Why do guests disappear after food is served???

Re: Why do guests disappear after food is served???

Because in Pakistan, there are so many weddings occurring all the time that one gets tired of attending weddings - and at the same time, it looks rude if you don't attend.

I got married in December and the 5 months that followed.....you don't even want to know how many weddings I attended. Every single weekend, every single day. Friday, Saturday, Sunday night (sometimes mornings), we had to go to weddings. After the first few, me and my husband got so tired and irritated by it, we would attend, go meet the dulha & dulhan and leave after 15 minutes. And no, we didn't eat their food and leave. We would leave before the food was served. Haha.

It's not meant to be rude - it's just the matter that everyone has their lives and you can't waste 3 hours on a night for a wedding of a person you barely know.

Mind you, whenever it's a wedding of a family member, family friend or personal close friend, then yes, you stay for the entire thing and you participate happily.

But for people you don't know......:P Not much fun. Haha.

But you shouldn't let it bother you. My wedding was perfect - and I could care less that people left after eating. All that mattered was that my family was there and all my close friends and the people who cared about me and my husband. They're the only ones who matter anyway. :)

Oh also, on the matter of punctuality - you can't always blame the guests. Most of the weddings I went to, people came on time - at least the majority of the guests were on time. It's up to the hosts to start the function on time and in an organized fashion. If you wait for every single guest to get there before you start, it's not fair to those who are actually on time. You snooze, you lose. If guests come late, that's their choice. And to start the wedding proceedings late is the choice of the host.

I can't tell you how many weddings I went to where we were invited at 7 pm and NOTHING happened until 10:30 pm. And I didn't care about guests arriving late. My anger was directed towards the bride & groom's families! I was ready to throw my shoes at them.

We had a lot of people coming late and leaving early on my wedding. It did not matter at all. We stuck to our program. The baraat arrived at 7 pm and rukhsati happened at 11 pm sharp. That was our responsibility to our guests and we stuck to it.

I agree.

So many times it will be the direct family that is extremely late.

It ends up being me who gets the complaints because "uncle raju was not in the photos", I have to deal with the angry brides who demand a discount because a family member was missing in action.

I cannot help it if somebody shows up hours late!

Usually all the guests are on time for the most part, it is just a few immediate family members that seem to think it is okay to show up hours late and blame caterers for having cold appetizers (you missed the cocktail hour!, food gets cold!).

Hey! I definitely don't go to weddings just for the food. I like to go see the bride and groom :)

Yes!
the last time I was in karachi I remember that I would be ready by 8pm to go to a shaadi and my grandma and aunts will just laugh at me and be like why are you getting ready so early ...they would start getting ready at 10pm only to face a blackout :p
it drove me crazy!!!
at my engagement my in laws came in at 11pm and I had been since 8pm!!
I really don't understand why everything has to happen so late and then the ruksati happens at around 3 am in the morning

and why should they stay up late anyways.. their tummys are full, their job;s done... o bladi O blada

Hi guys,i am new But i am here....The same thing happened in my wedding too,when i came back from the parlour,all one can see were the empty chairsTere were only my nearones to appreciate me.Thanx GOD Dullah was there.It happened because my bro had given food 2 keep ppl busy.N now in my wed vdo there is me,dulah nmy family..lol

omggggggggggggggggggg lol sorry thats hilarious..

however i cant believe the people didnt stay to atleast see the bride...unless you wwre reallllyyyy late.........

i LOVE wedding food!!!

i generally avoid weddings unless i know the bride/groom/or family well....n cum on thats soo low leaving before the bride has even entered the place!!!!

I too luv shadi Food But i cant leave without seeing the bride.Atleast we should pay that much respect to the Dulhan.It's a One big day 4 her

once i went to the wedding, ppl ate their food, everybody left still d bride hadn't appeared... i stayed and waited still her nakhras were so up that she chose to remain inside..... i left fr home as i was sleepy.... next meeting bride's mom was saying oh u guys left widot taikng a look at bride ;p

**I went to a wedding n suddenly we heard an aunty :" Khaana lag gaya hai, toooooooooot parooo" :rotfl: Damn n food wasn’t totally ready n nothing was fully prepared (no spoons,… yet) She took a plate to serve the food to other ppl :smack:
It was annoying n hilarious.

N guess who left the hall first :hoonh:

Well maybe guest are too tired thats why they leave soon after the food is served.

it has become a cultural thing, but god pakistani wedding are annoying sometimes esp if you have small kids, I think it is fair enough if a family with young kids want to go to a wedding for 2-3 hours max and leave right having dinner. Kids start getting really restless and it is no fun for parents anymore to stay up till 11-12 at night with no end in sight.

I think after all the formalities it is family and close friends time with bride and groom, rest of the crowd disappearing shold not be bothering ppl.

I like south indian weddings, they are more like meet, greet, eat and go. Thats what ppl expect too, if someone want to stay they are welcome else they if they want to leave they are welcome to do so. I have been to atleast 100 weddings here and except for 10-12 we never stayed more than 2 hours.

Im happy to see my topic is still alive even after a year, hehe. While reading about your experiences, ive realised that its in our khoon to be like this.....50 years down the line, there will always be an aunty saying 'khana serve karo, hum nay ghar bhi jana hai'.......

I always stay right till the end…may as well get my money’s worth! :cb:

It would be nice if guests stayed a little later. Leaving right after dinner seems like the guests just came to eat. I do understand some people have other commitments and children that need to be taken care of but the bride & groom and their families spent so many hours arranging everything.