Why do retailers in Pakistan try to rip westerners off?

Re: Why do retailers in Pakistan try to rip westerners off?

love this thread, i was talking about this wid my cousins a few days ago...its sad how some FB sellers are selling a simple cotton suit for loads of $$$$.
one of my cousin is getting married soon and i think by the end of his wedding il be bankrupt :S

Well done Kayra...you just said what everyone is thinking!!!

I was whingeing to brummie about the same thing...the prices some vendors are charging are totally unrealistic,and yet you still see people posting..'ooh,add this $2million outfit to my order'...

I mean seriously,are these vendors actually selling any suits or what?...I thought I was the only 'kanjoos,makhee choos'...(but I see brum is too..lol).Not only do I have to make outfits for myself but also my daughter.
I understand about mahengaay and so forth,but to be honest,most of the fabrics shown are just that...fabrics hanging on a hanger in a shop.Now there is noooo way a vendor is going to pay the asking price...so the price is lowered.So the vendor takes this suit,gets a 'designer' tailor (a contradiction anyway) to sew it,and then they post it to you.Oh...and all this happens after you have ooohed and aaahed over their fabby collection,as though they weaved the fabric themselves!!!!.Lord give me strength.
Ok.one vendor has an amazing collection...and stitching is great too....replicas are great too...but you have to order a minimum of two,and then she 'very kindly,gives you a discount of $10' off the order!!!.WTH...all she is doing is paying less postage in the first place (slipping two suits instead of one).BAH...I'm sick of it all.

BUT....but,you know what???...whenever I do come across a reasonable vendor,I get suspicious.If they are so much cheaper,are they skimping on quality?...or fabric?...or do they get a poor darzan to make the suit?....I can't win either way.

I think it does boil down to supply and demand...there are loads of people who do buy just for the convenience,and less hassle.Plus,they can afford them.Well,good luck to them...but what about the rest of us who can not afford $150 plus for one outfit.I most certainly can not.

One of my friends here in UK said..'there is a lady selling suits for £120 upwards...very reasonable,don't you think?'...and I'm like...'NO'.A poxy suit suit with one tiny bit of kaam on the front and pattis all around..it's a kaftan...two bits of stitching down the sides,and I'm expected to pay £120 for that.Man...there is something seriously wrong somewhere.

LOL...must tell you this.One vendor boasts about 'wholesale' prices for 'shafoon' suits.Got my SIL to check out.Turns out more expensive that ordinary retailers.She got mad at me for sending her on a wild goose chase.

Sorry guys for the loooong rant!!!!...and if you have read this far,I luv you:).
Anyways...these are just my opinions.Any vendors want to flame me...go ahead.

In answer to your original Q,Kayra...

....because we let them..:D

My two cents, someone was selling a suit that I liked as a limited Eid offer of around 3000 Rs .. I think some shinny cotton kapra, with a bit of kaam on the gala and a patti on the edges of the kameez, nothing fancy but well reasonable ... I didnt get into ordering it ... but anyway the same suit, someone else is now at selling 110 Dollars ... I was like is this a joke, write on her pic that well someone I know is selling at 3000 Rs and she deletes my comments.

For me, I just like a few vendors here and others are just a joke for me to laugh at ... I dont think ppl throw out their hard earned money on such prices and if yes, then it will be only once, u cannot make** satisfied and long termed customers** with high prices.

I was in dispute with a vendor, and she gave me a breakdown of what the material, duppata, dyer, lace etc etc had come to, and her "cost" totalled more than what she charged me! like that was gonna ever happen, at least do your sums before trying to convince us mugs.

Have you guys factored in the cost of shipping? Minimum shipping cost via courier, regardless of weight, can be as much as $40.

alot of the outfits quoted at stupid prices DONT include shipping, so yep you've got to add the shipping on top:(

Am so glad this thread was started, I am from London and am fed up of buying stuff from FB and the suits not turning out how they are depicted in the pictures! even after payin so much money !

So even if the tread is started what will be the effect of it on others its just only the disscusiions jo b kar lo layna to hum nay in sab say hi hay abhi b aur bade may so whats with disscussing and all:(
Kisi nay prices may kami to nahi kar dayna after reading this ...:(

lolzzz.......well yarr i don't know actually about the life in Abroad like what kind of problems the muslims are facing there...but i think u need to only use ue sense.......as there are the thousands of homemade designers are sitting in each citiy and used to make dresses ar quite low rates but sum are charging really higher and higher.......

so only u have to use ur sense and trust sumbody else......as i think the thing which u r getting according to ur style and measurements as per customised in low rates+the shipping charges.......rather than spending a loooot of pounds and dollars for the Bakwas things.........i think ppl have to only use their sense in regards of outfits....i think in low cost and in addition of the shipping charges Is Much much much better than to waste hundreds of pounds on the waste things.........as u r getting the thing as per required according to ur style......this is it........

Becuz i also recently started my work and really getting a good responce but yaar i m not even charging so so so much high from the needy's..........only do the 70%-30% business....70% is my cost and 30% is my profit...Only.....lol

LOL...I know what you mean.Bas...ek doosre se apne dil ki bharaas nikaal do.Aur,kar bhi kiya sakte hai.

Seriously,I have given up looking at The catwalk pics.No way do they turn out like that.Plus...I am no model..lol.I ask you...what is the point of pasting a load of fashion pics without your own side by side,so your handiwork can be judged.I saw a replica and thought no way would that suit me...besides some of the poses the models strike are hilarious.Like the T & M ones,with their arms out...my sleeves would be in the saalan all the time...:D

It's interesting no other vendors other than fias is here.Would like to hear their side of the story.But I think our GS designers are a step above these lootairas.

lolzzzzz…:p:)
yaaaaarrrrr i don’t know actually who did start this thread…and y they r looting the people…But yarrr I m quite satisfied in Less…i m satisfied what I 'm doing…

Maybe its about time we started naming and shaming these lootairas???? I have noticed in the past where sellers have had negative feedback on GS, u suddenly find that they come onto GS justifying themeselves and their shoddy business practices or people with 1 post to their names suddenly start posting how they ordered fifty million suits from the so called seller and what a wonderful experience it was blah blah blah.
A couple of rules of thumb for me are:
Communication: If you've sent somebody an email enquiring about prices and they dont respond, take the hint and dont part with your cash. I've sent one particular designer on GS an email about an outfit, she hasnt responded, moral of the story for me "dont give her your money"
Reviews and feedback: Read the feedback on pages like GS. If I've found someone with no feedback, i aint giving them my money!
examples of their work: if they've just got pictures from magazines on their pages, for gods sake ask to see examples of their own work. FOr me, i dont even bother with such sellers! if u havent got any pics of your own work, why not????

not sure what else to suggest guys.

i don't know to whom u r pinpointing.......i just recently joined this thread.......and i recently got an idea from this GS and i am making her dresses as per she customized.....
and yar don't know actually Why this forum get started and who r the suppliers here that r pricing higher and higher.....

i just one customer and she also gave my feedback into my own thread...abhi dresses are getting ready...and why she trusted me cuz i showed her the dresses on skype..having a live vdo chat....so i think which u r pinpointing would may be right...but i don't know who is the suppplier hereee.....lol

@fias...brummie did not mean you,hun!!.Stay calm...she just said that we should name and shame the vendors who are charging extortionate rates.We know you are new here,but there is no offence towards you.

if u read the thread Fias, you'll realise i wasnt referring to u as I havent contacted you about any outfits.
the point of this thread is that alot of us feel that some sellers are getting away with charging ridiculous prices and i've just added my ideas on how we can become better buyers. i hope this clarifies things for u.

Thanks for stepping in Charmed :)

Pinpoint Please;)

Really well said Raindance, if such basic business management would enter the heads of such people the country would not be in the half the mess it is......

Hey peeps sorry i have not been responding busy with work..... as well I live in England and have taxes to pay, petrol, insurance, electric, gas, water bills all that come every four months... I know many people reading this across in shores far away will be surprised that my money isn't growing on my garden tree......

The issue isn't the TOP designer shops, ok if people want to spend that money on them fine the one thing about the designer shops i have to hand them is that they at least mark the prices on there goods so you know they aren't just hyping them up. The people who sell from home are the largest con artists they have no overheads, they include shipping costs in the cost of your outfits so what the hell are we paying for... And why do people even discuss £150 being acceptable for a darn suit.... lol i aint no kanjoos lol and im telling you its a rip off....

As for the various mentions to the hype in the cost of materials eh hello we live in England our darn bread has doubled in price, we pay £1.20 a litre for petrol so we know the cost of living has gone up all over the world but lets not compare the UK to Pakistan, the UK is a very prosperous western country whereas Pakistan is a third world country all things are cheaper in Pakistan by ten fold, that is the largest mistake we people in the UK make. We accept the cost as UK costs its a piss take....... Like I said before I was in Pakistan in August and unless the cost of material has hyped to five hundred times more I bought some stunning loose material suits for like 800rs and I have only seen that material in a few UK shops it was gorgeous. So sorry I don't fall for this crap of material prices etc going so high.... That guy who sold me the suits for 800rs would have made a profit on that now that suit was 5 yards work it out how much more does it cost to make a ready made suit.....

Well I had details of a certain vendor on here in terms to wholesaling and again I was being ripped off, now this certain person is acting and promoting their so called business on here....

I swear ladies I would love to find a decent supplier in Pakistan and set up something again but unfortunately I can't afford through time or costs to go to Pakistan and find a decent ruddy supplier who I will be able to trust and sell nothing fabulous like catwalk stuff but good quality material that will last at the proper decent prices....

The funniest thing is all these so callled designers are just ripping off other peoples designs from the cat walks lol

Well to be honest I just find a good seamstress in the UK and buy unstitched material and stick to them sowing something that will not have the stones fall off, or colour run in the machine, or thread start coming undone after two flaming wears.....

Lol Hunnies please feel free to name and shame the rouge traders on here its my thread and lol no one will be deleting anything.....

Hey peeps me again lol im on one, just had an email from a so-called wholesaler that has commented above I asked for wholesale rates so please read this email and tell me if you think its a loads of BS or am I just being a narky moo

"welll for the prices as u know its all according to the fabric quality and the quality of work.......so normally my ranges start from 2000Rs(only the fabrics designed in stitching) -----upto 3500Rs(embroidery on neckline and sleeves).......the heavy embellishment (adda work) starts from 8000Rs-----upto u know according to the designs......"

As for the so called wholesaler who emailed me this lol well do you want to respond considering the debate....

LMFAOOO £350 for a suit with stitching on neckline and sleeves lol I need to move to Pakistan I am in the wrong country.....