that the neurological responses of bilingual babies occurred in certain brain regions responsible for executive function, such as the prefrontal and orbitofrontal cortex. In contrast, the brain responses of monolingual babies did not extend into these regions.

As such, the researchers conclude that the need to distinguish between two languages presents a cognitive challenge to bilingual babies that requires them to engage these brain areas, thereby strengthening their executive function capacities. According to study co-author Naja Ferjan Ramírez, this finding “suggests that bilingualism shapes not only language development, but also cognitive development more generally.”

In other words, babies who are exposed to multiple languages are likely to get a head start at strengthening the connections in the parts of the brain that are necessary for flexible thought and problem solving. ¡Qué bien!

Bilingual Babies Have More Flexible Brains | IFLScience

Re: Why teach another language

yes, we should teach our children our native language…but, that won’t solve all the possible problems/situations where our son/daughter will have to cry out:

**zabaan-e-yaar-e-man Turki wa man Turki na mee daanam
[my beloved’s language is Persian and i do NOT know Persian!] :hehe:

my nephew and nieces do not speak Urdu but they do pick up a word here and there. onr day he said:

**“i wanna have ‘GHOST’ [gosht] for dinner tonight.” **:hehe:

^ lol, my son keeps saying "yai meri gofta hai," to everything he wants to eat and claim :)

That, plus your kids can connect better with their elders and understand certain expectations we have in our culture and why ie use Aap for elders, sahi se betho, dupatta theek karo, chappal seedhi karo. I honestly feel for the grandparents, they're so happy to see their grandchildren yet the kids can't even talk to them and end up missing out on this lovely relationship they could have had.

And it will help you with your career, there's so many of us now in every country :D

No wonder we are so smart :D multilingual !

Hope to pass on at least one language to my daughter but it a struggle as English permeates so heavily in our lives

Agree. But along with teaching the language, I think that maybe pride in it should also be taught. I see Hispanic kids have so much pride in Spanish. I had a French student who would openly read Harry Potter in French. But I've often seen the Desi kids feel self-conscious, embarrassed even, of speaking Urdu or being spoken to in it in various public settings. I have relatives who think it's not necessary to teach; I think that's sad. It's not in the least surprising that being bilingual develops your brain. Every language has its nuances, it's idioms and unique sense of humor. Being fluent in it allowes you to view/comprehend things from multiple perspectives.

Agree with gupshupper too; that's a very good point. There's often a distance between kids and grandparents and I don't think it's due to just the age gap. I have a family member whi thinks the relos in pak are not as warm or friendly...well they might be if you's converse with them in the native language. Language can help bridge gaps. I understand that they evolve over time and some have even died about, but they're a beautiful blessing among many. Makes life and the world more interesting.

so many of my relatives (mainly cousins) don't know pushto (my native language) and it's sad.. because although they claim to be Pakistani, they don't understand most things Pathani/Pakistani/Desi, don't speak the language either, nor do they have any desire to learn.

I blame my uncles for this because it was their job to teach their kids and their wives the culture etc.

Same goes for the parts of my family who, let's say, are half Philipino and Pakistani. they know NOTHING about Philipinos nor Pakistanis, yet "proudly" claim they are from there. um, okay. Instead, they fully follow American culture.

every kid should be taught their culture/language/food/arts from their parents. otherwise, it dies out as the generations go on :/

I want to teach Deeno Urdu. My parents taught me Urdu and it wasn't hard at all for me to pick up. So yeah...I'll definitely be passing it on to him.

I have read a lot of arguments here and from others i have meet in person regarding not teaching because the parents felt no need for it. But we are trying to teach out kids for all the reasons stated above. My son isn't speaking urdu yet but inshallah once my inlaws come over he will be forced to speak it as well...but he understands it completely.

Another side note regarding having grandparents and teaching kids respect etc. When the grandparents are around and kids see their parents respectfully obeying, respecting their parents they will follow as well (hopefully :)

Mostly those kids learn Urdu easily when the mother is more comfortable in Urdu than English. The kids are forced to speak it. Its not really a case of "teaching" them as such mostly. My parents are fluent in English and there is no communication gap there.

very true...same in my family...BHai and Bhabhi always speak/spoke in English with their children and when i joined the family i tried to speak in Urdu but the kids would not respond in Urdu...i gave up. now, they don't speak a word of Urdu. my Bro and Bhabhi regret not communicationg with them in Urdu. it's too late. :(

I am much more comfortable in English than Urdu. But i still forced myself to speak whatever tooti-pajhi Urdu i know so my son would pick it up. My husband is from Pakistan but we always communicated in English, until my son's birth. Over time my Urdu has improved, and currently i'm in Pakistan and everyone tells me my son speaks better Urdu than me lol and he's fluent in English as well. It's hard to stick to the language ur not as comfortable with, but if u do kids just pick it up. U don't have to proper teach them.

I speak to the kids in 3 different languages (dad speaks to them in 5!), they have no problem understanding and responding back in all of them, the little one (2 years old) understands that his teachers don't understand punjabi/urdu, so when he complains about them he does it in urdu ;)

Wow! What 5 languages does your husband speak ?