Why is that

as soon as a girl reaches the age of 20 or is in the early 20s,she is considered old enough to be married?:hmmm:

Re: Why is that

Because it is a marriageable age. :)

and what's wrong in it if a girl is in early 20s and not married?

well first is k she is in a maragiable age, aur secondly its mostly for the benifit of the parents .. k every parent wants their daughter and son .. to be married whilst they are alive .. and lets say k they are a number of bros and sis ..and for all of em to be married ..whilst in their parents presence … the system has to begin at an early age ..for the kids ..

well thas what i think so ..aur Islam mein bhi yeh hi hai .. k one of the duties as a parent is to get their sons and daughters marrried off in their liftime. lekin aaj khal ka zamaana hi kuch aisa hai k no one bothers about even involving the parents .. baaahir baahir saara kaam kar k ghar aatey hein ..and then tell the parents i know a few ppl like that … to thas when question such as above arise … cos if your gonna do it any time ..no one cares about age and aprents ..:hmmm:

Like iggle said, because it is the marriageable age.

There is nothing wrong with an unmarried girl of that age or any age for that matter since it is a matter of personal preferences.

For the most part, it is cultural thing. Good or bad, it is there.

Nothing wrong about it at all. :)

There are standards/ranges set by society. However, individuality cannot and should not be ignored. Marriage is a huge life-altering decision. It's not wise to make such a decision when you don't feel ready or mature enough to handle the responsibilities that come with marriage. So you should get married when you as an individual feel you're ready for it. For some that is at age 20, for some it's 25. And I also believe that everyone has their own unique destiny and there is a time for everything. And when the times comes, inshaAllah things will fall into place.

^^^^^^^^^^^ Am I seeing things?????????????? Are you back?!?!?! HUGS!

Nicely put. :slight_smile:

very well said! :k:

By age 20+ girls have matured. Parents are afraid if they dont get them married by then they will go off and get involved in something or someone that is not good for them. Also by age 20+ girls are either about to graduate or have already graduated college.

Everyone sets their own standards as to when a girl should get married. IMO those standards should be set for the individual person and not as a whole. If I have a daughter that is easily influenced by her friends and isnt doing so well in school...I would be more likely to get her married early on as oppose to my daughter who is doing well in school and has a good head on her shoulders.

I hate feminists.

Waterfall, is this your way of telling us you're ready for a mate?

have you not heard of families proposing marriage for junior high school/HS-age girls? :aq:

I turned 23 this jan and i am not married yet. I do believe that early marriages (though not like early early but like minimum age of females 21, males 25) are a good idea for the reasons given in Islam. But at the same time i do believe that if you think you are not ready then you shouldnt go for it. LIke rite now i dont feel i am ready to take on new responsiblities on new changes in life so i think i need some time to be ready for that new part of my part. So i think there is no harm in waiting either.

It really depends from individual to individual.

Forget 20...I was marriageable when I was 15 years old. My parents laughed but my grandparents didnt...they wanted me married to a cousin in Pakistan ASAP.

Like RV said, the age for marriage is different for everyone. Some people are ready at 20 and others are ready 25 and others even older then that. If you're ready, you meet the right person then do it. If not, then dont. Dont feel forced because of society's preconceived ideas.

AGREED 110 percent .

Yes