Why do the males and females in Pakistan have such a bad staring problem?

I went Pakistan 3 months ago after 12 years and what I experienced was horrendous. The men stare at you like you’re a piece of eye candy and even if you look back at them they STILL stare. The women are no less, they look you up and down because you’re dressed in more modern clothes than them and they talk about you acting like you don’t understand the langauge but I do. They think that all the pakistanis in UK and USA are bad but they are so much worse in Pakistan. When I went out random guys off the street would come up to me and try getting my attention. One even shoved his number into my hand. They also stare at you and peer into the car your sat in. I would get so self conscious and hate stepping outside of the house. I visited badshahi mosque and the guys sat out there have no sharam even in a mosque! they would start wolf whistling and singing stupid romantic bollywood songs. From this trip thats mostly what I can remember even though I had a lot of good times too. My male cousins would be looking at me weirdly too and I see them as brothers! Also when I went to the malls in lahore, people would just stop in their ways and jst stare at me and my family as if we have “not from here, british citizens, come and approach me” stamped on our foreheads. My mum said not to speak english there so i dont attract attention but I can’t help it and when I did speak english I got stared at more etc. All this was both in the villiages (pinds) and the cities. How should I dress and act next time when I go so men won’t approach me and leave me alone and how can I blend in with the native pakistanis? Why this mentality of them

Re: Why do the males and females in Pakistan have such a bad staring problem?

Don't go again. Simples!! It doesn't matter what you do, go in a frikkin Burqha next time and you will still get it. they are not going to change. You either accept it and learn to live with it or you just dn't go at all. Btw I speak from ALOT of exprience. I've now chosen to stay the hell away.

dress in paindu clothes. and speak paindu language.

foreign/unusual things always attract attention

heart and soul, what was ur exeprience like? I can't do that, I do like it there so will be visiting again but it's just the staring that puts me off and the fact that we're put on a pedestal because we're from the UK or USA

Even if I do that, i still have the english accent and people there are like We can tell your from abroad but I don't know how they know even if we act and dress like them

Speak to any woman in Pakistan and she'll complain about the same staring problem, it's not that the tharki men are staring only at you because you're a foreigner. I always go out in a big chaadar and then if someone is staring, at least I'm comfortable that they're not examining my body, I'm well covered. If I was really uncomfortable, I would go up to the guy and tell him to piss off but then I'd be doing that every other minute. So best to ignore. I've never had anyone hand me their number lol but if someone did, I wouldn't ignore that. There's a line and as long as they don't cross that, I can put up with the staring to an extent.

Aww man I can totally relate. When I was like 13/14 I had some random guy grope at my body in PUBLIC in the busy crowds when we shopping in lahore. I should have screamed.. but was in absolute complete shock and by the time I’d figured out what had happened he’d disappeared. I’ve had random waiters leave their number for me on the table with money.. :smack: I ripped it up and scattered it where I knew he’d see.

And then of course the staring, so much so that you literally want to slap them out of it. I had a random guy try to video/ take photos of me with his mobile in a cafe in lahore. It took me a while to figure out what he was doing and then when I did I asked to swap places with my dad so that my back would be to him. That itself was embarassing.

You’re right - these are the memories you end up keeping years and years later.

FYI I was dressed in huge chadors and flippin normal shalwar kamees. I realised very quickly that anything more western would just add to the looks. Yeh, the staring applies to women too - though I guess with a different purpose.. I hope - they literally check you out up and down, from your outfit to you handbag down to your shoes. Everytime I’ve arrived at the airport it starts.

I have visited pakistan only twice since 94 when I was just a little kid (2003 & 2007) haven’t gone back since, to me no one existed either a man, woman, horse…whoever! I noticed people looking at me but never shot back another look at them, we went to the bazar almost each day to shop (where the starring almost happened every minute) but my only goal was to get my shopping done (which it always will be) get it done and go home, thankfully I speak perfect urdu so haven’t had a problem others thinking I wasn’t a local, who cares if anyone is looking, not looking, but what I did both times is that hid my highlights in a tight ponytail with a chaadar over my clothes and wore my mumani’s chappal/purse just so I wouldn’t attract attention and get the bargains with the shopkeepers (which I did woo hoo) my family would laugh away since they know the ‘real me’ around home or at the parties but once I was out of the house, I became this another person in disguise which was quiet amusing to me, I think I will keep this up next time I go around as well

As goes for giving out numbers thing Mcdonald’s ka manager couldn’t even hold himself and handed me his number which I tore up without even looking at him and walked away :hoonh:

So you'd rather be whistled at by an Irish, but not a Pakistani?

Yeh kahan se hisab laga liya aap ne?

^ Sawal pey sawal kyun kur rahi hain?

I wonder how you were dressed. Did you try to blend in in terms of dress? Meaning jeans/and t shirt then you are pretty much asking for it especially in villages.

OMG same thing nearly happened to me. I say nearly because, this was in mcdonalds and this creepy looking guy was behind me in the line and I was with my khala and mum and sister and I was behind my family, i turned around and this guy was staring at me so creepily like he was hungry and I was his fav sandwich. He came towards me and bought his hand out to grope me but i shoved him and ran to the front of my family and told them and then a big scene was created where my khala and mum were screaming at him. It was so emabrassing!

Yeah I had the same problem, this boy about 16 years old kept taking pictures and videos of me and my family that came from the UK. He tried doing it slyly but everyone could see! That was so creepy cos now random people have my pictures.

Another time, this was when I first reached lahore aiport and got out. I was dressed in skinny jeans, long dress had a scarve around my neck with sunglasses-yes i know that now this was a big mistake to be dressed like that, anyway I was with my dad and brothers,sisters and we were talking and laughing outloud while waiting for the car to arrive and when I looked to my side, there was this gang of creepy perverted looking guys who were just looking me up and down and checking me out along with my family. they pissed me off so much. Anyway then I dressed in a big chador with shalwar kameez and covered my head but they still looked at me like rthat. its like whatever you do, youre still gna get looked at like that. It so frustrating

I was dressed in shalwar kameez! the typical outfits they were dressed in. But apprently, my uncle was telling me from there that whatever you do, even if you try to blend in you can't because you have a different smell (obvs not the **** smell they have) different looks (even thought you might be full pakistani) and different ways, walk and attitude about you

I won’t even talk about my highlights! :open_mouth: big mistakes! I had brown hair with blond and ginger highlights going on you know what looks normal in western countries but there in pakistan they just stared at my hair like if I grew a second head! the women would just point to my hair, one even grabbed it and started touching and sniffing it :confused: same here I had like this passive quiet personality as opposed to my loud one and people there kept asking me how are pakis in uk like are they bad, do they have bf’s/gf’s, do they go clubbing.

Why you dress up in more modren cloths if you dnt want people to look at you ? :konfused:

Culture in pak is niether islamic nor western that makes pakistani society so frustrated you cant blame men for what they do . You put any men in world in this society he will stare at you for no reason but as huma said you can minimise it by coverng yourself. And looking back at them in pak means you asking for it :cb:
And your coznz lookng at you that could mean two things either you lookng …hhm or they lookng at your passport.

'i think its best to just avoid eye contact and pretend like you don't see them.

I took my cousin to a Dentist's office one time and next thing you know the Doc asked her to go to another room for more detailed inspection and if he could introduce her to his friends after work. Dentist was a gora (bit older, but closer to her age - 28). She is a desi and never went back since.

At another time, a desi guy (pretty much born and raised in States), walked up to her and tried to give his number at a restaurant (forcefully), while her family was also in line at the buffet table.

During visit to a local restaurant, the store owners started flirting and gave her free food while her mother was waiting outside in the car in hopes of getting her number. She denied.

I have always seen her dressed appropriately - whether it be jeans or shalwar kamees. She does not wear hijab, but is very well fit and naturally pretty (MashAllah). I am sure people wouldn’t be giving her this attention if she was not fit. We live in the States.

It seems that some form of invalid behavior exists everywhere. While folks stare/grope in one country, others come very close but it's not their ethics which stop them. It's the fear of losing their profession that stops them. Laws are stricter as well. Imagine how sexual assault would look on record which can deny someone from getting a job. That makes me wonder what they would do if my cousin was walking by herself in an empty street when no checks and balances exist.

Literacy has helped keep some guys stay in check while others are held back due to fear of losing what they have earned - license to work or perhaps a family member close by.

If we look at this from a different spectrum, one of the ladies at my workplace has mentioned in public how she dresses differently now that she is 'back in the market' - divorced.

These unfortunate situations exist everywhere to some extent. While I could apologize on behalf of all the men in this world, it seems that acts like these exist in every avenue. Perhaps we are best when some type of fear is instilled within us. So much for being different than animals who have to be put on a leash.

They started sniffing your hair?

Slow down with the exaggeration please. :/

Lmao.

Man these strong stories.

Yeah people stare, but I don’t believe the touching and sniffing the hair story.

I don’t know, but girls in Pakistan (even in the pinds OMGz) dye their hair too, get highlights and stuff.

Your last line, people in western countries have misconceptions about people from other cultures too.

Go to any village here while looking different than the locals, and they will stare at you too.

Btw, a lot of girls who complain the most about the starers, love the attention actually and try their best to do anything to get that attention in Pakistan.