social work, psychology and writing arts & education… as a source for social change, why dont males enter these professions?
is it a fear of the unconventional or a self restriction, based on a pre judgement that these are soft sciences, and that “real” men must not enter them, or they are afraid of the competetion from women in these fields?
Re: why dont Pakistani or Muslim Men enter Social Sciences now a days?
Dush
Question should be changed to "Why these social and humanistic sciences are being abandoned on a global scale" than just restricting it to Muslim, Pakistani men or projecting it with competition with women.
This is a time where the concept of education has changed from character building moral boasting ethical training to a completely materialistic mode. People find it important what can benefit them materially while anything that deals with the mental, psychological and spiritual well being is being ignored. These sciences play a very important part in the social dynamics of society, which nobody cares about these days. These sciences make a human a human.
My liking of these sceinces is fully evident from my demand of a life partner who is equipped with one of the social sciences like cosiology, psychology etc etc....
well said. i find an agreement in ur statements.
thanks,
dushi
This is a time where the concept of education has changed from character building moral boasting ethical training to a completely materialistic mode. People find it important what can benefit them materially while anything that deals with the mental, psychological and spiritual well being is being ignored. These sciences play a very important part in the social dynamics of society, which nobody cares about these days. These sciences make a human a human.
My liking of these sceinces is fully evident from my demand of a life partner who is equipped with one of the social sciences like cosiology, psychology etc etc....
I did History. :)
And will do my MA in Intl Relations type thing this Sept. :)
Great topic Dush… and something that’s close to my heart.
I personally believe that the unpopularity of social sciences – esp. within the desi community is due to a lack of awareness about the opportunities afforded by various degrees including anthropology, psychology, history, political science etc.
If you ask me, then there’s no better way to gain a broad experience in a set of skills that easily transfer to any career concentration. I wish I had undertaken a social science major along with my software engineering major in my undergraduate studies. During my Ph.D., I realized the advantage that people with social science backgrounds had over others, and today I know how important it is to develop strong critical thinking skills and research skills including modern data and analysis early on in one’s education.
Anyways, coming back to the popularity of an education in social sciences or lack thereof, the main reason for the skepticism about the labor market value of an SS degree that we sometimes hear in the media or from family and friends is the frequent lack of an obvious correspondence between majors and specific jobs.
There are those who think that a Bachelors degree in SS is not enough to find a well-paying job, and to do something worthwhile, students might have to go to graduate school, Law School, the Faculty of Education, or a technical training institute to be competitive for professional employment.
On the contrary though, I recently came across a study conducted by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada which shows that Arts graduates have a high earning potential. From their 20's to their 50's, students that graduate in the Social Sciences see their income rise 106% on average. This compared favorably with a 47% increase in income for community college grads and an average 76% increase for university grads across all fields.
Also, sometimes we’re told that a Bachelor of Arts degree is a waste of time and money. Those who specialize in Engineering, Technology, Science or Commerce are the ones that get the jobs and earn the most money… lekin koi inko yeh bhi samjhaeey key it is impossible to operate an effective corporation in today's world by employing technology graduates alone.
Overall, I think an arts degree in the social sciences is a good ticket to long-term career success because Arts students develop permanent so called "soft" skills in research, analytical-thinking and flexibility and often experience greater workplace variety as a result.
So my longterm future is rosy?
Umar, will you ring my folks and tell them that? :D
For me Social Sciences are boooooring! ..... I only like technical and challenging stuff. Even compared to networking, i enjoy programming.
I’m an English major, you can’t get more “social” than that (or can you
)
see... if you only knew the type of things that social sciences involves, you might think that's challenging too... and yes, this comes from someone who's studied and worked in networking as well as programming.
Once I get my masters, this time next yr I'll be done, can I land a job in California?
I respect your opinion. I am from a higly professional field and yet I think these humanistic sciences have extreem intellectual challanges and reasoning if one understands their importance. I am definitly gonna recommend everyone to consider these as career options.
Good choice Sara516.
Do you have some writting abilities, like writting some articals or any way you express yourself? I guess you should have some…
I’m a writing major.
The english major at my college is broken down into three concentrations: writing, literature, and education (teaching).
I’ve also tried accounting, international relations, studio art, art history, and journalism and religion. THe last three involved lots of writing, so that definitely helped me become a better writer. I’m not sure yet what my second concentration/major will be yet, i’m going to try economics this semester..we’ll see ![]()
he he
well said, Umar Bhai.
let me spill his java beans also. :>
u are Sara and u are a guy?
they are not abandoned by others but i can safely say by most of contemporary generation of males in Muslim countries .
look at social psych:
alll research is by jewish guys - milgrim's prison study, solomon asch study, david myers's studies
and aron aronson studies on race and the impact of holocaust on jews...
& many others.
& so they get to talk and get to present "good things" about their research.
a reason why muslims are not strong in politics and leadership and cannot portray their history all too well, is because there are no firm historians and scholars who are document our history, build a museum, a monument, to be able to reflect on our recent history and its mistakes or triumphs.
we truly need more male muslim writers in social sciences period!
i know there is a journal called Triple IT... a muslims' social scientists' net work institute for islamic intellectuals or something ( i will post the link later),
we have so many social issues, as people who live in societies and have familial as well as work lives.
all these relevant that link various spheres of our lives, have issues which consequently have direct social implications for our societies and their set ups.
why not half of the population should study them? after all,
u guys make up for the fathers of the next lot.
should not u be inputting ur ideas here as well.
okay, let go the father roles.
as a conscientious human being, should u not be working on thinking up better experimental and real life scenarios to validate what works, to quantify, what is a deficit and a ratio-driven lag or excess of one thing over another.
variables and strong s of arguments are in social sciences just as well as they are in ur computer sciences.
u need to train ur minds to think like a social psychology researcher, just like anybody would need practice with math and programming languages, where most of ur time is spent looking for a missing semicolon in a crashed java script query or command, soniyO. :>
Dush
You are very right in your post. I agree to it completely. Very nice points.
^ I am not a man ![]()
Lord have mercy...