Why do guests disappear after food is served???

Re: Why do guests disappear after food is served???

Most people only come for the dinner anyway!

i was visiting to my friend's wedding i stayed until her rukhsati, only around 50 people behind us until the end of the day, there was 1000 people in dinner hall then all gone!

is it best to write down the time of barat 12pm, nikkah 1pm then rukhsati 4pm, so every one know that nikkah start then dinner then bride come. is it custom?

ppl seriously ONLYy come for the food. its like dey tell dere kids NOTT to eat dat day so dey will stuff dere faces wid food at the shaadi.....all dose antis who r like.. beta betaa khaoo khaoo..ghar pe nahi mile ga ( i have actualy heard an anti say dat )..lollll
..and literallyy i have seen ppl at shaadis who have da nervee of askingf or their "gift" so dey can leave.. its soo damm shamefull....
time is ALSOOO da issue... i had my coznz weddin.. it was a morning shaadi.. and the ruksati happened at 10PM at nite!!!.. i plan on tellingg ppl its a morning shaadi just so dey can come LATE around 7pmish.. dat wayy ruksati will take place at 10 as xpected..loll..lol

as i say the term isha-ia to refer to dinner should be renamed to tahajjud-ia

you sure they did not leave because of the dance? :) j/k

I think in England weddings can be a bit dry, unless it is close family or friends. People are not ashamed to openly say they are only going for the food.

Maybe you should have bouncers at the doors:@:

On a serious note, I reckon that people should only go to a wedding if they want to partake in someone's joy and happiness, not as an excuse for a free meal.

ok so how many of you all here are actually telling me that YOU SERIOUSLY DONT GO FOR THE FOOD....AND THAT YOU GO FOR THE JOY OF WATCHING 2 PEOPLE WED IN HOLY MATRIOMONY`....honestly i go for the food...( LOL sorry)

^^^ here in GTA there are only some banquet halls.... where desis get married......... so knowing how bad their food is..... I dont think anyone goes there for FOOD!!

yeah but is it really necessary to invite everyone then?
a lot of people on the invite list are there due to protocols and stuff, niether do the hosts really care about inviting them, nor do the guests really care about the event.

Now if close pals and family start bailing right after dinner, then you have a whole diff issue (unless it is ridiculously late)

It's so nuts in Pakistan...I always eat dinner before going to a shaadi function coz otherwise you end up starving till breakfast time nearly...

I see that far too often!

I totally agree with this. When it boils down to the fundamentals, it is wholly unnecessary to invite people just for the show sha, 'oh-they-invited-me-I-have-to-invite-them' or to keep up appearances'. I know people will argue oh if we don't invite these people they will talk. People talk anyway, so it is neither here nor there at the end of the day, whether they come or not.

I would much rather and plan to have a small intimate wedding with my loved ones and people close to me, rather than having a langar for every Rehana, Shabana, Banana etc. I am lucky that my parents feel the same way.

I would much rather, with the same money, feed people who do need and deserve food and pay for those people who can't afford to have a wedding, help get married.

id rather invite a whole bunch of people i dnt know because they will GIVE ME PRESENTS WORTH ALOT MORE THAN THE PRICE OF A MEAL....:}

^ Umm knowing most desis. i doubt htat.

an average desi family has atleast 4 members.. if you’re paying 30-100 per head, there’s no way they are going to bring presents worth even 50 dollars :rolleyes:

^^ thats why i plan on writing- no boxed gifts- thats when we can see who gives what amount of money ;)

people may read it as no gifts. heck i may just bring something in a brown paper bag for kicks.

I think the best way is to register and tell ppl where you are registered.
that way they have an ability to get something they can afford. You dont know anyone's circumstances for sure, and what good does it do to see who gave how much. it may be tougher for someone to give $50 than someone else to give $200. amount is not a measure of sincerity.

In the end, invite people who you want to be there, give them an ability to get you something you need, otherwise take what they bring, and if you dont want it, donate it.

^ now that would be FUNNY!!!

umm yea......desi's would never understand a registry that's beyond aunties

hey it said no boxes, din say no paper bags

depends on the aunties, the clueless ones will not, the ones with any sense of the day and age will understand.

but as I said in the end people may see registry and just can not afford to spend what is there, we may chuckle, but in wedding seasons if people are invited to multiple weddings and they spend a good chunk of change on the gift it adds up very quickly.

some may see registry and be embarassed to get someone oven mitts, serving spoons and salt and pepper shaker that they wanted, and would go get something that 'seems' a little more of a socially acceptable present.

Because folks admit it, if some family did get you the salt and pepper shaker, serving spoons and oven mitts...they would be the butt of jokes.