I mean there are so many inter racial marriages between black and white people around the world, why not between pakistani/indian and black people too?
To be honest our cultures probably match alot more and there are many many black muslims around.
Re: Why is there so much racial tension between asian and black people?
I mean there are so many inter racial marriages between black and white people around the world, why not between pakistani/indian and black people too?
One reason is that they belong to the same society. I would take the comparison in question, between white with black bs asian with black, in consideration if white if from USA and black is from Kenya or Nigeria.
In the uk ive seen a few nigerian white marriages thats why im asking because things seem to be shifting quite alot.
Also the african americans or the second generation black people in the uk are equal to second generation indian pakistanis arent they? hence from same society so why the racial tension?
also i wish i could change the title of this thread i forgot asian across the pond means oriental so people might get confused!
Ok seriously, the stuff (and I mean the stuff :faizy) that black people like, we lack - so its not that we dont want to marry them, its them who dont want to marry us.
Eh I've never had a problem with the Black brothers in the UK. I got along with them very well. Hell, I went out with a couple of Black girls. One of them looked like Lauryn Hill (Before Lauryn Hill decided to let herself go).
Honestly I think its racism that's been passed down through the generations. Its funny because I'm pretty sure we have more in common with the Blacks in general than the English Whites. Specifically to do with the racism both races have suffered. I think its important for us to engage with Black communities and not get hung up on stereotypes. I know there are race specific problems in the UK to do with Black and Asian communities but like I said, engage and discuss.
I worked a lot with some local musicians to do with the underprivileged black communities around the South London area. We were tackling the gang problems and the increase in Desi and Black youngsters joining youth gangs and engaging in criminal activity. Sure there's loads of White kids too but those were our target. They're just ordinary people. Nothing different about them and us except our skin colour.
Dude what the hell? Did you really say that?
its not the women they have a problem with
and most Races dislike pakistani men. We shouldn't isolate the Blacks for their good taste.
Last time I checked, Pakistani men were doing pretty good for themselves.
Pakistanis to apni zaat se bahar shaadi nahi karte, aap country se tau kya race se bahar shadi ki baat kar rahe hain? :p
On a serious note, how is that racial tension? You don't have to marry the other race to prove that you have nothing against them. It's not that hard to understand why interracial marriages are still uncommon. If I was to ask GSers who their best friend is, most will answer someone from their own cultural background. That doesn't mean they're racists. I have a black friend who I adore but she can't compare to a desi saheli y'know? It's only natural that we gel better with someone from our own culture. What do we have in common with the black people (excluding religion)? We come from different continents altogether! Why don't desis marry chinese muslims or egyptians or hispanics etc? Because its got nothing to do with skin colour, it all boils down to how much you share in common which can have effect on the compatibility. That's not to say interracial marriages don't happen, they're increasing now among the desis living abroad.
coz listening to lines like “yo wassup sasu ma” & “susar je, yo ma man” might be injurious to health?
on serious note: most of the interests & living style of blacks and Pakistanis/Indians is mutually exclusive hence its very rare to see two of them together. Only thing common in some Pakistani and blk youth is showing their pink simpson’s underwear
i've experienced racism from a black person on 2 seperate occasions, the chavvy uneducated types are likely to be racist towards south asians i feel, just as the chavvy uneducated white types too. Can't imagine marrying or them marrying any of us.
However, in contradiction to this thread, my uncle is married to a black lady. they have 2 sweet kids. my uncle's mother is very traditional culture wise but she accepted it pretty much straight away.
Pakistanis to apni zaat se bahar shaadi nahi karte, aap country se tau kya race se bahar shadi ki baat kar rahe hain? :p
On a serious note, how is that racial tension? You don't have to marry the other race to prove that you have nothing against them. It's not that hard to understand why interracial marriages are still uncommon. If I was to ask GSers who their best friend is, most will answer someone from their own cultural background. That doesn't mean they're racists. I have a black friend who I adore but she can't compare to a desi saheli y'know? It's only natural that we gel better with someone from our own culture. What do we have in common with the black people (excluding religion)? We come from different continents altogether! Why don't desis marry chinese muslims or egyptians or hispanics etc? Because its got nothing to do with skin colour, it all boils down to how much you share in common which can have effect on the compatibility. That's not to say interracial marriages don't happen, they're increasing now among the desis living abroad.
What I mean by racial tension is, if a desi child only had a choice of marrying a white person and black person I think the parents would prefer the white person from what i have observed/heard.
Also......My closest friends arent pakistanis even though I know lots of pakistani people.
From what I have experienced in the UK, in London if you go near the ghetto council estates you will get some serious abuse being Gora /desi on the Black estates. Having grown up in Bradford though equally if a Gora/ black person wandered onto a dumb ass council estate full of mirupi you would encounter just as much abuse due to the wrong clothes/colour skin/religion/ not watching zee tv 24/7.
What I mean by racial tension is, if a desi child only had a choice of marrying a white person and black person I think the parents would prefer the white person from what i have observed/heard.
Also......My closest friends arent pakistanis even though I know lots of pakistani people.
What you've described can't even be called racial tension. I do know that asian/desi people tend to find lighter complexion more attractive, so probably that's why they'd be more inclined to marry a white person over black. However, this doesn't mean that they don't get along with black people or they have any problem with them based on their race/ethnicity.