Why do we do it?

Re: Why do we do it?

Calm down brother;
As muslim I'm against the "nationalism".....Pakistanis can only realize the truth if they leave "selective Islam" and enter in Islam perfectly........
think .......We fought wars not only against non muslims but also muslims.......In India there are more muslims than in pakistan.....but unfortunately the indian muslims are also nationalists.I don't get any reason for dividing the sub-continant except dividing muslims...."divide and
conquer".
And Pakistanis don't want to be hindustanis.......they want to be misguided.
Hindustani term also applies on pakistanis,bangalis and srilankans.......its just a regional term.Don't try hard to be good pakistani but good muslim.
And you know Quid-e-azam was an ismaili........do i have to explain ismailis faith?

Ever since Musharraf's "jeet lo dil policy" with India, Pakistan has been invaded with an avalanche of Indian culture. Every Pakistani channel shows Indian movies, Indian songs, Indian soaps or Pakistan collaborations with Indian soaps. We even have our very own Pakistani Fashion TV mimicking India. Now even Bollywood stars get to throw temper tantrums in Pakistan. Now all this existed before, only difference now is that it is out in the open and encouraged.

All this is a far cry from the time when anything Indian was banned. I suggest Musharraf follow his own mantra here: moderation.

I heard he converted to Sunni but he was a Gujarati and Gujarat is in India, guess what else? The vast majority of people from his (Anil Khan’s) home city Karachi are immigrants from India who migrated during partition.

Pakistanis from Punjab and Sindh are like north Indians (northwest Indians in particular) with only about 1-2% of those who are partially of Arab/Persian/Afghan/Turk descent, obviously Pakistanis are not of the same stock as South Indians but they are of the same stock as northwest Indians (Hindi, Punjabi, Rajasthani and related languages) the people are of the same stock. You get the same tribes on both sides of the border such as Rajputs, Jatts, Gujjars etc. in all three religions Islam, Hinduism and Sikhism except for the few who either genuinely or due to inferiority complex started claiming to be of Arab or Iranian descent.

He can kid himself all he like but that wont change the reality, the reality is that nobody can tell the difference between somebody from Lahore and somebody from Dehli or somebody from Karachi and Bombay.

Religion is different and I admit religion influences a big part of South Asian peoples lives but other than that the people look the same, language is the same, cuisine is the same, dress is the same, traditions are the same, music is the same, fobs from both sides are pervertised the same.

I don’t know why Desis can’t admit their identity, I think there’s nothing wrong with being Desi you have a very glamorous culture, it doesn’t make you any less Muslim than somebody of Arab or Persian descent, as long as you don’t give it precedence over your religious identity and start taking Hinduism as your heritage when it’s only your history not heritage because heritage is something you chose to carry with you but you can maintain Desi culture and be comfortable with it, if we were all like Arabs that would be boring.

Pashtuns and Balochs are different and more related to Afghanistan and Iran but we’re a minority (only 10%) and all it will take is migration to our regions and assimilating us, which I’m not so sure I want to happen anymore.

Basically there’s two sides to Pakistan, the Hindi (Punjab, Sindh) side to the east of the River Indus and the Khorasani (NWFP, Balochistan, FATA) side west of the river Indus and both are quite different from each other.

Language shapes culture and language is the same so there's going to be exchange of ideas and anyway far back enough the people were one so what's the big deal? As long as Muslims don't take their Hindu religion, Desi culture is the same on both sides, aur yeh kya fashion washion, music shusic? it was pretty much the same on both sides anyway except indians had better quality. miraasi hain, muslim hon ya hindu, pakistani hon ya hindustani, even without indian influence pakis were doing the same things so what difference does it make?

i can understand people getting stressted because they take religious values seriously buit why get stressed over a fake illusion that paki culture (other than religion) is diff from indian or ever was? chill yaar, hindustani bachiyan enjoy karo, zara thumka shumka dekho, aur kya.

Ok I'm Pakistani.....whats big deal in it.I'm not ashamed saying that...similarly by saying that I'm Arab or American or British.....Does that matter?
It does'nt........It can only be an identity for region.....but In Islam your colour,race or language does'nt count.Islam is'nt a religion ....its a complete way of life.......and if "glamorous culture" would go against Islam I wont follow that culture.
may be we are saying the same thing but in different ways.

obviously this is the exception rather than the norm. like 99% of the Hindus don’t follow this but all religions have the extreme 1%. Every religion has the extremists which take religion to a fanatical level and make something that was written thousands of years ago take over their head. A few of the things written don’t apply nowadays that’s why everything that’s written shouldn’t be taken so literally.

I would rather be a moderate in terms of religion. Follow all the guidelines but I would rather not take it to a level where it dictates my every move in life. Fanatics scare me to death.

YES, I am a nationalist. I'm proud to be it too; Nowhere in Islam does it say One can't be proud of the land where they were born.

Secondly, I can't agree with the fact that we're the same as our neighbors. We may look the same but the culture differs greatly. Our culture is derived from our religous belifs which is different from India's. Just cause we may look similar does not mean we're the same (I gave the example of the Scandinavian countries before).

As far as Quaid-e-Azam's sect is concerend, I have no problem with them. Infact, I know of many ismailis who, I believe, are good muslims. This isn't the religon forum so lets not continue debating about this issue.

PAKISTAN PAINDABAD!!!

if we're talking with regards to Islam; than ztv, starplus, Ary, Geo, lollywood, bollywood, hollywood are all alike i.e. fall in the ; same category... Qtv prevails!

if its for the wars we've had, or that we're enemies etc..
as they say, entertainment has no boundaries.. all these confidence building measures..other than bus services or talks..mainly revolve around bollywood/entertainment...

watching hollywood is fine, watching lollywood is fine, y isnt bollywood fine then?

ur question is probably addressed to anti-Indians!

I love Pakistan, I do not hate India..
humans live in Pakistan, humans live in India..
poverty in Pakistan, poverty in India..
terrorism in Pakistan, terrorism in India..
corruption in Pakistan, corruption in India..
earthquake in Pakistan, earthquake in India..
muslims in Pakistan, more muslims in India..

majority on both sides wants peace!!!

muslims in india have got a soft spot for paksitan, we should have a regard for them!

I love Geo, I love Bollywood!

^ yea that's right why don't we concentrate on making both our countries better rather wasting our time showing how different we are. Pakistan and India can both be great countries if we concentrate on eliminating the terrorism, corruption, poverty and making our people more educated so they can make smart decisions in life rather than wasting money and time showing our hatred for each other.

arent we also suppose to not mix with them, not associate with them, and get them to revert according to the Quran?

Anil,

Islam does not say many things. Either you follow what it says or you reject it. If you are following something out of the scope of your religion, then it is automatically rejecting it. You cannot deduce that because it does’nt say so, you can do it. Got my point!

ty

what the hell r u talking about?

My last post in this thread:

All you Pakistanis please get away from this infatuation with Bollywood. I am not saying don't watch their movies but I'm saying stop the OBSESSION. Watch the movies for the stories and maybe appreciate the theme but don't fall in love with the actors. Promote Pakistani entertainment; Love Pakistan; Appreciate Pakistan. It sickens my stomach when I see Indian culture entering Pakistani lifestyles (eg. saris, the red dots on the forehead, and all the other idolism stuff). We're muslims; lets not forget it. Allah hamari zameen aur hamari pechan bulund muqaam tak paunch ay, Ameen.

Allah Hafiz.