Why on earth....?

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *

This is the worst generlaization I have ever seen. How in the world does making more monye makes youpay less for helath insurance? This does not make any sense at all. I still pay over $400/month, mind you, Blue Cross Blue Shield for our family. Hello, it has only gone up as i have progressed in the payscale over the years.....so please think before you put such absurd ideas into writing.

Try $1100/mo.

OhioGuy,

I am a Muslim and I don’t consider myself wealthy but I consider it stupid to even think that any promises come in life for free. You can keep the logic to yourself.

Kaleem Bhai,

How many people without insurance do you know? And can you tell us why they don't have insurance? If you like I can tell you about a few of my acquaintances.

It's interesting to note the conservatives support the wrong party for all the right reasons.

Wake up!! The Republican party is no longer representative of the conservative agenda..

You want to make sure Illegal immigrants do not continue to burden the Medical infrastructure? Well you're out of luck with Republicans who were in control of law making but did absolutely NOTHING to curtail illegal immigration.. because??

The whole party manifesto can be summed up in two words

CHEAP LABOR

Illegal Worker cards and reduction in border partrol.. for.. ?? more illegals willing to work for less.. CHEAP LABOR

Despite inflation over decades keep the minimum wage the same... CHEAP LABOR

No social programs.. u can go over the barrell cuz then u'd be willing to work for less. CHEAP LABOR

No abortion cuz we can't let children unborn... Need more slaves.. for CHEAP LABOR

Do nothing about job outsourcing and unemployment... When u have more going hungry they work for less paying jobs........ CHEAP LABOR

we could go on but i'm sure u have some intelligence left to figure it out.

Ahmadjee bhai, please do tell me why they dont have insurance. Also, do tell us what have they done to change it.

Keep in mind I am not saying that we should not help the poor at all, I am agiainst "no one should be left behind" scheme, where you ask the taxpayers to cover all non taxpaying citziens for medical benefits...that is not only unfair, it is borderline criminal.

*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
It's interesting to note the conservatives support the wrong party for all the right reasons.

Wake up!! The Republican party is no longer representative of the conservative agenda..

You want to make sure Illegal immigrants do not continue to burden the Medical infrastructure? Well you're out of luck with Republicans who were in control of law making but did absolutely NOTHING to curtail illegal immigration.. because??

The whole party manifesto can be summed up in two words

CHEAP LABOR

Illegal Worker cards and reduction in border partrol.. for.. ?? more illegals willing to work for less.. CHEAP LABOR

Despite inflation over decades keep the minimum wage the same... CHEAP LABOR

No social programs.. u can go over the barrell cuz then u'd be willing to work for less. CHEAP LABOR

No abortion cuz we can't let children unborn... Need more slaves.. for CHEAP LABOR

Do nothing about job outsourcing and unemployment... When u have more going hungry they work for less paying jobs........ CHEAP LABOR

we could go on but i'm sure u have some intelligence left to figure it out.

PA ji, lagda ai, thuadi akal tay vi tlay pai gai nay....:)

Kaleem payee jaan.. sochan vaalee gal aay.. thanday dimaagh naal ghaur karo..

name one thing 'conservative' this administration has achieved?

fiscal responsibility?
smaller government?
less federal control?
avoid international meddling?
avoid nation building?
control illegal immigration and punish illegals?
control deteroriating moral environment?
generate jobs by tax cuts (ok i admit that vodoo economics has never worked but poor conservatives always buy it)

u go ahead and tell me..

Kaleem Bhai, you don't know any uninsured in your life? That figures.

Here is a recent encounter I had with an immigrant family from Pakistan. They are a family of 6 and Dad is in his 50s and works at a [non Desi] gas station that does not provide health insurance. The younger mother used to work in a factory making blinds and did have a health insurance that cost about 1/3th of her income, she got laid off. The COBRA was too expensive for their modest income and now that she has started at another factory, they wouldn’t start her insurance until she is full time there fore 6 months. I believe it is her 4th or 5th month and the family has no insurance. And the insurance she will eventually get will not cover some of the medicines the Dad needs, they are already told that their Dr is not preferred one so needs to be changed and they have limited number of Dr. Visit per quarter. If any of their family members get admitted in the hospital the hospital fees are not covered. Not to mention the deductibles. Considering the fact that the Dad is a diabetic, their medical costs takes up half of what the family earns. I don’t see any salvation for them until the children start working full time which is at least a decade away. I am dreading if something happens to the mother, the family is screwed for life.

What is your suggestion to them? Mother should start night school at the age of 40 while raising 4 kids to get a "REAL" job? And who is promising that there will be a "REAL" job? You?

no, but when did they arrive/immigrate to US? What was their status when they arrived here? You know, if you think that US will provide for everything when you get here, than of course, you are in a world of hurt. While I can sympathize with their situation, and believe me, I will probably do what I can to help them on an individual basis....I want it tobe exception not the rule. By socializing medicine, you will only create a culture where people expect free benefits, lool what it did to the welfare system.

They came about 12 years ago as legal immigrants and have lived most of their American lives in North East, and thank God not in the south. They don't need 'free benefits' what they cry about is affordable health insurance.

Would you like me to give you an example of the Caucasian white male or female to make my point more effective? As it seems their status as Pakistani immigrants turned you off.

Ahmadjee,

By the way, my wife just changed jobs, and now works for the American Diabetes Association. This desi should contact them, as they have a number of programs to help pay for care… Many states such as mine, also offer very high quality, low cost insurance plans.

This is Rhode Islands plan:

What is RIte Care?

RIte Care is Rhode Island’s Medicaid managed care program
that provides families on the Family Independence Program and
eligible uninsured pregnant women, parents, and children up to
age 19 with comprehensive health insurance coverage. Families
receive most of their health care through one of three participating
Health Plans: Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island,
United Healthcare of New England and Blue CHiP.

What is RIte Share?

RIte Share is a premium assistance program that helps families
get health insurance coverage through their employer (or spouse’s
employer). If a family qualifies, RIte Share will pay for all or part
of the employee’s share of the health insurance premium. RIte Share
also pays for co-payments in the employer’s health insurance plan.

Click here for more information on RIte Share for employers.

Who Can Qualify for RIte Care or RIte Share ?

Families with Children - with annual family income up to 185% of FPL
Children [up to age 19] - with annual family income of up to 250% FPL
Pregnant Women - with annual family income of up to 250% FPL
(FPL = Federal Poverty Level)

Eligibility is based on family income and family size. See the Federal Poverty Level Guidelines for 2004.

If an applicant applies for and is determined eligible for Medical Assistance and if his employer (or spouse’s employer) offers a DHS-approved health plan, then the applicant will be enrolled in RIte Share. If the employer does not offer an approved health plan or if the employee is not eligible to receive it then the applicant will be enrolled in RIte Care.

How much does it cost for RIte Care or RIte Share?

Families with incomes up to 150% of the federal poverty level (FPL) receive
RIte Care or RIte Share at no cost.

Families with incomes between 150% and 250% of the FPL pay a monthly
premium (for either RIte Care or RIte Share) of $61, $77 or $92 per month,
depending on their income.
Covered Benefits (RIte Care or RIte Share)

This list includes both in-plan benefits (through a health plan) and out-of-plan
benefits (through Medicaid fee-for-service, also called Medical Assistance).

Doctor’s office visits
Immunizations
Prescriptions
Lab tests
Prenatal care
Mental health services
Drug or alcohol treatment
Referral to specialists
Hospital care
Emergency care
Home health care
Skilled nursing care
Family Planning services
Nutrition services
Interpreter services
Childbirth education programs
Parenting classes
Smoking cessation programs
Transportation services
Dental care
RIte Care and RIte Share members receive two (2) ID cards, a Health
Plan ID card and a Medical Assistance ID card. Members should
always show both ID cards when using medical services.
http://www.dhs.state.ri.us/dhs/famchild/shcare.htm

OhioGuy Bhaijaan, they moved from NYC to DC area & now live in Northern Virginia (presumably for better schools). Thanks for the link though.

http://dssiad.dss.state.va.us/EligibilityScreening/

Virginia has a superb Medicaid system. Very easy to deal with, highly organized, and very generous. More than likely they have been eliglble for a great deal of assistance, but did not know how to apply, or were too proud to apply.

Thanks! I will have to forward the eldest the link.

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *

Seminole, it is not my responsibilty to pay for "other peoples" medical expenses. I believe in charity, but I do not believe in forced charity. Child's parent should have thought about it,before they had a child. It might sound cold, but we certainly did. We made sure that we had enough money saved up to take care of the children before we decided to start our family.

You don't pay taxes to 'get your money back'. You pay taxes for the priviledge of living in this country that gives you the opportunity to afford a nanny.

Semi, I thought you were smarter than this. I was referring to the notion that Kerry will ease the burden of low income peopel by giving them tax cuts.

Every one has a place in society, I do not look down upon any one because of what kind of work they do, however, i do get offended when they think that people who have worked hard to achieve certain status "owe" them .....no we dont. I have worked hard to achieve what I have, and by grace of Allah will continue to do so. I will give my money to poor who I think deserve it, not some one who believes that they are entitled to free health care and other benfits on my expense

Is everything alright brother?????? You know the meaning of living in a society???? If you don't like tax and services and equality of the citizens, then which country in the world you would like to live in??

Kaleem bhai, How about Social Security? Isn’t that the same thing? You are paying for some of those old folks who didn’t make and saved enough money throughout their entire lives to keep something for their retirement. Now you have to pay a good chunk of your salary for these old people. You are told that when you will get old you will also get some money from SS, but everyone knows that by the time we will get there, there will be no money left in SS fund. So that seems to be like another socialist agenda. Why republican don’t say or do anything against SS? Instead Dumbya is talking about privatization of SS. I am happy to know that you give charity but unfortunately everyone is not like you. So it becomes the responsibility of the govt to do something about it. Not just here but in every civilized country. You can’t let someone die just because they are poor. If there will be a universal healthcare in America and if you will be paying the same amount of tax what you are paying right now than what’s wrong with? I don’t see any harm.

connies are hypocrites. I don't understand this, on one hand they believe in imposing their God's message all over the world by building a powerful military. On the other hand, they want to pay minimal taxes. Tou Bhai jaan, who is going to pay for such a military?