Re: Why do educated and intelligent Pakistanis support dictatorship over democracy?
Saleem Bhai! Duwaaye de is leader ko, is waqt ye nukes na hote na to hum bhi na hote. Look at Afghanistan and Iraq!
Brother, please do not misunderstand me, as I am not of those that hate someone for the sake of it (actually, I do not hate anyone, but respect according to what I believe they do or did). Rather, I think it is sin that one do not give credit where it belongs.
I do not think that Bhutto did nothing. Actually, I appreciate a lot what he did on social front, regardless of me not liking some of the things that he did, especially on economical and political front. Fact is that, amongst Pakistani politicians, I think that he did most and should be appreciated for that (that includes initiating Nuclear program for making Pakistan nuclear).
Actually, I think that Bhutto did a lot and could have done much more. Some of what he did is really appreciable and I always would respect him for that. His work in Pakistan for ordinary people and also in bringing changes in Pakistani culture was immense. I think I have mentioned many of what goods he did for Pakistan, in my past posts. Some of his work that I really appreciate are:
Introducing ID card and National dress (as that gave identity as well as feeling of importance and equality to those Pakistanis who could never have thought of their importance). His giving right of passport to every Pakistan and made it easy to get (in past, it was very difficult for most Pakistanis to even get Passport). His abolishing foreign exchange Bonus Voucher scheme and giving right to every Pakistani to get dollars from State Bank of Pakistan for traveling abroad. His start of 'NDVP' (I think that is what it was called) that gave guaranteed job and thus a bit of income to every graduate who wanted it, so that they can have some self respect and work for further their career.
I really believe that he was genuine in his desire to find ways to provide affordable roti, karpra aur makan for all Pakistanis, and give them free (or affordable) education. His appeal to Pakistanis to work for Pakistan and his desire (well, it seems that way) to try to do something for the poor of the country, did gave a lot for poor to remember him.
Well, there are many things that he started that is appreciatable. But than that does not absolve him from all his political victimisation of opponents and destroying ... rather restraining Pakistan economical development (intentionally or unintentionally).