what a man does for living or how much he makes ? My wife is asked this question many a times by complete strangers or wives of friends and acquaintances.
Once in Chicago I went with my wife in a Pakistani clothing store , she wanted to do some shopping for summer dresses. Whatever she liked I would let her buy so she bought more than a dozen summer suits. During this shopping spree the owner of the shop who was a women took my wife aside and asked her " Apakay husband kia kartay hain." My wife said " Drugs dealing kartay hain , magar kisee aur ko na batana." and this women was embarrassed. Give me a break , why is it anybody’s business what I do for living and how much I make ?
Re: Why do women want to know
Bcoz they don't do anything for living and their social status depends upon what their husband does.
some ppl are just to curious i guess ... though its none of their business!!
ppl try to ask what i make but i usually just ignore their request or change the subject .. then they dont ask .. but getting complete strangers to ask is something i tell ya!
or maybe she just wants a husband in ur line of business angelic smile
For desis in general … the walk on the road of friendship starts after learning other parties’ back ground , social status , education .
In hope to step up and up on the status ladder , we don’t act friendly with people below par our social status.
And it’s a common trait , I don’t such much gender difference when it comes to such things…
You don’t see a male lawyer or doctor hanging out with a carpenter/bricklayer……. Even though a bricklayer might be making more then them …
Thesedays friendship / social contacts are just there to earn /gain something out of them ….
Sad but true .
Lovely answer your wife had there. Maybe all the people in such scenarios should use some similar responses to handle the cheap ****s who are more curious to know than your own close family members who do not give a damn about how much you earn because they think it's none of their business to know that.
Just read the title of your thread.... for your info, it is not just women but talking about DESIS, mostly it is MEN who do that. My sister was pissed off at one of such MEN who she's never talked to before not only asking but INSISTING to tell him how much she earns when she was shopping at his store. Whereas none of us know or care about how much she earns. She kept ignoring his question but he was dheet enough to continue to repeat in different ways. Now I'll tell her what to answer to such people :D
desis and their curiosities.............
( and it's so unfair when families finalize their daughter's rishta on the basis of potential match's salary , i mean come on that guy would grow with time and make more money in next 5-10 yrs......also it's funny that @ weddings all unclee and aunties r mad curious to know groom's income )
Its not just desi women, i have seen planty of goris doing the same.
mirch....app shuker kerin or loug app say poochttay hain...werna app k apnay ristaydar-ass pass k loug to kabhi bhool ker bhi yeh nahi jan-nay ki koshish nahi kertay k app kia perh rahay hian, ya app is position tek kaisay poocnchay hain.
ps. only few ppl ever showed interest in asking me what i do, and interestingly they have this "Jazba" to move on...rest of the world is filled with slackers.
mirch....app shuker kerin or loug app say poochttay hain...werna app k apnay ristaydar-ass pass k loug to kabhi bhool ker bhi yeh nahi jan-nay ki koshish nahi kertay k app kia perh rahay hian, ya app is position tek kaisay poocnchay hain.
ps. only few ppl ever showed interest in asking me what i do, and interestingly they have this "Jazba" to move on...rest of the world is filled with slackers.
You are right they are not interested in what you are studying. The only take interest in you once you get employed then they are curious to the death to find out what you do for living and how much you make.
what a man does for living or how much he makes ? My wife is asked this question many a times by complete strangers or wives of friends and acquaintances. Once in Chicago I went with my wife in a Pakistani clothing store , she wanted to do some shopping for summer dresses. Whatever she liked I would let her buy so she bought more than a dozen summer suits. During this shopping spree the owner of the shop who was a women took my wife aside and asked her " Apakay husband kia kartay hain." My wife said " Drugs dealing kartay hain , magar kisee aur ko na batana." and this women was embarrassed. Give me a break , why is it anybody's business what I do for living and how much I make ?
hahahaha awesome wife.... :D
i dont see harm in asking about the job itself, just out of curisoity...like when ur meeting someone for the first time..but asking abt salary is pretty rude.
hahahaha awesome wife.... :D
i dont see harm in asking about the job itself, just out of curisoity...like when ur meeting someone for the first time..but asking abt salary is pretty rude.
You are right , I do not see any harm in in asking people what they do for living. But I take care that I do not ask that question till the time there is a need to know or it comes into conversation.
Your wife gave a nice answer:biggthumb
I think pay and age kaa question zara touchy hai. And some people are very curious.
what a man does for living or how much he makes ? My wife is asked this question many a times by complete strangers or wives of friends and acquaintances. Once in Chicago I went with my wife in a Pakistani clothing store , she wanted to do some shopping for summer dresses. Whatever she liked I would let her buy so she bought more than a dozen summer suits. During this shopping spree the owner of the shop who was a women took my wife aside and asked her " Apakay husband kia kartay hain." My wife said " Drugs dealing kartay hain , magar kisee aur ko na batana." and this women was embarrassed. Give me a break , why is it anybody's business what I do for living and how much I make ?
Aaahh! Paki women never change no matter where they go! :P Majority of the female ask qs like this, in fact it is pretty normal. Yeah in a place like US where you live this can b considered instrusive but in Pak its a way to start a conversation or the woman is curious thaz all. If I were that woman I would just stare at you and ur wife but not go and ask how much your hubby is earning... thaz none of my business really but yar cmon... you bought her 12 shalwar kameez... thaz alot. Your wife is one lucky girl ;)
For desis in general … the walk on the road of friendship starts after learning other parties’ back ground , social status , education .
In hope to step up and up on the status ladder , we don’t act friendly with people below par our social status.
And it’s a common trait , I don’t such much gender difference when it comes to such things…
You don’t see a male lawyer or doctor hanging out with a carpenter/bricklayer……. Even though a bricklayer might be making more then them …
Thesedays friendship / social contacts are just there to earn /gain something out of them ….
Sad but true .
its considered douche baggery, no matter how you try to butter it up. its rude and in appropriate. Next time an older woman asks what I make, ill simple say something like "whats your bra size?". I hope they get the point and never ask any man again. this douche baggery must stop.
Honestly I don't think it's that offensive...I mean even if you hang out with American people, they'll usually ask "What do you do?". I usually ask "oh so are you going to school...working..?" or "what are you doing these days?" It's an open-ended question and a good way for me to hear more about what interests that person. It's better to assume the best than to attack a poor lady as status hungry.
Of course if someone asks you something like "mirch di tankha kinni hogi" then that is kind of offensive. i had this exact question asked of me, and i said "jee i don't know exactly" (which was the truth) and the uncle said "Andaazan?" omgg i couldn't believe him!