Why do Indian films always have the same story???

Why do they…huh…and plus they copy english or american stories, even disney fims/toons!eg Cinderella=Anmol!

Anyone know???

Boy falls in love with girl
Parents don’t like him
Girl runs away with boy
Dad turns out to be an underworld criminal
Girl finds out
She gets mad
Doesn’t see dad
Dad gets his gang to beat up boy
Whilst doing that dad takesdaughter back, slaps her locks her in bedroom
Boy still getting beaten up (no bruises)
Boy somehow beats the whole gang up…suddenly gets his strength back
Boy climbs up girls house to girls bedroom window
Knocks window
Girl opens it
She runs away with boy again
Naukar doesn’t see her there so tells the dad
Dad tries to find daughter
Girl has already got married
Boy- girl find somewhere to live, even if it isn’t under a roof
Boy finds job
Dad’s gang search for girl-boy showing photos to people, asking them if they have seen them…not found yet!
Dad puts article in newspaper
People see it
Boy-girl go down to shop
Shopkeeper recognises them
Shopkeeper rings the girls dad
dad gets there and snatches girl
He kills boy
Girl then commit suicide
DAD GOES TO JAIL AND CAN’T BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED…my foot!

Well what da ya peoplesssssss say???

Mera Dil Hai 100% Pure Pakistani!xxxxxxx

Oh Boy, how many Indian movies have you seen to come to this conclusion?. You obviously like them, otherwise you wouldn’t be watching so many. Did you see Fire? Courtesans of Bombay?

When you get a chance, watch some Pakistani Movies too. They are equally entertaining.

I just watched Maachis again - fantastic film, a must see even if you don't like indian films.

Problem with most Indian films is that when someone makes a good film that breaks with some conventions, they flop (ie. Lahme, Khamooshi).

The trick with watching indian films, is that be choosy in watch you see - the presenation makes a big difference!! (ie. most yash chopra film are well made, so you are willing to overlook similar storylines).

My middle finger to all Indian movies.

Except for... no all of them...

I'm a genius
Just cant prove it yet...

Hey recycling is good...
I read it on a poster

there has always been a genre of parallel indian cinema. amol palekar, naseeruddin shah, shabana azmi, farookh sheikh, deepti naval, smita patil, shashi kapoor, nandita das, om puri - check their movies out, you wont be dissapointed.

btw, saw this 1975 john travolta starrer super-duper american hit film, grease. looked like an ordinary hindi movie to me. ;) and saw an 80's german movie yesterday, same stuff - girl runs away from home, boy runs along... so are we all that bad or are we just lagging behind by a decade or two?

Janaab! I am a pakka PAkistani parr I love Indian moves yaar, seeing something so far away from life after a long is nice, isnt it so nice Hero heroine fall in love and all of a sudden they are on the swiss alps dancing, thats what I call a movie. Actually today I am driving to BAltimore a three hour drive to watch Phir bhee Dil hay Hindutani. Nothing like a good Shahrukh movie. If you want to watch a different Indian movie, I would suggest ANJAM, now thats different.

And NYA saheb, I think Fire sucked and so did that director's 1947 earth, trying to copy American art movies but a terrible failure. Just like that stupid movie Kama Sutra, now what the hell was that?

What's up lately with these posts comdemning watching Indian movies!!!???
Ok, alright the plot of most of the commercial movies is similar and they gotta spice up the theme with songs, and fantasy stuff, but why do they do that...
cuz the indian public which decides between a hit and a flop is a population of middle-incomed middle-classed families for whom the only source of entertainment is theatres. Majority of these people are either not very highly educated or after a full day of hectic work, they don't wanna see a movie with a serious theme... its just too much for them.

That's exactly the reason why indian movies with "good" themes never become a hit. "Khamoshi" for example... the indian public broke benshes in the theatre when they found out Nana Patekar won't speak in the movie. On the other hand the movie was a big hit here in North America.

I guess what I'm saying is that our judgements are circumstantial and are itemized from the environment that we're in. We can choose what we wanna see!
Maybe its the indian movie - that you've seen - which have the same story...

I know personally there are only a few indian movies which i'd consider worth watching.
Masoom ; Ijaazat ; Lekin ; Avtaar ; Falak ... (a couple of others)
and in recent ones: Maachis ; Khamoshi ; 1947

[This message has been edited by Umar Talib (edited February 05, 2000).]

NYA
Boy have I seen loadz of Indan films......some are crap...sorry I mean most are crap but some (rarely) are good.
But I just watch them anyway...pretty stupid haina?.

I like Pakistani films also....watched quite alot!

Phir Bhi Dil Hai Hindustani is RUBBISH....I watched it in cinema last week and it was so stupid!....SKhan tries to act stupid but over does it!.....1st hour was good but last 2 hours were boring!.
I liked the bit when Juhi and Shahrukh both dress up as Japonese husband/wife and talk in the japonese accent but in hindi...that was way funnny....but since when did JAPONESE PEOPLE KNOW HOW TO SPEAK IN HINDI!.?????????????????????????????????????.

not just story but even names. hero used to be 'vijay' in amitabh times and 'rahul' recently, the family servant is 'ramu', the favourite dishes of hero are 'aalu ka paratha ' or 'gaajar ka halawa' (and after his mom makes it, hero has an idiotic dialogue 'maa, tumhe kaise pataa ke mujhe gaajar ka halwa pasand hain?' what a moron? who is spposed to know what he likes?)

Except for the end where the boy and girl
die, I've seen loads of Hindi films like
the one you described.

The writers are afraid to take chances
with new stories. They would rather
rehash old successes.

Most of the time the result is horrendous,
but I have to admit that I absolutely love
the '70s/ early '80s Amitabh films which
were decidedly formulaic.

But Amitabh was the Don; no one else could
do those roles with as much 'shtyle'.

These new jokers aren't worthy to reuse
his lines, which is what they usually do.

Indians may try to copy American cinema,
but did you watch The Mask of Zorro?

I don't care what you say; that story was pure Indian.

Most American films are crap anyway.

Hollywood usually goes for big budget
blockbusters and originality suffers.

The good films are few and far between.

I'm trying to watch more non-American cinema.
Last week I saw the French movie 'Ridicule'
which was very good.

In London, 'East is East', a comedy about
an Anglo-Pakistani family has been a huge
success.

go and watch SHOW GIRLS!

the story behind mask of zorro was written well before cinema and movies came around :>