Re: Why do you not pray?
Ok, I read it again and still see no hint of shirk anywhere in there. Perhaps you can elaborate where you see any shirk in there.
What is shirk to you?
Associating partners with Allah, such as worshipping somebody else next to Him or in addition to Him. Those things that are reserved for Allah, such as ibaadaat, sacrifices etc, including someone else in that. Without getting into all the technicalities, that's essentially what it consists.
:D Acha. FYI, we should not be commenting on a relationship between two people either if we don't know the dynamics of their relationship. A relationship to God is one of those.
Are you committing shirk, son? You are comparing "anybody" to Allah SWT.
As to OP, even an Atheist could believe in the power of prayer through whatever ideology he/she possesses. I believe in the power of prayer not because I believe in God but because prayers keep us focused on what we want and need. Hence, our prayers result in actions that lead us towards what we wish.
First, atheism isn't an ideology! It's a position on a single question; the existence of deity. One can only believe in prayer, if one believe in deity! Otherwise, to whom or what are you praying?
The original poster has a simple question, with many assumptions: Why do you not pray?
The answer for people who don't pray at all is simple: They aren't believers!
First, atheism isn't an ideology! It's a position on a single question; the existence of deity. One can only believe in prayer, if one believe in deity! Otherwise, to whom or what are you praying?
The original poster has a simple question, with many assumptions: Why do you not pray? The answer for people who don't pray at all is simple: They aren't believers!
You have just answered the question that you posed to me earlier in this thread ...
I never said Atheism is an ideology. I said whatever ideology an Atheist believes in because Atheism is not one ideology.
I said that for a reason.
I didn’t read the entire OP. I know the gist of it. I made a comment about why I believe in the power of prayer as a non-religious person and as someone who doesn’t believe in a religious God. Makes sense? It’s one way to look at why some Atheists could still be atheists and believe in the power of prayer. Does one have to believe in a deity to pray? I don’t think so… There is a lot of power in just wishing for something. It defines our actions, our thought process, our communications, and our outlook in life. Of course, I am not talking about praying to worship God. Someone could be praying all day long but hasn’t spent a minute on Janamaaz or Masjid/mandir/girjah ghar.
The original poster has a simple question, with many assumptions: Why do you not pray? The answer for people who don't pray at all is simple: They aren't believers!
How would you feel if I define atheism who did not practice it one day?
Call it fairy tale.. and run away from thread. When you or some one try to explain ?
Why do I not pray? I'll be very honest with myself, I'm too lazy to do wudhu.
Then dont break it :D
How would you feel if I define atheism who did not practice it one day? Call it fairy tale.. and run away from thread. When you or some one try to explain ?
Atheism is the inherent call for disorder ... By saying that there is no God, then they are also saying that all suggestions of good and evil are subjective, which should then mean that everyone for himself ... Because when there is no commonality then there is selfishness ... Atheism is a mechanism of consumerism ... It is worse than a fairy tale .... It is a means to subdue the people in to slavery of other people and slavery to their own desires.
imho, most Muslims who do not pray regularly are the victims of procrastination and/or laziness [mostly in making wudu]...the reasons are trivial.
Atheism is the inherent call for disorder ... By saying that there is no God, then they are also saying that all suggestions of good and evil are subjective, which should then mean that everyone for himself ... Because when there is no commonality then there is selfishness ... Atheism is a mechanism of consumerism ... It is worse than a fairy tale .... It is a means to subdue the people in to slavery of other people and slavery to their own desires.
So many generalizations in one post. Dare I say the same about organized religion? Atheism is hardly as organized as you make it sound. There are no collective Atheist organizations out to loot people. There is no Atheist church, no donations for it. To equate Atheism to consumerism is absurd. Everyone is for himself whether you are an atheist or theist. Where has any form of God intervened that actually matters? Your guess is as good as mine. How is atheism slavery but religion is not? The most altruistic and peaceful countries are the countries where atheism is on the rise. I wonder why. Maybe there is a sense of responsibility to all humanity instead of just praying to God to save themselves from hell fire.
I have come in here to see who I can e-behead first… #nutjobs](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=nutjobs)
It's one way to look at why some Atheists could still be atheists and believe in the power of prayer. Does one have to believe in a deity to pray? **I don't think so... There is a lot of power in just **wishing for something. It defines our actions, our thought process, our communications, and our outlook in life. Of course, I am not talking about praying to worship God. Someone could be praying all day long but hasn't spent a minute on Janamaaz or Masjid/mandir/girjah ghar.
Okay, that is just a silly comment. Prayer by definition is communication between a person and a diety. According to Wikipedia: Prayer is an invocation or act that seeks to activate a rapport with a diety, an object of worship, or a spiritual entity through deliberate communication. Every prayer is a wish, but every wish is not necessarily a prayer. Remove God from the equation and the repetitive statements that you utter with great concentration are just...focused wishing. Nevertheless Allah is rabbul Alamin and since He is closer to you than your jugular vein and knows your every thought and wish even before you utter them and even when people don't direct them toward Him, He still answers people's wishes. Prayer or dua need not be confined to the jaan-namaaz or a masjid, it can also be done when you're out and about or on the go, chaltay phirtay, while you're sitting or lying down. Same thing with wishing. You can confine yourself to a spot on the floor and close your eyes and wish your heart away, you can wish on the go as well. But there's a difference in praying and wishing; they're not exactly the same. Most people would prefer that one pray for them rather than make a wish for them. Even when said in Urdu, if someone says "Main tumharay liye dua karti hoon k..." Or "Meri tumharay liye yehi dua hai k...." sounds better than "Meri yehi khwaish/tamannah hai k..etc." So, even in terms of connotations or how the two words are interpreted and felt, there's a difference.
So do I have to believe in your definition of a deity for my prayers to be acceptable? :)
I already clarified that by prayer I did not mean worshipping. Wishing for things to be a certain way wether it is for you, me, or somebody else is what I meant by prayers. Call it whatever, that was not my point.
So do I have to believe in your definition of a deity for my prayers to be acceptable? :)**
Nope. You don't have to believe in my definition of a deity. You also don't even have to believe in a deity for that matter. Nevertheless my deity responds to the needs and desires of even those who reject Him.
Wishing for things to be a certain way whether it is for you, me, or somebody else is what I meant by prayers.
Hmm. So, you see prayers and wishes as being the same thing whereas many don't. The difference between the two is that the former entails communication with a deity. So, do you believe in a deity or are you beseeching a deity or a higher power when you wish for something? If so, then it's praying. If you don't believe in a deity and are not asking a higher power when you wish...then it's just wishing. Does it bother you that a distinction is made between the two actions? If so, why? Correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems that you're insisting that praying and wishing are exactly the same. If so, why? Of the two actions, prayer is more superior, so instead of bringing down prayer to the level of a wish...why not bring your wish up to the level of a prayer, provided you do have some belief in the existence of a deity...in which case it would not be atheism but agnosticism, no?
Here is the difference: you pray to God because you believe in one and somehow you think you know that you are praying to God that has been defined in Quran. When I pray, I have no presumptions. I have no names for the God I believe in. I don't pretend to understand who or what God is or whatever this force is, if there is! I pray because human beings are wired to pray just as we are wired to believe there is someone invisible looking over us. Whatever we believe comes from our experience.there is power in believing and there is power in praying. Call me naive but I do believe our attitude and what we think attract the events in our lives.
Alright fine, Theorist....you don't use the name, Allah, you don't have a clear idea or belief about God's characteristics and nature. But surely you would know if you're directing your thoughts/wishes out there to someone you believe has full power/control or is capable of bringing forth change. And if you are doing this, then it's prayer no? Why not call it prayer? If you ain't directing it to anyone, then imo it's just wishing.
Disagree with your last statement. That's ideology from The Secret...or the law of attraction. There have been many times that I've prayed for things or wished/fantasized and emitted out a myriad of happy, positive thoughts....but I didn't get what I asked for. Hence, I believe that the things you get in your life were not attracted through repetition of duas and positive thoughts and energies....the things were given to you because Allah knew them to be good for you. If they're not in your best interest, you can pray and wish all you want, Allah won't give it to you. That's the problem with the Law of Attraction, it places all the power in our thoughts.
Alright fine, Theorist....you don't use the name, Allah, you don't have a clear idea or belief about God's characteristics and nature. But surely you would know if you're directing your thoughts/wishes out there to someone you believe has full power/control or is capable of bringing forth change. And if you are doing this, then it's prayer no? Why not call it prayer? If you ain't directing it to anyone, then imo it's just wishing.
Disagree with your last statement. That's ideology from The Secret...or the law of attraction. There have been many times that I've prayed for things or wished/fantasized and emitted out a myriad of happy, positive thoughts....but I didn't get what I asked for. Hence, I believe that the things you get in your life were not attracted through repetition of duas and positive thoughts and energies....the things were given to you because Allah knew them to be good for you. If they're not in your best interest, you can pray and wish all you want, Allah won't give it to you. That's the problem with the Law of Attraction, it places all the power in our thoughts.
The power in thoughts is bigger than all of us! It is your thought that you believe in what you believe in. For me and many I know, law of attraction works and I did not hear it from the Secret. There is a reason why your wishes don't manifest. The fact that you don't think it works, then you are right, it doesn't. Just wishing it is enough if you are completely open to receiving it and have no doubts. It has worked for me every time! What that force is, I don't know!
Woh kehte hain na, whether you think you can or can't, you are right!
About what you want to define as prayers, you can call it whatever you want. It doesn't matter. I won't argue over it. Wishing for the best is a form of prayer.
Law of attraction eliminates God from the equation. There have been times I've prayed and didn't think I'd get what I wanted, but despite my feeling of negativity/doubt....I got what I wanted. For me it just reinforces the belief that if it's good for you, Allah will give it to you. If not, He won't.