Why Imran Khan?

The question is, if not him, who else? My choice is based on lesser evil strategy :stuck_out_tongue:

Consider the alternatives:

PML(N) … blunders, mismanagement, emotional decisions and greed for absolute power. Twice had a good opportunity to perform at national level and could not deliver. Had opportunity to deliver at provincial level at many times, cannot deliver. Ideally, PTI and PML(N) should have negotiated and struck a deal regarding cleaning up of the current system and working together. Unfortunately, egos on both sides and PML(N) losing favor of the boots wouldn’t let this happen. PML(N) is still better than PPP in that they are corrupt, but they invest the looted money in the country, at least creating jobs. I feel they are a little bit more concerned about national interest in major decision making than PPP as well.

PPP … RIP, Pakistan? A ‘democratic’ party that appoints its chairman based on will of a deceased person. Treats Pakistan’s assets as ‘Family and Friends’ package from mobilink. Epitome of corruption and nepotism.

MQM… google, "MQM returns to government’ and LOL. Rental mercenaries, recently used well by Rehman Malik (almashor daktar peace).

Allegations on Imran:

Establishment support: There is some evidence of that and I am willing to assume he does. But then, Zardari currently enjoys it, NS had it for years and their performance is for all to see. Nawaz Sharif had establishment support + 2/3 majority and he still felt insecure and would try to kill any opposition.

Corruption: Misusing public funds designated for SKMT Hospital for his political purposes? Ah, well, better than or at least equal to rental power projects of financing sugar mills with public money.

Inexperienced political team: We did allow Benazir to rule us when she had hardly lived in the country for substantial period of time. More ‘experienced’ politician generally means he/she knows more loopholes and ways to generate personal wealth and power.

Liar and hypocrite: Lets assume he is. Find me an honest politician. Those in PML or PPP and keep quiet on what their leaders do are equally responsible.

==========

The idea is that whatever you claim he is, he cannot be worse than the current lot. Worst case: he is as corrupt as the current crop of ‘leaders’, which makes no difference if I vote for him or another guy.

I don’t think he can ‘win’ elections any time soon. I don’t even expect him to accomplish whatever he claims he would do if miraculously he does come into power. I at least believe he would show a little more sympathy than our current leaders while raping my country.

Re: Why Imran Khan?

If you are willing to have this discussion on issue to issue bases ( by that i mean comparing all of them based on issues and circumstances) then i shall take part, other than that i think i would be spoiling your thread...

Im not very touchy about MY threads. Go on.

But i am about the discussion i have, and i certainly do not want to take part in another discussion telling me how many kids he have or how great he is...

bhai ghabratay kion hain. I am admitting he could be as corrupt as anyone else, as big a liar as we have as president. Things might not change a little bit even if he gets a majority in the parliament. Nothing great about him.

But then, voting for anyone else would result in the same. I'll just do my civic duty and vote, and since I have to vote, why not for the person how 'might might might' just be a little bit better than the current lot?

We have seen all other politicians. So there is no harm to try him. At least it will take some time to reach the level of Zardari (u know what i mean ;) )

you mean we are ready to bite again becoz we are addicted to be bite:D:

Using same logic, why not go for PML-N? true that they were in national govt twice but this is also true that both time they were sent home by Generals... they weren't allowed to complete their tenure, so how can you blame them.... in their limited tenure, they have done some development work and who knows if they had chance to complete their tenure, they might have the country in better position..

If "May be" and "Might" is the starting assumption, then why not give the benefit to PML-N... when we know that Shahbaz Sharif was at his best when he was having all the support from federation back in late 90s...

Why Not give a chance to someone who knows how to tackle the powerful bureaucracy? and who will not be dictated by the military regime ( the last two govt of PML-N was thrown out by the generals, one with KakaR Formula and 2nd by Mushy Formula)

Moreover, why should i vote for PTI? when i look at PTI, what do i see, most rejected, corrupt and LOTA politicians who have no chance of getting ticket from PPP or PML-N and PTI's leadership rejoicing on their joining saying we got electables??? what would be the difference?

We all slander Mushy to death, but the truth is, in his first 3 years he did performed very well, his team not-known by the masses but performed well in those days when Pakistan was suffering from all kind of restrictions/embargoes etc, it is being said that (and evident from what we have seen) His decline in performance started when he made PML-Q and MMA his team... and now we see same people around IK... makes me think twice

bhai galiyaaN khanay ka koy aisa shoq nahi hay mujhay aur MashaAllah say app key party iss maiN Yad-e-tola rakhti hay

Well people are free to vote for anyone in a democracy and that includes PPP and PMLN, whatever you or I will say people will decide based upon their Conscience, political affiliation, biradri system, jageerdar etc. As far as NS being fired by two army chief's is concerned, NS over the past many years has shown that he cant work in a team. He had problems with the COAS and Ghulam Ishaq Khan, and hence was sent home. Benazir was sent home by the same president which N league had supported at that time. The second time he fired Musharraf and the army was not properly onboard hence he was fired again. He struck a deal with Musharraf and went to suroor palace, became part of ARD with peoples party, left ARD and formed/joined APDM. On the plat form of APDM it was decided to boycott the elections, and in three days NS went back on his words hence effectively laying APDM on bed.

If "May be" and "Might" is the starting assumption, then why not give the benefit to PML-N... when we know that Shahbaz Sharif was at his best when he was having all the support from federation back in late 90s...

Why Not give a chance to someone who knows how to tackle the powerful bureaucracy? and who will not be dictated by the military regime ( the last two govt of PML-N was thrown out by the generals, one with KakaR Formula and 2nd by Mushy Formula)

Well why Shahbaz sharif's performance was better when his brother was ruling the country? Cant he work in a team? In the next elections too, I dont see PMLN forming governments in all provinces. PMLN made the Lahore-Islamabad Motorway, but as far as development in Punjab is concerned that was mostly carried out in Lahore. If development is the criteria of good governance then Musharraf made Gwadar Port, started work on Diamir Bhasha and other dams, thousands of kilometers of roads were made. Even in Punjab the difference could be felt. Even Pervaiz Elahi started 1122, and carried out more development work than the sharif's. Mind you for Pervaiz Elahi bhai jaan was not sitting in PM or president position. The problem with Shahbaz sharif is that he does not believe in teamwork like his big brother, he has 16 ministries, local government system which is required to take the development to the grass root level has been demolished. If PMLN had some reservations about the system it should have been changed to remove the flaws, but no since it was initiated by Musharraf the enemy it was removed.

Moreover, why should i vote for PTI? when i look at PTI, what do i see, most rejected, corrupt and LOTA politicians who have no chance of getting ticket from PPP or PML-N and PTI's leadership rejoicing on their joining saying we got electables??? what would be the difference?

No one is asking you to vote PTI, by all means vote for PMLN thats your right. As far as lota politicians joining PTI is concerned, who is Zahid Hamid and on whose basis is Punjab government ruling? A few days back Nawaz Sharif has given amnesty to all lotas to join back PMLN.

We all slander Mushy to death, but the truth is, in his first 3 years he did performed very well, his team not-known by the masses but performed well in those days when Pakistan was suffering from all kind of restrictions/embargoes etc, it is being said that (and evident from what we have seen) His decline in performance started when he made PML-Q and MMA his team... and now we see same people around IK... makes me think twice

This point has been covered in the above paragraphs

Who gave right to GHQ to sent home an elected Prime minister?

Have you visited Gujrat? Mandi Bahawuddin, Sialkot. Gujranwala, Sheikhupura, Farooq-abad all the way to Faisalabad in early 90s and then in late 90s?

So if PML-N is doing wrong, PTI must follow?

I am sorry but you have totally missed the point here

yes I did visit Sialkot, Faisalabad, and then at that time we only had GT road to go to islamabad where you had to pass thru gujrat and gujranwala. The roads of all cities were bad, especially sialkot.

^^ And then did you visited the same places in late 90s?

100% agreed here. GHQ under the consititution of Pakistan works under elected PM. If CAOS send the elected PM to home, should be tried with death penalty for subverting the constitution.

and not given a guard of honor and allowed to spend luxurious retirement in London.

I disagree. Imran has never come into the power so there is no evidence that he is evil, less evil or even greater evil. His public/political record is the most cleanliest of all. Heck, these clown jackasses politicians can't even talk about a single case of corruption against him in talk shows.

Imran Khan is best. bas kah diya.

So I guess we are stuck in the obama dilemma vs the 2008 election again? :)

Imran Khan might be more decent in comparison to the rest of the kya kahoons out there, but he's still just a figurehead. Just like Obama was in 2008. Ummeed ki tasveer who didn't live up to the ummeed.

So nothing from OP and Alisyed yet?