Why do muslim women do this forbidden thing?

Re: Why do muslim women do this forbidden thing?

from religious point of view, there are clear guidelines given for women dressing. They need to dress modestly when going out, cover their hair, and should not reveal their body parts be it bosoms, thighs or legs. That is why the long cloak or abaya is prescribed by many scholars.
Whether women abiding by the religious guidelines or not, is between them and ALLAH, and we as humans can not pass judgement on them.

very interesting point, another fact to be noted before Muslim invasion of India, the local Hindu women did not cover their chests as they were not considered sexual or erotic. But when the Perso-Turkic Muslim warriors from Central Asia started invading the Subcontinent, they found the topless women arousing and seductive, and hence the women started to cover up to avoid all the unintended lust and attention.

@IsaidwhatIsaid you are talking about “medicine after illness” only while my focous is on precautions. Hope it helps.

I am talking about “be cautious but lets also try to collectively work together to wipe out the illness on a societal level”

Does anyone have stats to back up the claim that wearing revealing clothes leads to higher incidence of sexual assaults. Has there been a study done on this? Or did you get this stat from your local pundit?

There is no direct connection, however there is a very strong indirect connection which the multi-billion dollar fashion industry, advertising industry, media industry, etc. see as a threat to their profits. Harmful ideals have long been sold to women for making a quick buck under the guise of women empowerment. For example, tobacco companies used to promote smoking to women under the guise of similar ideals even though smoking is far more harmful to women than for men.

As far as some study is concerned about the connection you asked for, here is one:

This is the real gag: look at the OP. OP was talking about mere shirts with "eye catching" designs on the bosom (and OP mentioned shawl/dupatta so we can reasonably assume that the shalwar kameez is part of this discourse). OP didn't mention the chest being exposed, just having some type of design on the chest area which is "incitement of males" lmao. There is no mention of biknis, or tight clothing, or whatever. Just that. I know people in this thread have called OP out for being ludicrous, but that is the slippery slope we're dealing with. What is enough? If clothing was the only difference, then why do women in Muslim-majority that have essentially kept women in check still get harassed? Shouldn't the unsexy burqas be enough to ward off males?

The kind of law enforcement other solutions require is prohibitively expensive. There are lots of areas such as transport, food, housing, healthcare, etc. that have share in budgets. Spending all the money on that kind of law enforcement means there will be no money left for other areas. Is wearing that dress so important that everything else can be compromised? I don’t think so.

The reason I brought up mass incarceration was to point out that the richest society that refuses to adopt a saner solution and that also has a really low threshold for locking people up has already tried everything within their budgets only short of mass castration, and failed.

The whole issue is lying in the first two words of OP’s thread opener.

“I notice..”

Paa ji, why you notice this much? And by notice if you mean tiktiky baandh ke dekhing, ya, nazron se X-ray karing, then why asking women why they do it?

OP jese log to shuttle cock burqay ke andar bhi jankh ke dekhte hen ke eyebrows ki threading hwi hai ya nai.

#Uffyetharakpan](http://gupshup.org/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Uffyetharakpan)

Interesting article. Thanks.

“The richest society” hasn’t tried sht because “the richest society” only pretends it cares about women’s rights. Laws alone do not change societies. The fact that you think that so many men in a given society are going to harm women to the point that it would be expensive to keep them all locked up (we could always kill them :ny:) is the best meme of 2018. I didn’t even go full feminazi and you did my job for me. Apparently men are triggert by pretty designs on a women’s chest, so we should ban pretty clothes instead of holding men accountable for their bullsht or at the very least strive for a better society. Shabash.
You keep forgetting that one society’s definition for what is considered erotic/improper/whatever is not the universal (as evidence by all the different groups I brought up who didn’t care too much about ~revealing~ clothing for both sexes) so it is malleable.
You could yak about keeping safe all you want. It doesn’t change the fact that this idea is a slippery slope (as evidenced by this ludicrous thread of OP). Hijabs, burqas, niqabs have not deterred sexual harassment/assault in Muslim majority nations. In fact, people have conceded to how dangerous it is for women to go out in the streets in those nations. So, what’s the solution for that buddy? Do we just ban women’s existence in public places all together? Clearly males can’t handle it even if they are covered up in unflattering drapes.
Of course I don’t expect people advertise themselves as “decent” to understand this.

There is plenty of evidence when men from more conservative societies are planted in more liberal societies where women are free to choose whatever way they dress then the sexual assaults rates in those areas rise significantly most of which are committed by the immigrant men against native women.

Hence it’s not the way women dress up but the way some men look at and think about women who dress up liberally.

You can disagree with me all you want, but no need to personally attack me. I’m not debating to win the argument. If your solution works, all power to you. I’m saying that as someone who has lots of precious women in his life whose safety has remained a huge concern. Until you achieve the utopian society, I will keep advising what I think is helpful in mitigating this risk. IRL I do get called narrow minded and having no sense of fashion but it’s alright because my intention is safety of the same individuals who call me that and nothing else.

Avoiding such dresses will not make the problem disappear, however, it is one element that helps. Effectiveness of policies must not be compared between two societies without taking into account the general law-and-order situation. Such comparisons must be made after adjusting for the general law-and-order situation. Otherwise it’s comparing apples with oranges. For example, during Katrina or during the war in Ukraine in 2014, when the general law-and-order situation worsened such crimes spiked, same happens around the world.

Once you take the general law-and-order situation into account, you’ll realise how much worse the situation is in the richest society compared to Islamic countries as percentage of overall crimes committed per spending on law enforcement. As far as the city where I grew up in is concerned, I have no shame in admitting that sexual harassers are present in every section of society and in every age group. Some of the most violent harassers I knew were actually teenagers. Just like with stray dogs, pedestrians take precautions and avoid getting their attention yet sometimes still get attacked. That doesn’t mean the precautions shouldn’t be taken.

The tribes you keep mentioning have little room for individuals to pick mates except for those at the very top. Also, they comprise of very small number of individuals. If you hope to desensitize people regarding a woman’s body in the huge and heterogeneous societies we live in anytime soon, good luck !

The point of me bringing up the tribes what to display that it is not impossible for people to not treat women's bodies as this inherently erotic thing that will make males go buckwild. Obviously, for Muslim-majority societies bringing that idea back will not be easy (understatement). Also, the tribes themselves currently may not have a sh*t ton of people, but there are a variety of different societies that currently exist like this and even more that existed in the past. Also, I'm going to take your take on the marriage patterns of different tribal societies with a grain of salt

I didn't say don't take any cautions, but to act like we should sit here and simply tolerate this attitude and behavior til the end of time is ludicrous. Literally my ~utopian~ solution is to work towards a better society where we can actually hold people accountable for the crimes they commit and not dehumanize women.

I don't see this point of this meandering essay on crime in general and policy that you stuck it. A good chunk of America's prisoners are in there for drug-related offenses, and the crimes that are relevant to this discussion are crimes like rape and sexual harassment. Speaking of rape and sexual harassment, the rapes and sexual harassment in America and even The West in general get reported more than the ones in Muslim majority countries so. . . . . yeah. The stats look worse because they are more accurate than the ones in Muslim majority countries. Clearly unflattering and modest clothing still is not a deterrent, only a superficial """"solution."""" Nothing stops males who feel entitled to women's bodies. Nothing stops males who dehumanize women as a group.

I'd rather work towards an utopia (while knowing that a "perfect society" isn't possible) instead of bowing down to societal ills.

Tradition/Culture

If its not the society or the father ,husband, brother etc which dictates what a women should wear, there's the other culture thing kay " log kya kaingay"

Most desi clothes designer are men anyway, women just follow the trend

men and women are both animals, a lot of women that dress like that are single and looking for a husband or boyfriend so its in their instincts to attract men with their appearance. Men do the same.

I hope you wouldnt say that its because of these immigrants that 1 out 10 students in UK universities gets raped.

No I was referring to the German Study showing immigrants make only 2% of population but commit 3.6% of sexual offences.

i say let nature take its course.....let women flaunt their thangs....and let guys do what they want......wtf is up with utopia n ****not...... let there be no restriction on anyone.....male or female.....all be free