Why PCB is ignoring Wasim Akram?

Re: Why PCB is ignoring Wasim Akram?

Are you having pot right now?? It definitely appears from your post.
Next thing you will say is that PCB should hire Symonds as the national bowling coach.

oh, (Rani....)
With more news channels than viewers looking for a breaking news, most stars love to stay at their place instead of posing on "Geo Gaalyaan". On the other hand some words banned on this site are common amongst players on the field.

( Just for the sake of clarity, these days Sarfraz is dealing in property toooo. :) ). ====> Double Impact (ghar bhi do aur ------ bhi)

Well this topic was discussed here some time back, and I was in favor of Wasim and Waqar then and now 2. PCB neither gave importance to them at that time nor will they consider them now. This topic was about PCB ignoring Wasim (or Waqar). I gave you the reason (I knew). Can you justify this???

I think you are trying to say that waqar towards the end of his career became less lethal and just a normal bowler, so no need to hire him since surely with such decline rate by now he would have forgotten the art of bowling.
Uffff mein kahan ja kar apna sur maroon:frusty::frusty:

Bhaijan bowling koi matric ya inter ka sabaq nahin hay kay insaan bhool jata hay.
Why am I even responding to such posts??:smack2: :smack2: :smack2:*

I know this is a thread about Wasim, But in my honest opinion, I am surprised why Khan saheb has not been mentioned in this thread, if anyone commands and gets most respect from the Pakistan Team, Management and People its him!!!

Rahi controverseries ki baat I think if you start ignoring people with un favourable histories, you will soon run out of options. Waise I would vote for Wasim too!!!

Aejaz

i would rather him b in politics, because Inshallah he has a huge future in it and he is too vital right now in Pakistan politics keeping the dictatorship on its toes, so no i think he is more important to the country in politics!

Khan sahib has already been so much into politcis, his health care projects and soon into education that it is not possible for him to even serve on part time basis.

A few days ago guppies here were questioning what qualifications Mushtaq Ahmed had as a coach and how can he teach fast bowling to our budding speedsters. The same question applies to Wasim. Does he have any coaching qualifications? How is he going to teach Danish how to perfect his googlies. While Waqar and Akram were one of the finest fast bowlers the world had ever seen, does that make them best coaches as well. When Lillie and Thomson retired from test cricket in the late 70's, I didn't see Australia running to sign them up as coaches. Let these guys prove their coaching credentials before we all get over excited about them. If the fact that they are the greatest fast bowlers we have produced therefore they have an automatic right to be the coach than I can think of one certain Khan whose claim is heads and shoulders above these two.

I am still questioning Mushtaq crednetials and qualifications. I don't think he is a qualified coach but if he can be appointed as a coach than why not wasim akram or waqar.

I can accept the fact for a minute that Pakistan doesn't need a bowling coach. i.e. no wasim, waqar or mushtaq. But I don't think or accept that the theory of how mushtaq will teach fast bowlers can be applied for wasim akram. Reasons are:

1: Pakistan major strenth is fast bowling. In a 11 member side we usually have 3-4 fast bowlers and 1 spinner. Even in the back up, we will be having more fast bowlers than spinners. That doesn't mean that a spinner won't be needing coaching but atleast its much better to have akram as a coach, guiding fast bowlers than mushtaq as a coach, guiding only a spinner in the side.

2: If qualifications are not the criteria, which I am assuming is the case, than I guess the only criteria is the bowlong experience and record and mushtaq's record of 33 bowling average in both test and ODI is not impressive at all.

Ehsan bhai, I think you meant that it is not necessary that fast bowlers cant be good coaches. I disagree. How can you explain that imran khan trained waqar younis and wasim akram and helped them in becoming the top bowlers. In a way he was also doing coaching while playing cricket with them. Imran khan however we know cannot hold this job due to his other committments. Similarily we often use to heard from young fast bowlers during the days of 2 W's that they learn alot from the 2 pacers. i personally think that razzak, azhar mehmood, shoiab akhtar etc were at their best under akram. Don't you think that akram's personal milestones and performances of other bowlers around him during his time should be good enough reasons to atleast give him a chance or preference over mushtaq ahmed??????

^ So Khan Sahib are you saying that just because Mushataq's appointment was incorrect. i.e. he is not a qualified coach therefore there is a case to make Akram a coach. Well two wrongs do not make a right. If Mushtaq's appointment is wrong than what we should be looking for a qualified coach, not just a big name replacement.

I don't mean that fast bowlers cant be good coaches, just that they need to learn coaching before they can be considered as qualifed coaches. I have no objection to Akram becoming a coach if he is qualified, the question we should ask is whether he is qualified.

Wasim Akram once said that he will never be able to coach because he lacks organization and discipline required to be such. He also once said that 80% of the time he doesn't know what the ball will do when it leaves his hand. Such comments tend to show that he may be the greatest left arm fast bowler the world has seen but not necessarily a coach.

bhaiyyon, the solution is simple. PCB should help advance coaching clinics or whatever you wanna name it for the bowlers, every 6 months and bring the masters of the art for two weeks sessions. So every six months they can have Wasim/Qadir or Waqar/Mushy on two week special contract to transfer the golden art to the new customers in the market.

yea i perfectly remember him saying that! the guy just goes with the flow, he does lack professionalism, which waqar has and as I mentioned b4, aaqib is the most qualified in terms of experience and he has taken those courses PCB had where international qualified clinincs and courses were held! so if we’re taking about it in terms of professionalism then he is the most qualified, i honesty belive at this time we need waqar you can absorb that through his comments on tv, and also we have been having problems with getting tail out, so y not have king of reverse swing! aaqib should be in long term plans to b the coach of the team! aaqib should be signed by pcb to coach the a teams as he is doing now!

Not to derail this thread, and advance apologies to Raindance Bhai, Game Bhai and Gamma Bhai, I was just thinking about the bad blood between the 2 W's and Shoaib Akhter, and my conclusion is that, I dont think either can dictate terms and conditions or technique to Shoaib, specially now when he is doing a wonderful job under Babloo Chaca and Inzi. The other bowlers will learn a lot though just by observing and listening to the 2 W's.

So coming back to the drawing board, the only Viable option that I see (If we are looking for a Pakistani Coach) is again the great Khan and none other. Only his being present in the Nets will make a ton of difference.

I still remember and cherish, his comment in interview where he said "I never walked on to the field, thinking we would lose, I alwsys went out to win, and when the Boys saw my body language, it boosted their morale"

Aejaz

Ehsan bhai we are talking about PCB. Do you actually think that PCB would do things right. The only best thing which happened lately was appointment of chacha woolmer, otherwise we all know what PCB is capable of. Atleast appointment of akram is much better than mushtaq's.
What if akram doesn't go for coaching courses and in the mean time some other board will hire him?
Fun Guy bhai, we all know that no one is perfect including akram. Yes I also remember his statement but than he also stated later that he wants to coach the side and with his credentials, do you have a doubt that he won't be able to give useful tips to young fast bowlers?
Smooth bhai, you are spot on. Problem with PCB is that they would claim that they want qualified coaches but they don't want to make an attempt to arrange such courses and finally end up hiring mushtaq ahmed as assitant coach
Aejaz bhai, as I said earlier khan sahib is too commited now with so many other activities that he can't engage himself into coaching.

I can't believe that most of the people here really don't care if PCB utilizes the services of 2 W's or not. Guys I am not talking about PCB hiring them as a full time coach like woolmer who has to take care of all the aspects and angles. Players like imran khan, wasim akram or waqar have guided young bowlers through out their career on the field. Do you guys really think they need training courses to guide 4-5 bowlers??

I know that Fkhan2 Bhai, and am not disputing the fact about his more pressing commitments, but if I am not mistaken he did volunteer a few weeks back to work with Sami????

Aejaz

just heard an interview on bbc asian network, and Khan sahib said never does he want to coah, play in chairty game or watever, or be affiliated with chairman ship, or ceo, or manager!

well occasionally we do see his involment in Pakistan crcket just because of his love for the game. Since bowling coach is a full time permanent job, there is no way he can afford to spent so much time. He is planning to open his cancer hospital in karachi and than in Peshawar. In between that he would also be opening a university, inshallah. Plus you must be knowing that he is leader of a political party and minister of national assembly. So few weeks would be the maximim you will see from the great man.

The point here is about the distinction between a born player and a polished player. Maradona is history’s best player along-with Pele in soccer but he never was a successful coach as he was a born player who never had to learn much.

I am not saying here that Younis forgot bowling, but his deliveries were lacking the initial pace and were predictable to most batsmen. Wasim on the other hand has mastered a number of deliveries to fool batsmen.

Rana was (personally) tipped by a few former fast bowlers (on his very own request and interest) before his tour of India last year and that certainly helped Rana improve his performance. He was a different bowler in that tour.

This marks the difference between Ranan and other fast bowlers. Rana loves to learn and fight.