Why not sleeveless?

What’s with short sleeves being okay and sleeveless being trashy? It doesn’t make any logical sense. I’ve been allowed to wear sleeves that are only a couple of inches long and tight clothes but sleeveless was always such a big no no. I remember seeing this girl wearing shalwar kameez that was loose but it was sleeveless and people recoiling in horror while at the same they flashed their decolletage and their fat busted out of their seams. Oh the horror. Religion aside, I’m just talking about the logic of it all. Okay, so you can see the armpit but who walks around with their arms up in the air? Besides, a dupatta covers the upper arms anyway.

Are parents afraid that if their girls wear sleeveless they’ll go on to do other things like dating etc.?

Re: Why not sleeveless?

Yeah, I’ve seen the same reaction from my parents. I initially wasn’t allowed to wear sleeveless.

Now, they’ve seen it become so common, that they have no problems with it. :rolleyes:

Morality changes with fashion.

I always wondered, why are short sleeves alright, but even calf-length skirts slutty? I used to wear skirts to school my first semester and there were a lot of girls who looked at m e like “ew.” :rolleyes: Meanwhile, their thongs were sticking out, ass/boob clevage on display. Very dumb. Speaking from a strictly non-relgiious point of view, some things just don’t make sense.

You have gotta draw the line somewhere. what if tomorrow thongs are in?

hmmmm madhanee: i'll wait for that day:P

THey haven’t been in hte past 5 yrs?

and I will wait for the night..

In that way we cover both bases.

Sara Ji, I meant without the upperwear. Thongs and thongs alone, with nothing underneath.

Wait, nothing underneath the thong?

Yep and what about saris.. Sleeveless blouses are considered oh so haram by aunties n bitchy nakchari girls but the good amount of bare tummy peeking out is perfectly acceptable. I guess sleeveless is considered a bit of a fashion taboo versus sleeves because it may be barely there but atleast its there even if its cap sleeves.. its sleeves.. Plus i think parents might think today sleevless tommarow mid-riff.

even though sleveless is more skin, i always found short-sleeves a bit more classy and sexier.

i know! whats with showing the midrif?? yikes… i dont get it. Plus, its “hai Allah…” if you wear a lengha with a shorter blouse but ok to wear a sari thats exposing everything… sheesh

honestly i was just thinking abt this whole "haye tauba sleeveless pehna hai" issue. I've never been allowed to wear sleeveless, but short short sleeves are ok...i just dont get it!! It's the same freakin thing...of course u have to keep religion aside in this ...we're not even suppose to be showing half the arm anyways.

my mom says that if id start wearing sleeveless it would lead me to do other things?? Yeh mantakh mujhey khabhi samaj mein nahin aayi gi ..but its never really been a problem as I dont feel comfortable in sleevless unless it my pj's we're talking abt :) But there have been in a few times whn i was in khi that i saw the most goreous suits but they were sleeveless and then this whole issue kicked in sigh ..and wat really pisses me off is when they say "shaadi ke baad pehna" !!!!!!!!!!!!! wat the hell...!!

^ OMG ME TOOO!!!

I’ve heard that all the time now, “shaadi kay baad karna” …w hatever i wanna do, go out at nite with freinds, go to a concert, a party, whatever, I can’t, i can only do it if i’m married :grumpy: I dont’ get why this stuff is limited to after marriage, and i cant’ even get married til much much later, so i’m supposed to be bored n miserable rite now :rolleyes: I swear I won’t be like this when I have kids, I’m gonna get rid of this type of thinking…

Yeah errrr offtopic… I think in regards to wearing sleeveless and parents tellin u after marriage… before then ur theirs… whatever u do, its a reflection upon them… whereas afterwrads, u belong to ur hubby, and ur kinda considered an “independent” woman… so stupid really..

dopeta and sleeveless .. just love that combination :)

lol omg tell me abt it!!! that thing abt u belonging to ur parents and u reflecting them before marriage…its true..but arent u portraying urself the same way when ur married? I mean id think if my hubby would see me prior to wedding in short sleeves 24/7 the last thing he’d expect is seeing me in something sleeveless..and wat abt if he doesnt “allow” u …for wtv reasons "family mein nahin hota’ or wtv he says…then wat? saare armaan bahar mein gaye?

that part abt going oout with freinds to parties and stuff after ur married..unless ur hubby comes from a “party” family..wouldnt he also tell u not to attned ? You guys have no idea how happy i am when i see young couples partying :smiley: ..its so cute..! I mean we have so many thoughts for after marriage…wat if he doesnt allow u?

do u see urself independant enough that if he tells you sleevelees is “tauba tauba” in his family u would still try to work ur way around it?..wat would u do..considering how all our ammis are the “shaadi ke baad karna” waali’s! ..agar shaadi ke baad nahin kar sakte tau …?

tau busss... zindagi gaye :p

Waisey I think theres bigger things to worry bout than just wearing sleeveless shirts... i mean yeah its annoying but we can't lose sight of the bigger things... I personally am not comfortable in sleeveless clothing or anything too skimpy so i woudln't do it just to make a point.. i mean some outfits are just gorgeous and beautiful but just not me...

And as for shaadi ke baad... well u jus gotta make sure ur parents set u up wit the rite type of guy. my advise is...if ur born n raised here (in the US/UK.canada) DO NOT let them find a rishta in pak... im sure they're great guys n stuff there but i dont think they can get along marriage-wise.. I certainly do not wnat to go down that route

allowed or not!

what limits can you go girls if you are allowed everything???

2nd question
why you want to show more flesh? i mean why/what you feel when you do that?

exactly ... meree samajh me nai aata whts the point in wearing sleeveless. my opinion... full sleeved dresses bohat bohat ziyaada decent hotay hein compared to sleeveless stuff sleeveless ki to logic hi nahee hai koi :)

Ive taken to 3/4 lenght dresses. My parents are fine with it and so is the desi community. You see - they all think Im a sikhni :bummer: