Why does Ammi say this?

I just don’t understand parents sometimes.

I was getting ready to go for a walk the other day and my mom wanted to come with me, it was around 6PM. So I put on my sneakers and just some regular clothes and I start applying surma to my eyes because I had just washed my face and what I had on before had washed off. I don’t wear other makeup, just surma. Then Ammi says, “Munni, don’t do that, why do you have to do that?” I stopped in the middle of applying it and asked why, and Ammi said that I shouldn’t wear surma when walking because people are going to look at my eyes. That makes noooooooo senseeeeeeeeeee. Nobody even walks around the neighborhood around that time, and cars cant see that when zipping by. Mujhey samaj mei nahin aaraha hai. So I complained that its just surma and plus people wouldn’t want to look at me anyway with how I look now, and she said ke I don’t know what I am talking about and she knows better than me about these things. afsoos So now I am afraid Ammi is thinking if I wear surma when walking outside on daily walks, it means I want attention to my eyes. But this isn’t trueeeeeeeee, I’ve worn it sooooo many times before during the day when going out and Ammi didn’t say anything, so why is she saying it now? afsoos

Do your parents tell you such things?

Not such minor things. At the most mum will look upset if im wearing a relatively tight/short top or cropped trousers or something revealing which may not be so revealing but in her eyes it is. It doesn;t happen too often though cos i am too conscious about my body to wear bodyhugging clothes.

hmm Moms r always protective Munni

my mom never tells me anything now but when i was liiiiiiiiiitle kid, like very very young, and i just started wearing duapatta with shalwaar kameez mom would tell me to wear dupatta properly when going out

and once we were going to this crowded bazaar and i was gona wear a red shalwar kameez and mom said dont wear that

those r the only times in my life i can remember…

but by now mom lets me do whatever i want :slight_smile: im quite conservative and mature abt these things myself [am i bragging? not the intention] so mom lets me do whatever i want, in fact mom considers me overly conservative :hehe:

i love my mom :hug:
she’s gone out of town these days and im missing her soooo much *sigh

p.s. u wear soormah? i love soormah :slight_smile: i wear it sometimes too

No, my parents don't usually comment on minor things .... unless it's something like my hair colour/style and they don't like it.

I think your mama is just trying to be protective though. You have to admit Munni, you do have really nice eyes. Maybe she just doesn't want attention drawn to them for whatever reason.

I think your moms are just jealous! :D:D:D

I am glad my mom never caught me wearing soorma in my eyes. :blush:

ummm..how old are u? isn't surma sunnat?

What is real surma made of?

lead i believe.not too sure.

that pahaari? is this a trick question?

Yes, my mom hates my shorts.. and the sleeveless gym tee. I am usually told to ‘haya kar mundiya

Munni, she might just be being protective yaar. My parents are exactly the same way: when i wear lip gloss, mascara etc etc. I was actually surprised to read Sahar’s thread and replies on how some mothers actually say you should wear makeup, since mine always says, no dont wear it :smiley: And i dont understand it either , but just try to explain to your mother you dont mean to attract any attention towards you, its for you only. :hugs:

Femme, my mom cant complain about my clothes cause I wear what she makes hehe. phew! I dont know what surma is made of but once my dad told me something really horrific about one of his friends who made a lot of money out of "fake" surma.

irem I am also quite conservative in my dress, but Ammi seems to get worried when I want to put on surma sometimes. Patha nahin kyuN. I think lipstick would attract attention more than surma ever would. And yes I like surma. It makes my eyes look smaller than they are. smile

Mehnaz, I guess so, but then what do I do, never wear anything at all ever? And I do not have nice eyes, baas theek hai Mash'Allah (Allah ka shukar hai). Shukria for your comment though. Youre a chweety. blush

Samael, ji nahin. My mommy lubs me. blush

funguy I have seen some Indian guys wearing surma. Older ones usually.

Aishaaa, I think I did read somewhere that it was done at that time. Dont want to quote though as I dont have the reference wid me.

ahmadjee, my bhabi doesnt like bhaijaan wearing shorts. smile

Ira, hehe, yeah I am surprised too cause my mom wouldnt encourage it either. Although I have heard some moms encourage it so I cant be that surprised anymore. Meine Ammi ne bataya that I dont wear it for others, but sigh.

I sometimes wear surma when going to sleep, and that's every week or every 10 or so days. Ammi doesn't know.

p.s. you are cute munni blush smile giggle

Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
Yes, my mom hates my shorts.. and the sleeveless gym tee. I am usually told to ‘*haya kar mundiya

haha thats cute

munni, i think ur mums just being protective.. :)

i used to wear this string on my right ankle when i was younger and one day mum started telling me off cus someone had said something to her bout it.. it was wierd, so i had to take it off

Don't worry Munni, after you get engaged or married, like Sahar's mum, your mum will ask you to thopa-fy your face w/ make up too :D

Originally posted by Munni: *
And yes I like surma. It makes my eyes look smaller than they are. *smile

well, that's interesting, since in our family they use surma because they believe it makes the eyes look bigger. I don't like to wear it myself, because it reminds me of the horrible experiences of childhood, when my aunties would force it into my eyes. Left me with very watery, irritated eyes, and a cartoonish look. Maybe I don't wear it because I look even more like a cartoon now that I have grown up:D

now where s that thong -obsessed guppy? :hehe:

*Originally posted by Hawapema: *

well, that's interesting, since in our family they use surma because they believe it makes the eyes look bigger. I don't like to wear it myself, because it reminds me of the horrible experiences of childhood, when my aunties would force it into my eyes. Left me with very watery, irritated eyes, and a cartoonish look. Maybe I don't wear it because I look even more like a cartoon now that I have grown up:D

are ya a girly?

yeah parents can be weird at times