I agree with ata, by the way have you tallked with your mother about all your worries, i advice you to do that, your mother seem to be a very wise women and I think she will guide you the rite way. And do also meet the guy and have a tallk with him.
*Originally posted by diyah: *
hi mahnoor,
I agree with ata, by the way have you tallked with your mother about all your worries, i advice you to do that, your mother seem to be a very wise women and I think she will guide you the rite way. And do also meet the guy and have a tallk with him.
oor humain yaqeen hay woh bacha jumhora kamble hi ho jay ga.
u r welcome :D mahnoor budhi ho rahee ho shadi ker lo yaar :p acha katal mat kerna mera, na kero per canada tou aa jao, aaja tujh ko pukarien mere geet re sniff :p
Well to those who care!
As many of you suggested on meeting him. So I did. His family was invited for dinner this past weekend. A very nice guy with good educational backgroud. Way more understanding than i was expecting him to be. But one thing that I couldn’t stand him talk about is How much he dislikes pakistan…
Some of you might find this not a big of a deal but to me it was. Just because he has been here for so long does not mean he should forget where he came from
Once I heard his rude comments about Pakistan. I just knew this wasn’t for me. So I just stayed polite for the rest of the evening until they left. Oh yah I found his mother to be a very pleasant women. And then I told my mom straight up the issue. And she understood like always…
so end of the story!!! glad to be over it. so what do you guys say?
what a shame... if he was nice in every other way - couldnt you talk about the reasons for his dislikes?????
anyways - what happens - happens for the best.
Chin up girl... every girl meets the right one - it just takes some of us longer... we all get there in the end :)
I dont really know you, but after reading ur thread, I can kinda tell that ur a nice sensitive person, and mashallah ur mum must be a very strong woman, its not easy leaving everything for the man u love. My advice to u would be to not stress too much about it, trust me, every girl goes through it, and i know its not easy leaving ur house and joining another family. But we donot live in the stoneage anymore, so make sure wen u finaly get hitched, its someone ur comfortable with. And talk as much as you can to the person, get to know him, his likes, his dislikes, his goals n ideas etc. before you make a decision. dont get into any family pressure, its your life, and you should also consider what you think about the guy. I,m sure whatever the decision may be, ur parents and every1 else will understand.
Goodluck! :)
I dont really know how we did it - I guess it was just time to ACCEPT that she was my brother’s wife… and we included her in everything.. and she became a part of us.
Mahnoor – Do you suppose he’s just had some really bad experience with Pakistan/Pakistanis? I can understand how you feel – that kind of narrow-mindedness would annoy me too. But perhaps it came off worse than it actually is.
Or perhaps I’m just biased cuz I’m from Maryland too .
*Originally posted by Mem Saab: *
what a shame... if he was nice in every other way - couldnt you talk about the reasons for his dislikes?????
anyways - what happens - happens for the best.
Chin up girl... every girl meets the right one - it just takes some of us longer... we all get there in the end :)
Well there were some other things that contributed to my decision it wasn't just that, but I don't want to say it in public as he might read it here and hate me for it, which I doubt it caz' he hates being a Pakistani!!! so he wouldnt come here
Mahnoor, Glad its over peacefully and wasnt that horrifying as you thought it would be. your love for your country is a sweet emotion and its great that your mom understood. Hope some patriotic fellow soon cross your way and he also has all the plusses that other guy had. Best of luck to you.
interesting post.. well what can I say mahnoor.. I have nothing but respect and appreciation for what your mother did, but to tell you the truth that's a requirement to keep a relationship strong. Sometimes both, but most of the times one of the partners' has to put in and compromise. However, all what matters is the 'result' of sacrifising and going through pain.. and that result is you and your siblings mahnoor.. and i believe that result is good ..it's a reward. Pain makes the life difficult, but it teaches us the difference between 'breathing' and truly 'living' .......... as some poet said...
chala jata hoon hansta khelta moj-e-hawadis se
agar aasaniyaan hoon, zindagi dushwar ho jaye
moj-e-hawadis = high tide, storm (difficulty)
is liye.. be happy insha'Allah everything will be alright :)