Why do desi people call each other " JANI " ?

I have noticed it so many times and I feel so awkward and disgusted when a girl would call other girl JANI ? Also I heard guys calling their guy friends" JANI". Isnt it a bit awkward ?

Re: Why do desi people call each other " JANI " ?

We call each other jani so girls think that its our real name and call us by that.

sincerely
Jani

Would calling ‘UKP’ be more comfortable for you? You obviously won’t have much problem with ‘honey’ or ‘hon’ or ‘mate’ or ‘b1tch’ for that matter, would you?

Please refer to http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/458971-why-call-everyone-dear.html for details.

kyu jaani ... why is it awkward

just watch someones so gonna say that

@ kakaballi
Well I didnt say I m comfortable with honey or hon or whatever. I only said I found JANI awkward ?

Jani is sweet for some people...just like honey is nice for you. I think calling someone honey sounds like you're 55 years old and baking cookies for your grand kids.

Double post

I use jaani a LOT! But it's for my babies - it rhymes with Aani, hence I call them Aani ki jaani(s).

Although, there is a yuck factor if someone uses it like Raj Kumar from the old B&W movies - that doesn't sound natural.

johnny?

lol! a friend of mine calls me jani...i find it quite amusing though!

ummmm so i’m guessing Jaan is out too ? :hmmm:

OI!!! Nowt wrong with it.. its sweet…:snooty:.. ONLY if applied to a hubby/ fiance!!!

No , Little Johnny .

because "janaymun" is too long. it's just an endearment.

My aunti uses it for her kids the first time she asks for something

"Jani - mughay yeh pakrana"

And when her kids don't listen after the 3rd time - the "jani' turns into

"$%# ka puttar - mein ki key reh ah"

:rotfl: I have seen that happening many a times.

ALWAYS works like a Charm :hehe:

Tum keyun jalti ho jani, yee tu dil k mamala hai.

faqat
Jani

What is up with people these days…first “dear”, now “jani”?

Jani, jaanu, jaan, jaaneman…what’s wrong with using these!!! :konfused:

Seriously? If two girls are good friends why not? Tumhara kya ja raha hai bey?! Tumse paise lete hain jaani kehne ke?

It's not like we are some Mumbai Gangsters jani! Not like we use jani all the time!

j/k looool!

I used to find it a bit weird, now not so much. That's the way some people are. Especially girls in Lahore. Even guys in Lahore use jani a lot. You adapt to it and soon you don't find it weird any more. I only use the word jaan or jani for very very close friends. Not for all friends and acquaintances. You use this word depending on the comfort level you have with your friend.

exactly nothing wrong, but somehow whenever I use that, I get this ugly look. I guess you need to know the person to call her that :konfused: