No one said, not to look at Imam's shahadah. If you read posts above, you will see the message from his life and the reasons why he chose to embrass shahadah over bait to a tyrant. The message is clear and will shine until the day of qiyamat.
I think one should remember (by the way everyone reads durood e Ibrahimi in every namaz thus remember Aaale Muhammed by default) Imam and his sacrifice throughout the year. I don't see significance of remembering him on day of Ashura. As prophet didn't teach us the concept of 'barsi' or annual commomeration of the dead ones or shuhuda. Please pardon my ignorance if I missed any practice from early Islamic era of such things. The things that are repeated every year are two Eideyen, Shab-e-Qadr and Shab-e-nisf-al-shabaan. There is no barsi or other festive of any kind.
Shias can ignore this, because its not applicable to them as I said before.
My approach is less (home made) rituals and more practical. The best way to show respect to anyone is to please him by following his path and teachings.
Lusi, I have seen Sunni taking out taaziye like Shias do and some confused do even matams. Sabeel competetion is also very common in Pakistan/India, but very few Sunnis were doing it before partition as some elders told me. Its all got popular in last 30 years or so. Funny thing is I have seen some people who don't shave during these 10 days 'for respect'. Some don't buy anything but grocessary out of respect. I don't get it. What is the concept. Does Allah swt creates the whole scenario spritually during these 10 days. I don't know what is the concept behind all this. When I pray I remember and call Prophet Muhammd, all prophets, all companions, ahle bait, shuhuda e badr, uhud, other gadwaats and shuhudae karbala and all momineen and muslimeen. So I pretty much remember them throughout the year. I read about these leaders and try to memorize their saying and use them in my conversation as balaagh. I don't feel doing special rituals or things in 10 days. These are normal days for me. Ashura is the day Prophet asked us to keep fast, thats something we all should do. Please guide me if you have any proof of annual commomeration. I may be wrong and you will get reward of correcting me. Again its not for Shia brothers, please just take it as request of a Sunni brother to other Sunni brothers. I just wanna make sure what I do is 'Islam' not some cultural thing.
Actually more sunnis used to observe Muharram 30 yrs back then now.
The tradition of majlis was started by Hazrat Zainab who was Hazrat Imam Hussain's sister; she was present with him at the time of karbala. When women and children were released from yazid's prison, she asked for a place where they received the heads of 72 shuda of karbala. Hazrat Zainab told all the women gathered there the incident of karbala, what the family of Prophet pbuh went through, her telling the incident was followed by mattam by everyone in that room. It was basically a natural reaction. This was the first majlis. After that Hazrat Zainab held many of these kinds of majalis on the way back to medina and in medina to tell ppl what had happened with the family of Prophet pbuh in Karbala. Mattam was basically a natural reaction from those people after listening to those incidents
Arabs of that time were mostly poets therefore they started writing/documenting the incident of Karbala in form of poetry.
This is little history of how the tradition of majlis and matam was started, incase anyone is curious.
Anyway, I agree with you that we need to be more practical when it comes to following their teachings. They shouldn't be limited to majalis but they should resonate from our lives.
No one said, not to look at Imam's shahadah. If you read posts above, you will see the message from his life and the reasons why he chose to embrass shahadah over bait to a tyrant. The message is clear and will shine until the day of qiyamat.
I think one should remember (by the way everyone reads durood e Ibrahimi in every namaz thus remember Aaale Muhammed by default) Imam and his sacrifice throughout the year. I don't see significance of remembering him on day of Ashura. As prophet didn't teach us the concept of 'barsi' or annual commomeration of the dead ones or shuhuda. Please pardon my ignorance if I missed any practice from early Islamic era of such things. The things that are repeated every year are two Eideyen, Shab-e-Qadr and Shab-e-nisf-al-shabaan. There is no barsi or other festive of any kind.
Shias can ignore this, because its not applicable to them as I said before.
My approach is less (home made) rituals and more practical. The best way to show respect to anyone is to please him by following his path and teachings.
Lusi, I have seen Sunni taking out taaziye like Shias do and some confused do even matams. Sabeel competetion is also very common in Pakistan/India, but very few Sunnis were doing it before partition as some elders told me. Its all got popular in last 30 years or so. Funny thing is I have seen some people who don't shave during these 10 days 'for respect'. Some don't buy anything but grocessary out of respect. I don't get it. What is the concept. Does Allah swt creates the whole scenario spritually during these 10 days. I don't know what is the concept behind all this. When I pray I remember and call Prophet Muhammd, all prophets, all companions, ahle bait, shuhuda e badr, uhud, other gadwaats and shuhudae karbala and all momineen and muslimeen. So I pretty much remember them throughout the year. I read about these leaders and try to memorize their saying and use them in my conversation as balaagh. I don't feel doing special rituals or things in 10 days. These are normal days for me. Ashura is the day Prophet asked us to keep fast, thats something we all should do. Please guide me if you have any proof of annual commomeration. I may be wrong and you will get reward of correcting me. Again its not for Shia brothers, please just take it as request of a Sunni brother to other Sunni brothers. I just wanna make sure what I do is 'Islam' not some cultural thing.
Who told you that people who comemorate the events of Karbala ignore the Imam (AS) and his message for the rest of the year?
Why would a Sunni showing his love for the Imam (AS) by doing matam be considered "confused"?
Sunnis in Pakistan have for the most part always participated in the commemoration of the events of Karbala every Muharram even before partition. It is well documented in the literature of the provinces. For description in Urdu from pre partition times, I would refer you to look at the Pundit Rattan Nath Sarshar's Fasana e Azad. It is only in the last 30 years since the "Purists" have started going about telling everyone how their Islam is wrong that a critical eye has been cast on Sunni's commemorating the events of Karbala.
Bro it seems to be misunderstanding or exageration in love and religion calls it GHULOO ( the bold and under lined one) and I hope i do not get FATWAA for pointing it out.
Sorry for hard feeling and mistakes as i am both “zero and khan”.
@ smooth guy....
how can u say tht ther was no form of barsi at the the time of the Prophet (PBUH)...
when he himself use 2 grief over the death of Hazrat Khadija, Hazrat Abu Talib in 619 and declard the year as the year of grief (aam ul hazn).
Am sure the way was different but it still sumd up 2 the same thing.
And on Muharram, if u kow the whole story, was the water shut of and the Holy ppl were left to misrble conditions.
Thts the reason why ppl in the days of Muharram distribut tubark and water and juices freely. And for the same reason ppl don't go 2 fine restaurants for dining nor do they eat themselves cuisines, and this they do 2 show respect to the incident of karbala.
Also abt the some guys not shaving during Muharam. Tht only applies in the 9th n 10th of Muharam whn the mominien restrain from using water lyk dat or take showers.
Lusi, good points. But Hazrat Bibi Zainub didn't ask people to commomerate Shahada every year on first 10 days of Muharrum and do matam as they did in front of her.
Makrani, momineen are doing great job if thats the intention. Thanks for your clarification.
ZeroKhan, perhaps you could be right. I can't find the reference right now, but I have heard it many times.
3. Sunnis in Pakistan have for the most part always participated in the commemoration of the events of Karbala every Muharram even before partition. It is well documented in the literature of the provinces. For description in Urdu from pre partition times, I would refer you to look at the Pundit Rattan Nath Sarshar's Fasana e Azad. It is only in the last 30 years since the "Purists" have started going about telling everyone how their Islam is wrong that a critical eye has been cast on Sunni's commemorating the events of Karbala
the purists have gone to the other extreme though
they are right azadari in its prsent form shud be abandoned and discouraged but they have gone to the extent of criticzing Hussain and his Father and gloryfing their enemies.
In this way a interesting siutaion arises the 12ers who IMHO are bidaatis are claiming to follow Ali / Hussain who are amongst the first purists in islam.
While the so-called purists are falling over themselves to defend the first Bidaatis in islam i.e the ummayyads
Red dress on wedding and white dress for widows is all Bull from Hindu that we carried.
Wearing white dress during funerals or for widows is not only a Hindu tradition ! In China, in Maghreb (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia) and in Black African countries (except South Africa...), people generally wear white clothes during funerals and widows wear white clothes too (during 4 months and 10 years when they are Muslims (we call that 3ida)!
In China, red is the colour of marriage... Some Berberians use red for wedding too.
i totally agree with u on this matter…unfortunately most of the mourners of the Imam (AS) hav forgotten the real reason for Imam’s sacrifice.He wanted Islam to stay in its original form as taught by Holy Prophet (saw) as Yazid was trying to change the haraam to halaal n halaal to haraam.Imam sacrificed his companions & family members so that Muslims should follow & practice Islam as the holy prophet (saw) wished.
Sorry sorry sorry if i offend anyone … but first question shld be did companions even attend the janaza of Prophet s.a.w ?
I am not sure If prophet s.a.w specifically wore black but cant say he didnt either. Its optional to wear black on moharam If Prophet s.a.w did wear black then it wud be called sunnat ! however its not the case !
KAABA TERE GHILAF KA KALA HAI RANG KUE,
KYA TU BHI SOGWAR HAI ZEHRA K CHAIN KA,
YEH RANG SOG KA HAI JO TU NAY KYA PASAND,
KYE TU BHI MATMI HAI MERE HUSSAIN KA.
People wear black as a sign of symbol of mourning and also as a form of protest against the injustices of Yazid. Colourful often signifies happiness, that folks often wear to wedding or parties, hence the colour black as a sign of unity.
If not then its probably was some tradition in Ajam or Faaras. Not an Islamic tradition.
Thanks.
Might be, or it might be the tradition of the Prophets Grand daughter for all we know, either way its not a problem islamically. Its like asking why folks colourful clothing at thier weddings. The Prophet nor his ashabs most likely did not wear three piece suits or colourful kurtas with kullas, Nor the wives lenghas and saris....unless you have hadith that they did... hope you understand the futile of your questioning?
Smooth guy, in the life of Hazrat Zainab, people started to have majalis. It wasn't something that was started after her death. Also, when she held the first majlis, she covered the walls black and wore black clothes so people coming to the event would know that it is a sorrow event and not something that should be celebrated. Again, the color was used to refect sorrow and loss, like diwana said it is not a religious attire.