I think the govt. is not pro-urdu it is pro-english. Urdu as a language will fade away in half a century...
yeh lo jee…
nayee baat suno…
there is hardly any country in the world where urdu is not spoken…
and u think it will disappear in 50 years…
Edited
Edited
Edited
kindly detail the particular villages in pakistan that you've visited, where people did not understand urdu, and the percentage of people there who have the foggiest idea what you're on about if you speak to them in arabic.
personally speaking, living in three out of the four pakistani provinces, and 4 years in a remote-ish nwfp village (topi, swabi): urdu is the closest thing we have to a lingua franca.
:rocketup:
stop bashing urdu
its the language i have grown up speaking n talk to in all the time arrite koi us ko kuch na kahay warnaaaaa ![]()
and who says its not part of our culture??? like…helllloooooooooo!!! you need to be a bit more in touch with reality!!! ![]()
like what language is our national anthem in?
what language is iqbal’s poetry in? ghalib’s?
most songs n drams on ptv?
most notices on roads etc in pakistan?
pakistani newspapers online?
govt forms?
national assembly n senate ka ijlaas?
regional languages are very important yeah n no doubt the first qudrati love will always be for the regional language .. its something special .. like even if i cant speak it that fluently i have a special love for punjabi coz my family speaks it n i feel like its my language my identity no matter what…
BUT
national language is very important…how r people from different provinces going to talk to each other otherwise…???
u know how different sindhi is from like ummm pashto…if a sindhi from like lets say nawabshah meets a pakhtoon from lets say mardan in a big city like khi or lhr or isb, how r they gona talk to each other???
MULK O MILLAT KI AAN HAY URDU
APNI QAUMI ZABAN HAI URDU
Edited
exactly, irem.
i highly doubt anyone who has spent any amount of time living in pakistan can underestimate the central role urdu plays in binding the extraordinarily diverse ethnicities we have in pakistan.
balochi immigrants in muscat, who emigrated decades ago when gwadar became a part of pakistan, speak urdu in muscat when communicating with us.
i used to teach (pashtun) students in topi as part of a social work program in my university. whereas even basic english is far from being understandable to joe-underdeveloped-area, urdu was the only we could communicate. imagine the impossibility of communication had both of us not known urdu.
without urdu we would jsut be a bunch of different ethnic groups with no means of interaction.
how ridiculous is ARABIC as a language for pakistan?
baaaahhhh my child ![]()
p.s. i like u waise kakay so thats why i am not gona fight with u
so admit it already…URDU is an important part of Pakistani culture
yeah exactly ravage
plus, if u know urdu, u can easily pick up any of the regional languages…
like if u know urdu and have lived in pakistan in a big city, u have interacted with ppl from all ethnicities and usually u can get the gist of ppl talking in any language if u pay a little close attention…
i dont have that skill but many ppl do…like my daddy ji understands almost every dialect spoken in Pakistan
Edited
yeah i too like the idea of having arabic as the official language…all muslim countries should have arabic as official language…
but i suggest to keep urdu alive and present as well…coz i cannot see urdu just disappearing…khudanakhasta
there r too many memories n experiences n incidents attached with it…
its the language i speak in most of the time!!!
I wonder why Pashto does not have a medium place in education, and especially in the media.
pk taz,
Urdu is a wonderful language. there is no way urdu is going away, infact more and more will learn urdu, which I really hope so!!!
my parents tought me urdu, they are urdu/punjabi speaking, for which i am totally gratetful. Now the new generation is teaching urdu to their kids, ive seen it in my own family, the kids are learning to speak urdu rather than punjabi.
so its a fact that urdu is a modern language and its much easier and softer, there is no way this language is going anywhere.
so better get used to the idea.