why do sikhs hate muslims so much?

well almost everyone in this thread is calling sikh and hindus worse than anyone else....

where is the respect that our belove prophet pbuh and quran taught us

and again just like TS had an exp of a sikh forum if a sikh visits GS ... and this particular thread what kinda impression you are making on them... that muslims hate sikh and hindus ?

Re: why do sikhs hate muslims so much?

I've loads of Sikh friends not all Sikhs are bad you know. Theres some Mussalamaan who are just as wicked.

Like they say: Theres good and bad in all.

NYA etc. are being sarcastic... They're not even religious lol.

As for me I think all Desis are retards (Pakis, Hindus, Sikhs)... We hate anyone who is different from us: Casteism, Jatt, Khatri, Brahmin, Raja, Muslim, Sikh, Hindu, tribalism etc. etc....

We should learn some insaaniyat from white people.

There are always rumours flying about about Sikh girls being made pregnant by Muslim boyfriends and/or forced to convert.. I’ve never come across a real situation like that myself tho so not sure if it really does happen or just made up to fuel more anger against Muslims.. Some of them defo do seem a bit paranoid when it comes to Muslims..

'In recent months rumours have reached a new intensity - the fresh controversy has centred on claims made in May this year, after she disappeared from home, that a young Sikh woman from the West Midlands had been groomed for conversion to Islam. Reports of that allegation led to a protest by over a hundred Sikhs outside the headquarters of the West Midlands Police demanding they deal with the alleged perpetrators of so-called forced Islamic conversion. To date however not a single case of forced conversion exists on any police record.’

One of the English Defence League’s spokesmen is a Sikh guy, Guramit Singh, he reckons he’s showing the group isn’t racist yet still came out with stuff like this:

'You know what, ive got an inkling the profit muhammed was really a bit of a adultering, raping, hate preaching looting Cnt!! Anyone agree, or is it just me???’

‘the muzzies wanna keep away from me im just looking for an excuse im fcked off at the mo fck the pakis … i just think we shud burn the cunts now!!’

‘Be careful if you go out driving today… driving conditions are awful, ive just come off the road and hit a muslim!! It took me 10 minutes, 2 fields and a golf course, but I got the fcker!!

Source: http://www.thesamosa.co.uk/index.php/news-and-features/society/210-exclusive-f-the-pakis-meet-the-edls-anti-racist-poster-boy.html

I wonder how many of his ‘mates’ at the EDL say the same sort of things about him and other Sikhs behind his back.. The EDL have also had a Sikh girl speaking at one of their demos and then there’s that idiot who joined the BNP :smack:

Sikhs/Indians are trying to capitalise on the anti-Muslimism in the world to try and chummy up with white people but the racist/xenophobic BNP/EDL hate them just as much, they're just using them (stupid sardarji's) for their own agenda.

When the EDL/BNP are finished with us, they will turn on Hindus and Sikhs, they are just trying to put on a false tolerant facade by recruiting Sikhs/Hindus and Sikhs/Hindus are stupid enough to play into their hands and turn against their fellow Desis.

It's the likes of EDL who drive Muslim youth to extremism by marginalising and alienating them from mainstream British society.

It is EDL and their ilk who make British Muslims feel like outsiders in their own country.

The sad thing is some Non-Muslims will lap up everything the EDL say and hate on Muslims which will only increase the rift between communities.

Decent, moderate Muslims who want to get along with everyone and just make ends meet are pushed away from mainstream British society and into the hands of the extremists by the EDL...

...As a British Muslim youth when my workmates say hateful/intolerant/racist things about Muslims thanks to media/edl/bnp propoganda I feel like an outsider and the need to belong somewhere becomes so strong...

...I'd hate to imagine what Muslim youth who think with their hearts instead of their brains would be driven to do in the face of so much hatred/hostility/rejection.

EDL and Extremist-Muslim groups are two sides of the same crooked coin, they both hamper integration and assimilation.

EDL claims it is not anti-Muslim as such yet it is blatantly hateful of Muslims and everything Muslims hold sacred, what hypocrites!

Such rabble-rouser groups which threaten inter-ethnic harmony should be illegal.

Most white people are decent people and we should show them we're just like them and not the extremists/terrorists we're portrayed to be by facists like EDL/BNP...

.. As for Sikhs, well who cares what Sikhs think of us, as long as Pakis, Gujaratis (Muslim), Bengalis, Somalians, Kurds, Turks, Arabs, north-Africans, white-Muslims etc. are all united and brothers for ever.

Sikh girls convert and marry Muslim guys because they want to.
Nobody can force anyone to do anything in this country.

It is all lies and baseless propoganda by hateful Sikhs who can't control their children.

I knew of a ex-Sikh girl who reverted to Islam and married a Paki guy, she did it out of her own free will for the guy, then the guy left her a single parent because he was a stupid druggy/gangster (like most Desi youth in this country), but this sister had by now fallen in love with Islam and she remained a Muslim for the faith itself now rather than for any guy... Last time I heard of her she was working, doing missionary work (tableeghi jamaat) amongst Muslim women and supporting her kids...

...Last time she tried contacting her family over the phone but her father and brothers threatened to honour kill her.

Ok.. I read through all of the stuff and as a SIKH.. I'm going to just say that not all Sikhs hate muslims. Sikhs are not supposed to hate anyone, but I think the problem is the past history of violence and bloodshed between sikhs and the moghuls during that time. A lot of sikhs were killed, including the Gurus (regarded as very high for Sikhs, NOT gods, we only believe in ONE GOD.)

Anyways, if anyone has actually done some research you will know that Sikhism doesn't hate any religion, if anyone says otherwise that is a complete lie. There are a lot of verses in the Guru Granth Sahab (Sikh holybook) to back that up, and includes many writings from MUSLIM peers and highly regarded individuals as well.

The stuff happening in england, I think is 2-sided. As a Sikh I'm not going to blame Muslims but to say it's not happening is not true. I think the main problem is the amount of emphasis put on "conversions" in Islam. I'm not trying to offend anyone so please do not get offended. I'm just simply stating it from a Sikh's point of view and also how my own family perceives it. Basically, if you married anyone else, christian, hindu, or another caste what have you, there isn't that huge emphasis on conversion as their is in Islam. Even IF a non-Sikh woman were to marry a Sikh man, the girl is never asked to convert, that's because in Sikhism, converting is not so big. In fact, it says to be the best in the faith you were born into, be that Muslim, Hindu, etc.

So you can see that as parents, losing their children to another faith would be very difficult. Also, the recent crap that's been happening post 9-11 has had a lot of Sikhs wrongly assumed to be "taliban" related, I'm not saying Muslim here because I know people who kill innocents shouldn't be regarded as Muslims. But there were a couple of men killed because their turbans and beards made them look like they were "terrorists" to idiots. But anyways , I don't have a problem with any faith. Sikhs do not hate anyone. I just wanted to clarify that about my own community. Sikhism is supposed to protect all of humanity, we don't just look out for fellow Sikhs. And I'm proud of that.

And also, I have muslims in my own family so I don't have a problem with Islam. I hope I haven't offended anyone but I hate the hatred.

Amrita- the only challenge is when we allow fringe elements to drive the dialogue or impact relations between two communities. and the difference could be race, religion, ethnicity whatever. so don't get offended, and i tell the muslims the same thing, don't let the extremists in sikh community dictate how you view sikhs.

as far as conversions go, in the end it is a free country, and no one can force someone to convert. Obviously someone who converts for someone places that individual over their faith, or what they state as their religion in public. I am not aware of any major conspiracy for muslim boys to go mack on sikh chicas and lure them into converting, sadly that is what some assert which is rather comical. anyway, no biggie. As i said we can't let fringe elements dictate the interactions and image

Looks like finally some voices of reason in this thread

I've had many Sikh friends and while none seemed to've any problem with Muslims at all, many seemed to've problems with Pakistanis. So unless you're equating Pakistanis=Muslims, i dont see any reason for this hohalla.

The EDL have nothing to do with driving Muslims into the hands of extremists. The EDL have only been going 2-3 years. Extremist Islam has been around much longer. There is plenty of mud to throw at the EDL but you cannot blame them for that.

Do you seriously believe that the EDL and their ilk make Muslims feel like outsiders in their own country? What about the fact that WE Muslims do not bother to integrate or socialise with English people? I have seen very few Muslims who actively try to integrate themselves into a country they call "home".

Some of what the EDL talk about is fair. Some of the negative points they raise about Muslims and it should be ethnic minorities in general is very fair. There is a resentment in white communities about the growth in non-white populations - we are changing the city scape and to an extent pushing the native people out. WE Muslims demand too much and use equality and human rights to get whatever we can. Why was I hearing the Azaan in a town where not even half the population is Muslim? Do we really need to have the Azaan in Britain?

Decent moderate Muslims will neevr be pushed anywhere.

I even dont know why you discuss race and religion at work. Peoples point of view clearly offend you so why go down that route? I have a lot of discussions with white people about a lot of issues. I even get the very right wing ones admitting their beliefs. Yet when I engage on that path I say to myself dont be offended. I rarely find their views offensive. To be honest I would not be surprised if the majority thought similar views. Poltical correctness has stifled debate. Muslims do mention and talk about their religion a lot at work place. White people generally ignore topics which could create controversey.

Imagine if a Muslim girl married a Sikh guy? Would we be as tolerant?

I have studied Islam and I know forced conversions are a big no-no. In the UK, it was a big thing, I'm surprised you never came across it in the news or accounts from girls it happened to. I'm not British but it was a fear that was apparent in the Sikh community there especially families that had young girls. The problem is those girls are not strong in their faith. Converting is fine if you are doing it with your heart and soul and not because a guy and his family will accept you, or if you are with child. Those were a lot of the cases I came across. I can send you some links if you would like? Again I don't put emphasis on Islam for this but to the lack of those guys teachings in their own faith. But I'm sure you can see where that would scare parents.

Now for the honour killings, parents disowning girls for marrying out of religion to Muslims, etc. which someone below mentioned. I think it wouldn't be a far stretch to say that if a Muslim girl were to marry a Sikh guy or any other non-Muslim, the same situations could arise? I have seen some families that were tolerant and came around to the marriage but others that just disowned the girl. I don't think I'm wrong in saying that this isn't a problem just in the Sikh community but in all desi households. Your family would want you to stay within your own community to make it easier for you in the future, your children's upbringing, etc. In the end it's your choice but many parents view a conversion as a slap on the face of their own traditions and beliefs. The idea of conversion is also not big in Sikhism and for Sikhs. We don't actively pursue converts and do not encourage conversion.
Also, there are more differences and similarities between the faiths, but most of it is just fear and crap the media has spread. I think if the two communities actively interacted with one another, many misconceptions would be lost.

Understand how Sikhism originated and you will know why and how much hate it possesses for Islam.

I actually never heard this one before, most of the time here in canada the indians and pakistanis get along. I think the only time there are tensions is when theres a cricket game on lol. :P

Sikhism originated before the tensions between the Mughals with the Gurus existed. At the time of Guru Nanak Dev Ji, Akbar was in power in India and was a peaceful ruler, he didn't have any problems. It wasn't until much later that the problems began but those Mughal rulers were cruel to their own families, so do you expect them to show mercy to someone else? And a true Sikh hates no one. I don't know if you're Sikh or not but if you know the religion, you know that it doesn't hate anyone or preach hatred. Also remember that Guru Gobind Singh himself said "Manas ki jaat subho ek he pechanbo" [all humans are created equal despite religion, caste, or creed] even though his entire family was slaughtered by the Mughals. So if he can overlook that then who are we petty people for arguing with one another?

I am British, and while a long term expat now, I am back often and have parents, brother, tons of family in UK and many friends.. including sikhs. This is not some sort of epidemic.

its less of a forced conversions but as you noted ...the families can't handle it, they don't have control and then in all desi communities, everyone is in everyone's business, so easier to say that it was a forced conversion than the girl simply did not care for her faith enough or preferred a different faith. Its not just an issue in sikh community but all desi communities (and non desis too). The poor innocent girl was corrupted, controlled, coerced..make her a victim of some controlling jerk and hey, the family is a victim, you can't say anything about the girl, and hey if things don't work out...as many times they don't...

in the end it does not matter why someone converted, the fact remains they converted, even if their routine is the same otherwise..and its just on paper. It is the egos and honors of elders and extended family/clan and communities who just have to be in everyone's business that make it more than it is.

many desi girls take off with black guys or white boys as well, and guys with non desi girls ... larger numbers actually..but that is not made an issue because the historical subcontinental baggage does not apply to egos and honors as much in that case.

^I agree with that. My best friend converted from Hinduism to Islam a long time ago and kept it s secret for a good few years. She only came out with it to her family after she secretly got married and left home, and then told her parents she's not coming back. So yes, her family had the same reaction, everyone else has cut her off and refuses to speak to her, with the male members of her family threatening to kill her husband if they ever see him etc etc. I put it down purely to the personal family 'izzat' or pride thing rather than them feeling betrayed about their religion or because they feel angry about their past heritage.

I dont really like sikhs either.

Unless its female.

There's one I quite like in particular.