Why do Pakistan women dress like Arabs in America?

Re: Why do Pakistan women dress like Arabs in America?

kisi nay ghaas nahi di.

I don't know I've just realized I can't be them anymore. :(

Calling each other sister doesn't mean anything if you don't treat each other like a real sister or even a friend...I had a lot of hijabi friends but I never got close to them even after copying them in attire and speech. I know it's a good thing to say Alhamdulilah in every single sentence but it loses its value when you don't really mean it and you're just saying it coz you have to in order to "fit in".

^mashallah , jazakallah, inshallah x100000000000 times :hehe:

i find such people annoying too …

the showing off element is definitely a put off starting from your conversation (i have seen MashAllah, Alhamdullilah being rollofied ALOT here when people don't even mean it) to dressing. Esp if they do this to look down on others thinking they are more 'parhaizgar' or 'mutaqqi' !

Lol bro you're just going in circles here, how do you know the intention of anyone? How do you know the intentions of Hijaabi women and non hijaabi women? So many things could factor in about both type of women's personalities. Either group of women could be adulterous and conniving and all sort of unholy. The same goes for Men, but how do you know? There is no way to judge them and if you judge them based on their garb then thats like judging a book by its cover. How do you know the inner workings of a Hijaabi women and how do you know that of the non Hijaabi women? There is simply no way to ever conclude that. Can you trust a long bearded man who wears a turban then he goes and blows himself up and kills innocent people, going against the teachings of the Quran. Or how do you judge a non turban liberal muslim man who kills people just because he's a psychopath? Can these people be judged based on what they're wearing? No they can't and to judge their modesty and their orthodoxy and religiousness based on what they wear is erroneous. Human beings are far more complex individuals to be judged based on what they wear. You say that you know Hijaabi women who follow the "Live and let live principle" and never point fingers, but i personally know of one Algerian girl who comes to my university and takes off her hijaab and attends classes then puts it back on when she leaves. Do you see where we're going with this? There are simply innumerable situations in which people do totally unpredictable things contrary to what they're expected to do.

I'm not being a cynic here but im only trying to show you how complex it is to say that 1 group of people is somehow better than the other based on what they wear.

Who cares what who wears, as long as they are comfortable - it's what is on the inside that counts. Their personality.

I wear what I want, you could judge me by what I wear, and you probably would, it's human nature, but to be honest I don't give a rats behind, on what you think!

Eik bahndaa shalwar kumeez paahey, hijab piyah, jeans piyaa, yaah tolaah piyaah

Uskee maarzeh!

Understood and agreed. But then how did you come to the following conclusion?

So hijabi/bearded men are all a victim of the molvi mentality who're not trying to please God but to show off to the world? Really McPendo, are you not passing judgements about people based on their appearance now? How do you know their intentions?

You made some great points in this thread but this bit really emphasizes what I'm about to say next. That the non-hijabis and the non-bearded men (muslims and non-muslims alike) are far more judgemental of the hijabi/bearded lot than the other way around. That is something that I have observed personally and Sajania786's experiences reiterate this point. "It is complex to say that 1 group of people is somehow better than the other based on what they wear" but it seems to be very easy to use words like "mullah" and "molvi" in a degrading manner for those who dared follow the sunnah and to question their choices.

I don't understand why you don't understand. They do it because the Prophet saw did it. Simple. Why should their decision be affected by what the terrorists wear or how amir liaqat was able to fool everyone by appearing all pious?

I came to the following conclusion by determining the fact that you can't never really know the intentions of either Hijaabi women or Non Hijaabi women. You can't be sure then why must you give credence to the Hijaabi women that they're somehow more pious than the non Hijaabi women.

So hijabi/bearded men are all a victim of the molvi mentality who're not trying to please God but to show off to the world? Really McPendo, are you not passing judgements about people based on their appearance now? How do you know their intentions?

This is exactly what im trying to emphasize here BarbieCue, you're thinking that i am being biased and trying to say that "Bearded Molvie looking men and Hijaabi women" are showing off. I am merely saying you can't know their intentions if they are showing off or not **BUT **you can't also know for sure if the Non Hijaabi women and liberal Muslim men are pious or religious. However in the eyes of the greater Muslim world, the woman who wears Hijaab and covers her body well is somehow better than the non hijaaban. I'm not saying that non-hijaabi women dont cover their bodies (and im certainly not referring to the women who wear bikinis. If you're liberal enough to be a Muslim and wear bikinis then you're defeating the whole point of modesty, my argument doesn't involve bikini wearing women or women who show skin my point is regarding the pious muslims who don't adhere to the Arabic garb and if they do decide to wear westernized clothing then they are somehow branded less of Muslims by the same Arabic garb wearing Muslims.)

You will agree BarbieCue that there is a consensus among Muslims that both men and women who adhere to the Arabic garb are considered better than then non Arabic garb wearers. Who really knows who's intentions are evil or good? No One. Then why does this consensus exists? Surely there has to be one for this thread to exist in the first place.

You made some great points in this thread but this bit really emphasizes what I'm about to say next. That the non-hijabis and the non-bearded men (muslims and non-muslims alike) are far more judgemental of the hijabi/bearded lot than the other way around That is something that I have observed personally and Sajania786's experiences reiterate this point. "It is complex to say that 1 group of people is somehow better than the other based on what they wear" but it seems to be very easy to use words like "mullah" and "molvi" in a degrading manner for those who dared follow the sunnah and to question their choices like you did below:

I do not feel that way about my fellow Muslims who do follow the sunnah, I for example am a Sunni and i follow the Sunnah in every possible way i can. However somethings aren't forced upon me and i know what my rights are as a Muslim Man. I've read the Quran and i know what is permissible and what is not permissible. I can be a perfect Muslim without having to "Show" my Adherence to a particular code of dress. That being said for those Muslims who choose do this is perfectly fine. They have every right to do so and the "degrading" manner in which the name "mullah" and "Molvie" and now thrown around stem from westernized media's portrayal of the Muslim clergymen and not from any personal biases. People tend to get on any popular band wagon to distinguish themselves from what they seem is negative. In this case the "Mullah look". I don't agree to this i feel as if it is good for Muslims to hold on to their roots and dress and feel comfortable. But if they do decide to do this they shouldn't then feel that if other Muslims don't adhere to their viewpoints on clothing they are somehow not "true" Muslims.

I don't understand why you don't understand. They do it because the Prophet saw did it. Simple. Why should their decision be affected by what the terrorists wear or how amir liaqat was able to fool everyone by appearing all pious?

Yes barbieCue the Prophet did do it, and not only that he did many other things which are beyond the comprehension of the "Arabic Garb" wearing Muslims. I am not going to give you an impression as if i am against the Sunnah of our beloved Prophet. I admire him and follow his teachings as much as i can. I believe that there can never ever have been such magnificent personality in this world as that of our Prophet. He took the pagan Arab world out of the Dark Ages and in that age sought to enlighten his backward peoples. Now this is my opinion that people tend to forget his entire life's work and try to "become" like him not in his likeness but rather in his;appearance. As I've mentioned before the prophet never forced his lifestyle upon his followers, even up to the point that when he was in the abode of the creator of the Universe he sought to lessen the prayer because it might be too harsh for his followers. This is brilliant character of our beloved Prophet. What the Muslims need the most is to change their inner mentality rather than their outward appearance in the hopes that God will take them as pious and forget whats in their hearts. We have to light our hearts with the love of the Prophet and his Sunnah and our outward appearance will change automatically. Rather than changing our outward appearance and hoping something will happen inside.

Niyat and actions go hand in hand. If I'm doing Allah Allah all day, that doesn't grant me immunity from the clothing requirements, that doesn't make me special, I still have to abide by the do's and the don'ts of the Quran. As long as you're dressed modestly (and by that I don't mean a headscarf for women or a saudi thobe for men), whatever attire you choose is fine.... unless ofcourse people's own marzi is all that matters to them i.e. free will

Quran doesn't make any particular clothing requirements nor does it prevent Muslims from wearing certain types of clothes. I don't know why you're misunderstanding what i'm trying to say. If the Quran said, "Wear such and such and do not wear such and such". I would never have this conversation with you because i would agree with you. But what I'm saying is since the Quran doesn't require Muslims to dress in any Particular way then why must Muslims who dress in an Arabic garb are somehow considered "better Muslims"?

Thank you for the thorough response McPendo, I've come to the conclusion that we agree on everything, there was some confusion earlier but thank you for clarifying that. And I don't think anyone disagrees with what you're saying McPendo. It's all common sense... for the parhe likhe people at least. It doesn't need to be debated that all that glitters isn't gold. I would understand the need to reiterate several times that hijabi/bearded lot are not necessarily better in character if someone indeed asked for such credence that they're more pious?

If they're saying that dressing like Prophet saw is more noble than dressing in some other way (which may be equally modest) I can understand that. But sunnah is not fardh so if someone's looking down on you for not having a beard, for not wearing shalwar up to your ankles, for not wearing a turban, for wearing jeans, that is jahil panna and you say to them all that you have said here. But if I object to someone not covering their awrah as prescribed in the Quran (for men and women), and they tell me it is okay because holiness at heart is all that matters, that too is jahil panna. I'd never dare question any woman who wears sleeveless/capris or a man who wears micro chaddis, I only have a problem with them justifying this by saying "Allah knows what's in my heart". And you said the same thing here "If you're liberal enough to be a Muslim and wear bikinis then you're defeating the whole point of modesty". *And modesty also doesn't mean wrapping yourself in a burqa. The other day my sister wasn't fasting because of "womanly issues" and I told her not to eat infront of our brother. She goes "pfftt it's not like he doesn't know about this"... and I was like "yeah that doesn't mean you announce to him that you're on your periods by eating infront of him during roza. Go eat in your room if you're so hungry."... My mother added "isi ko hijab kehte hain". I think that says it all, doesn't it. That hijab of soch, pardah of sharm-o-haya is what we need the most. And this spiritual hijab in turn governs our outward appearance and behaviour, like you said *"We have to light our hearts with the love of the Prophet and his Sunnah and our outward appearance will change automatically. Rather than changing our outward appearance and hoping something will happen inside." So we do agree on everything, who knew I'd be telling pendo his post was beautifully written! =p

On a side note, what I find unfortunate is that when my own muslim brothers and sisters look at me, their mind is probably flooded with all negative thoughts, nothing positive. They probably start comparing me to that one hijabi girl who wears low cut tops or that other girl who drinks and smokes or they probably think I'm trying to make some sort of a statement that I'm better. It is because of their own insecurities that they think like so and the funny thing is there isn't even a need to feel insecure if what they chose not to do is not fardh.

It is so unfortunate that a few rotten apples like amir liaqat or that one woman who told so-and-so off for not wearing a hijab have ruined it for everyone. I was watching Junaid Jamshed on the tele yesterday and the thought that he too might be totally fake did cross my mind. And it hurts y'know? That instead of saying MashaAllah this guy has come a long way in his imaan Allah hum sub ko aisi hidayat de, I'm sitting here speculating whether he's a moron or not, whether he's portraying a negative image of muslims by dressing in the way that he does, whether he's reinforcing the stereotype that bearded men are better muslims... all negative thoughts, see? This negativity is quite apparent in this thread too and that is what I disagree with. Muafiqs come in all appearances is something that should be at the back of our heads but unfortunately it has taken over our entire thought process and how we view our own brothers and sisters. Heck I'm even scared to use words like MashaAllah, InshaAllah, Alhumdulillah now that I know people find this annoying too and I might even be accused of tryina be all parhaizgaar. See what I mean when I say how unnecessarily judgemental we've become?

I don’t find these words annoying nor do I find those people annoying…what I said was about me saying those words without any real intent. bass moqa chahiye aap logon ko. :hehe:

Agreed. This is what i wanted you to understand and distinguish from the humbleness and the Jahil-Pana. I pray that we all understand the core of religion and not just the superficial aspects. And point noted on the Micro chaddis :D

Dude?

As much as I could read, I see you began with being very judgemental and back tracked by saying no one can be certain of anyone else's intentions.

The fact remains:

If a bikini clad woman has freedom to wear bikini of ANY style, any woman Pakistani/ non-Pakistani in Aamerica/outside America, should be free to wear Arabic looking clothings if that is what she feels is good for her.
No one including OP, needs to question that, since it is equal to questioning the basic rights of these women to choose for themselves.
*Moreover, there is no need to second guess or doubt the intentions of these women.

When they go to others and force/coerce others to wear the same attire then, it is alright to question them, otherwise, leave them alone.

*They like it. So be it. Period.

^Yea dude, to each his own. :chai:

While in Pakistan I adopted the clothes out of my religion AND respect for my in-laws and others. However, while in the US I wear Western clothes. What I am and WHO I am is on the inside not the outside. I am a respectful, caring, decent woman who gives and gets respect from others. What I wear, as long as I am not flaunting my body, does not communicate WHO I am inside! :)

Live and let live.

lol Hareem this was my observation :stuck_out_tongue: These words when used at appropriate occasions look very nice. But at times when one utters them alot, they put me off…

like a girl was discussing a random bollywood movie and in trying to praise Kareena’s outfits she used MashaAllah 3 times …and i was like girl, it’s Kareena you are talking about :hehe:

hahahaha…i know eh. :wink: Ashwariya is very pretty mashallah…inna lilah … :cb:

the whole point of dressing in islam - male or female - is to be be modest. The Abaya is an item that is supposed to be worn loose, and therefore many women prefer wearing it. Nothing wrong with it. I know some Pakistani women that wear abayas over their shalwar kameez because they feel that their shalwar kameez is not modest enough - the material is too thin, the fitting, etc. So they might wear the shalwar kameez at home and relatives homes, but in public they wear the abaya. It's basically like a jilbab or a long coat.

I have some Abayas that i wear to the masjid or other events. I don't do it so that I want to look like an Arab. I wear them because are modest and loose clothing and I feel comfortable in wearing them.

I would also wear long maxi skirt/dresses and jeans. But again, all modestly. I don't wear them because I don't want to look Arab. I wear what I wear because to me, this is suitable for a Muslim Woman.

I don't even think that there an issue of wearing an Abaya just to look Arab. The people that I know that wear Abaya, me included, don't think so.

My hubby has lot of thobes and wears them all the time. He finds them more comfortable that Shalwar Kameez, and they look better on him. He's not doing it to look Arab, he finds them more comfortable and more modest.

And yes, people judge all the time. Non Hijabis judge hijabis. Hijabis judge Hijabis themselves and Non Hijabis.

and what's wrong with saying Mashallah, Alhumdulillah and Inshallah often? It SHOULD become a habit and be easily to say in every sentence. It's not about showing off. Its about Glorifying and Praising Allah and knowing that everything is in His command.

This thread has saddened me so much that these so called men have such hatred towards abaya wearers. Like the other abaya wearers I wear it for convenience but I can't believe we condemn the BNP and right wingers when our own hold such ignorant patriotic views. First and foremost I couldn't care less about Arabs. I care
for Arabic as I like to understand it so I can understand the Quran and appreciate it better rather than rely on the English. I'd like to ask you guys where you get your views from? Have you ever asked an abaya wearer why she wears it or would you rather make up your own mind?

In a way in glad you guys repel abaya wearers so much it's serving one of it'
many purposes!

Across all schools of thought a basic requirement of hijab is to conceal the figure. Now I'm flippin petite but no skirts, maxi dresses salwar kameezcompletely hides
my little curves unless I layer with long cardis etc. That takes forever. We abaya wearers are busy women. I have a class to teach and a child to lookafter I do not have time to change out of my clothes every time I go out or layering. I love my figure and love
fashion. If I see something in a magazine be it salwaar kameez or a short skirt. I want it to look how the model wearing it looks not ten sizes too big so I feel like grandma whereas the abaya looks on me how it's MEANT to look. If Pakistanis invented the abaya I would wear it. If indians invented the abaya I would wear it. It is convenient something you guys cannot relate to so shame on you for talking about hijab when you don't even get the practical side.

Hijab is one part of my Islam as is namaz and zakat. Nobody is perfect. If people think I'm more religious cos I wear abaya then they're pretty thick. Only Allah is in a position to judge me as he knows me. Nobody else. I'm not perfect I try not to but I curse I'm also really impatient. Good Muslims are patient. Should I then stop wearing hijab and wear form fitting clothes to reflect my personality. So everybody who is imperfect cannot follow Islam cos he may give out an inaccurate image? Whose problem is that really? We live for Allah to judge us not our mates not the imam or whoever. The looser the clothing the less men drool so hijab is better for society. I know this as I never used to wear hijab and it wasn't good as men would look. Abaya for me is better safe than sorry. I'm confident my shape is hidden I wouldn't feel as confident in other clothes nor would I feel good wearing baggy clothes when
they're meant to be fitted damn it.

That post about fetishes had me in stitches. I feel sorry for you. People have fetishes for anything and everything, hijab included so let's stop wearing it. Pathetic.

The saddest thing is seeing so many on here with mentalities similar to many right wingers, judging without knowledge and breeding more ignorance and hatred cos somebody doesn't look or dress the way you'd like them to. Shame on you and may Allah guide you and increase your knowledge and understanding of Islam.

^ what were you searching for that brought you to this thread?

Special occasion abayas or something. Wish I hadn't bothered.