why should the marriage in muharram be harram. i mean what is the significance of it.
I really don't know.. I didn't knew it's haram in muharam...
I hope somebody can clarify it.
y should there be ne restriction on marrying in muharram?
my guess is prolly cuz of the mourning the shi’ite community go through, prolly part of their beliefs. who knows
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif
Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.
Ï Pray OüR Ðïvïñë £ñtïtÿ Tö FöRgïvë Më, Ï A§k Yöü Tö FöRgïvë Më Oñlÿ Ïñ Hope To §©öü® Thë Hëävëñ§.
Who says its forbidden?
Marrying in Muharrum is not forbidden, except for the shi'ites. I know few of my relatives who got married on 10th of Muharram...
You see, one thing is, I can live with doubt and uncertainty and
not knowing. I think it's much more interesting to live not knowing
than to have answers which might be wrong.
I don't feel frightened not knowing things, by being lost in a
mysterious universe without any purpose, which is the way it really is as far as I can tell. It doesn't frighten me.
I don't think marriage is haraam in moharram. In many societies, including Pakistan, muslims do not generally marry in Moharram out of deferrence to the shi'ite community, because shi'ites are in a state of mourning during the month of Moharram.
At one time, just to prove this point, Dr Israr Ahmed married his son (or daughter) right on 10 Moharram, and a lot of people considered it a bad choice.
To each his own.
as people said its not haraam to marry in Muharram....
infact there is no time/day/month when marriage or other activity is haraam....
killing and fighting (wars) is not allowed in the "ash'har-al-hurum" and Muharram is one of those 4 months when killing or blood-shedding is not allowed....
"Our Lord! forgive us our sins and anything we may have done that transgressed our duty; establish our feet firmly and help us against those that resist faith." **Quran(3:147)
Muharram marraiges in Pakitan normally do not happen as there is no way they can do the hoo-haa i.e. mehndi/mayoon.. the hindu practices .. during muharram..
as the Shi'a would come and beat the heck out of you.. well not really.. more to do with being a good neighbour.. and not trampling on others feelings.
oh yeah.. my cuzz just got marries yesterday .. in muharram.. so just proving that they are not haraam.
In arabian countries they actually encourage it to be held in Muharram as it is a holy month.
[This message has been edited by blackzero (edited March 24, 2002).]
Wedding in the month of Moharram is not haraam. Desi people just dont do it because they want to respect its historic and importance. But for shia's, i have heard its haraam thought I am not sure. I know few relatives who are so much against shia's that they got their kids wedding on 9th or 10th Muharram. Anyways, its not haraam but if u do wanna get married then u better do it quitely with no halla gulla cuz we should not hurt other people's feeling just for our whims and desires.. :)
"One mood, all the time"
Is it haram to like something that the holy prophet (pbuh) of islam hated ?
If your answer to that is yes, then you will realize that on the 10th of Muharram, the grandson of the holy prophet (pbuh) was brutally massacred by the Yazidite forces.
The prophet's (pbuh) saying that "Hussain is from me and I am from Hussain" is a well documented hadith in our ahl-sunnat hadith books.
To celebrate a wedding on a day when the blood of the prophet's (pbuh) family was spilt shows exactly how much respect one has for the holy prophet (pbuh) and his family.
It is stated in quran-e-majid that the holy prophet (pbuh) asked nothing in return for his apostleship except love of his kindred. And here, we talk of no other kindred other then Hazrat Imam Hussain (as), who the prophet (pbuh) took and loved as his (pbuh) own son. An individual who sacrificed his life and family for our Islam.
To pick the month of Muharram for marraige, especially the 9th and 10th day, is especially despicable when any of the other 330 days could have been chosen.
May Allah (swt) save us from any action that would anger our prophet (pbuh).
(The Wizard in Grey)
[This message has been edited by Gandalf (edited March 24, 2002).]
It is stated in quran-e-majid that the holy prophet (pbuh) asked nothing in return for his apostleship except love of his kindred
be so kind and give us a reference. Thanks a lot.
There is No Spoon
A simple question for the ppl who been answering to this thread, Do they agree that Hazrat Imam Hussain and Imam Hasan (AS) R "The Sardaran-e-jannat" !!!
Just yes or No!!
It doesnt matter in the end does it? But I wouldnt marry in Muharram NOT for respecting Shia ect. But because I respect the ahlul-bayt and wouldnt dare dream of celebrating on the day of thier greatest sorrow.....
Originally posted by Shah Jahan:
It doesnt matter in the end does it? But I wouldnt marry in Muharram NOT for respecting Shia ect. But because I respect the ahlul-bayt and wouldnt dare dream of celebrating on the day of thier greatest sorrow.....
hmmm do your respect them more than the Prophet himself???
why do people marry in the month the Prophet died?? Wasn't it a day of greatest sorrow for the entire Ummah??
There is No Spoon
Originally posted by mm10:
A simple question for the ppl who been answering to this thread, Do they agree that Hazrat Imam Hussain and Imam Hasan (AS) R "The Sardaran-e-jannat" !!!
Just yes or No!!
** Do you agree that Hadhrat 'Aisha (May Allah be pleased with her ) is the Mother of All Believers (Umm al-Mu'mineen) and was also the most beloved wife of the Holy Prophet (S) ?
Do you agree that Hadhrat Abu Bakr (R) was the best friend of the Holy Prophet (S) ?
Do not try to use emotional blackmailing to justify your beliefs.
Making a law that marrying in Muharram is haraam is bid'ah.
Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad:
** be so kind and give us a reference. Thanks a lot.
Hi,
There are actually 3 verses in quran-e-majid which talks of loving the prophet's (pbuh) family and the reward that we will get for that. They are the following:
[Shakir 42:23] Say: I do not ask of you any reward for it but love for my near relatives; and whoever earns good, We give him more of good therein; surely Allah is Forgiving, Grateful.
[Shakir 34:47] Say: Whatever reward I have asked of you, that is only for yourselves; my reward is only with Allah, and He is a witness of all things.
[Shakir 25:57] Say: I do not ask you aught in return except that he who will, may take the way to his Lord.
Also, as a natural extension of this topic, a muslim who loves the holy prophet (pbuh) would not get married or hold a marriage ceremony on the death anniversary of the prophet of islam as well. This goes without saying.
We, as muslims, should also realize the brutally of the killings that the Syrian forces inflicted in Hazrat Imam Hussain (as). The sacrifice of Hazrat Imam Hussain (as) and his family for the religion of Allah and his grandfather (pbuh) are unmatched in Islam.
As members of ahl-sunnat, it is our duty to give the utmost respect to our beloved prophet (pbuh) and to his beloved family.
----The Wizard speaks on when necessary----
Originally posted by Gandalf:
** Hi,
There are actually 3 verses in quran-e-majid which talks of loving the prophet's (pbuh) family and the reward that we will get for that. They are the following:
[Shakir 42:23] Say: I do not ask of you any reward for it but love for my near relatives; and whoever earns good, We give him more of good therein; surely Allah is Forgiving, Grateful.
[Shakir 34:47] Say: Whatever reward I have asked of you, that is only for yourselves; my reward is only with Allah, and He is a witness of all things.
[Shakir 25:57] Say: I do not ask you aught in return except that he who will, may take the way to his Lord.
Also, as a natural extension of this topic, a muslim who loves the holy prophet (pbuh) would not get married or hold a marriage ceremony on the death anniversary of the prophet of islam as well. This goes without saying.
We, as muslims, should also realize the brutally of the killings that the Syrian forces inflicted in Hazrat Imam Hussain (as). The sacrifice of Hazrat Imam Hussain (as) and his family for the religion of Allah and his grandfather (pbuh) are unmatched in Islam.
As members of ahl-sunnat, it is our duty to give the utmost respect to our beloved prophet (pbuh) and to his beloved family.
----The Wizard speaks on when necessary----**
brother \,
the first ayah i will look at and then reply. the other two are, in no way, related to this particular topic.
as far as the respect of the family of muhammad(pbuh) is concerned, they should be respected.but what i really asked was if it was harram on the tenth of muharram to marry.. to me the answer should be NO... the thing is that if you do not want to marry on that day is simply another thing.. let me show you by an example...
lets say you do not eat beef due to illness or something.. than you won't eat it, right..but that does not make it harram..
and what about the verse that says that what Allah has made halal, do not make them haram(I did not quote it, just the meaning. i guess everyone knows what i am talking about).
Muhammad Asad
[Ash-Shura 42:23]... Say: "No reward do I ask of you for this other than love your fellow-men.
Muhammad Asad's Commentary
"Love for those who are near (al-qurba)". Some commentators take this to mean "those who are near to me, i.e., Muhammad's kinsfolk: but quite apart from the objection that such a "personal" demand would conflict with the preceding assurance, "No reward do I ask of you", the deliberate omission of any possessive pronoun in respect of the term al-qurba indicates that it is not limited to any personal relationship but, rather, alludes to a relationship common to all *human beings: namely the fellowship of man *- a concept which implies the fundamental ethcical postulate of care for one another's material and spiritual welfare.
There is No Spoon
[This message has been edited by PakistaniAbroad (edited March 25, 2002).]
Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad:
***Muhammad Asad*
[Ash-Shura 42:23]... Say: "No reward do I ask of you for this other than love your fellow-men.
Muhammad Asad's Commentary
"Love for those who are near (al-qurba)". Some commentators take this to mean "those who are near to me, i.e., Muhammad's kinsfolk: but quite apart from the objection that such a "personal" demand would conflict with the preceding assurance, "No reward do I ask of you", the deliberate omission of any possessive pronoun in respect of the term al-qurba indicates that it is not limited to any personal relationship but, rather, alludes to a relationship common to all *human beings: namely the fellowship of man *- a concept which implies the fundamental ethcical postulate of care for one another's material and spiritual welfare.
I would have to disagree with you here. Ibn Hajr in Sawa-iq, chapter 11, page 160 and Ibn Sad in Tabaqat in the account of Umar bin Khattab have accepted that the near relatives of the Holy Prophet are the Ahl ul Bayt. The same opinion is found in Tafsir Kashaf, Sahih Muslim, Musnad ibn Hanbal and Tafsir Durr al Manthur.
A large number of narratives reported by the most reliable authorities of the Islamic history prove that this verse was revealed in Madina after the births of Hazrat Imam Hasan and Hazrat Imam Husayn.
Yousuf Ali has also translated this verse with a similar meaning:
[Yusufali 42:23] Say: "No reward do I ask of you for this except the love of those near of kin." And if any one earns any good, We shall give him an increase of good in respect thereof: for Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Ready to appreciate (service).
(The Wizard in Grey)
Originally posted by jaanaan:
** brother \,
the first ayah i will look at and then reply. the other two are, in no way, related to this particular topic.
as far as the respect of the family of muhammad(pbuh) is concerned, they should be respected.but what i really asked was if it was harram on the tenth of muharram to marry.. to me the answer should be NO... the thing is that if you do not want to marry on that day is simply another thing.. let me show you by an example...
lets say you do not eat beef due to illness or something.. than you won't eat it, right..but that does not make it harram..
and what about the verse that says that what Allah has made halal, do not make them haram(I did not quote it, just the meaning. i guess everyone knows what i am talking about). **
Janaan,
There is definitely a link between all 3 verses. To state again, verse 34:47 reads:
The Holy Prophet had no other motive except to guide mankind on the right path. In verse 42:23, Allah commanded the Holy Prophet to say: "Say: I do not ask of you any reward for it but love for my near relatives; and whoever earns good, We give him more of good therein; surely Allah is Forgiving, Grateful.
This verse makes it clear that the purpose and meaning of the prophet's demand, as a return for the completion of the duties of prophethood, was for the people's own benefit. If they love his nearest of kin, who are the ones thoroughly purified by Allah (Ahzab: 33), they would always be on the right path to salvation by following the example of the Ahl ul Bayt (see commentary of Shura: 23).
This verse asserts that the Holy Prophet had asked for a recompense, as an exception to the general course followed by the preceding prophets, but the recompense requested was only in the people's interest, as explained in the commentary of Sad: 86 and 87.
May be my shia brothers can explain it better.
(The Wizard in Grey)
My understanding is from the ahl-sunnat stand point and may be the shia brothers on this forum can shed some light on this, but it is my understanding that shias do not say that it is HARAAM to hold marriages in Muharram. It is, however, highly not recommended, in light of the treachery that was committed in Karbala during the month of Muharram.
Also, I found the following verdict from a Shia Mujtahid, who clearly describes when Marriage is allowed:
- THE TIME OF MARRIAGE
(A) When to marry?
Are there any special days in the Islamic calendar when marriage is encouraged or discouraged? Basically marriage is allowed at all times. However, there are some days on which marriage is not recommended; some of these are based on ahadith and some on cultural, historical reasons.
Generally, we can categorize these days into three: (a) There are some ahadith which say that it is makruh (not recommended) to have a marriage ceremony on the days when the moon is in the constellation of the Scorpio (this is known as al-qamar fil aqrab or qamar dar aqrab), during the last two or three days of the lunar months, and on Wednesdays. (b) There are some ahadith which say that certain days of each month are ill omen days (nahas); these days are the 3rd, 5th, 13th, 16th, 21st, 24th and 25th of lunar months.
However, the ahadith for both the above categories would not stand the scrutiny of the scholars of hadith. Our mujtahids do not normally apply their full expertise in matters not related to obligatory or prohibitive commands. They relax the criteria for acceptability of ahadith in matters related to sunnat and makruh acts. This is not done out of negligence or lack of interest, it is done on the basis of a widely accepted rule in usulu'l-fiqh (the Principles of Jurisprudence) known as qa'idatu't-tasamuh, that is, the rule of leniency (in ascertaining the acceptability of hadith). (For more information on qa'idatu't-tasamuh, the specialist readers may refer to as-Sadr, Durus fi 'Ilmi 'l-Usul, vol. 2 p 204 and vol. 3 (part 1) p 258 and an-Naraqi's 'Awa'idu 'l-Ayyam, pp. 269-271.)
This has been mentioned very clearly by Ayatullah al-Khu'i in his manual of fatwas. He says, "Most of the mustahab acts mentioned in the chapters of this book are based on the qa'idatu't-tasamuh in sources of the sunnat acts. Therefore, whatever has not been proved as sunnat in our view should be done with intention of raja'il matlubiyyah. The same applies to the makruh acts; these should be abstained from with the intention of raja'il matlubiyyah." (Minhaj, vol. 1, p. 14. Raja'i 'l-matlubiyyah means doing something not because it is sunnat but with the intention that it might be expected of us to do so. )
As far as the two categories for marriage days are concerned, it will suffice to quote Ayatullah Gulpaygani, one of the leading mujtahids of our time who says: "One may follow these mustahab and makruh acts with the intention of raja'il matlubiyyah, because there is no clear evidence for some of these things." (See his annotations on al-'Urwatu 'l-Wuthqa, p. 623. )
(c) There are certain days of the Islamic calendar which have become associated with the early events of the Islamic history; for example, the 10th of Muharram is the day of mourning for the massacre at Karbala or the day of the Prophet's death in Safar, etc. Since such days are commemorated by the Muslims as days of mourning, it is socially and, to some extent, religiously not recommended to have a marriage ceremony on such days.
Again, shia brothers and sisters can may be explain this issue better.
Allah knows Best.
(The Wizard in Grey)