Why desi peeplan are always late.

There is even something called fashionably late , I don not know where it came from but I have heard it from desi folks. Some people think that they will not be considered important if they are not late. Is the length of time some is late directly proportional to social status of the person/family ?
Late to a party that is , shadi , walima , mehndi , picknick, funeral, yes some are late for funerals too and someone will say bhai thora intezar kar lain choudhrey sahab abi nahi pohnchay. :smack: Like the dead person will get mad if choudherey sahab will not be at his funeral.

Re: Why desi peeplan are always late.

i think lack of discipline is one..I witnessed things like people beginning to get ready at the time they are supposed to be somewhere.

but then if you are among the people who are at a place on time you just kinda sit around. many ppl plan to arrive late because they think that even if they get there in a decent time no one else will and they will just waste their time waiting.

^ as well as lack of respect for another person and their time.

but now that i’ve actually found someone who is also as anal abt being on time/early as uhh i was…i’m more “relaxed” now u cud say :D..i think its ok to be a bit late to social events..but when meeting one or two people, it’s very rude, and to be chronically late for work or class is really pathetic :nook:

hey man... I show up and if nothing is going on I may just hang, or if the place is really dead or I am not in a mood to wait around or get roped into helping I would bail, there is always be something closeby, go get a coffee, or go to some closeby store and do some window shopping. a little tougher with kidsw cuz they dont like to sit and chill at cafes :D

but then unless its close family, I would also leave on time or close to it.

I went to a pakistan day dinner event with friends a few years back..it started 2 hours late, even though we had paid for dinner, when it was 9:30 , I got up and left with the pals.

and as far as weddings go, I have no issues leaving before ruqsatti dramay baazi, cuz really after the dinner which is served late as hell, the entire circus of pictures of teh coupel with everyone and then god knows what kind of rasams. by the time ruqsatti is taking place, I am at home in my pjs chillin like a villain.

What rally pisses me of as the host is that when the first guest arrives an hour late, they will be very very disappointed to find out that they are the first ones. No apologies for being late but rather embarrassed for being the first ones!!! Is this (edit) insane or what?

I know another draamaybaaz couple who would drive upto my driveway and upon finding no other cars would wait around the corner for someone to arrive before them.

So if I want them to be at my house at 7, I would give ask them to be here by 6 and expect them to arrive by 8.

I show up on time and leave at the time I as supposed to. As for inviting people I will also invite them two hours before the actual scheduled time.

soon they will catch on and come 4 hours late :)

I hope not as it is now a norm in desi community to be 2 hours late.

in that case leave the home and leave the food at the front door in take away containers for the guests noting, "we waited.."

I think that my tolerance to the delay in arrival is directly proportional to whether I have work the next day or not. I am much more laid back about it, if there is no work next day.

Usually I am able to find like minded people who arrived early (by mistake) and we can do introductions and chat for a bit. It's all good..

:rotfl: thats hilarious!

I am almost always on time (therefore, the first to arrive), and usually one of the firsts to leave as well regardless of having/not having work the next day.

Some of the social gatherings we attended in Pakistan, we used to be the only ones sitting and waiting there FOR HOURS for someone to arrive!!! It used to seem like we had all the free time in the world to waste sitting there. It's so annoying.

You either have to get used to it or have to be the 'weird ones' out of the 'late' crowd.

If some people are always late,then they are late because they are living up to a reputation for being late.They think of themselves as people who are always late so, guess what? They are late. It becomes a part of how they think the world sees them and therefore, how they must be.

why do desi people always stereotype?

In their minds, they are just being considerate for the hosts' (your) time. Being first is not a problem, but if you are the first, and the next guest does not arrive for another 30-40 minutes, then the host is kinda stuck entertaining just you for this time. If there are two guests there (assuming they know each other), host is then still free to take care of last minute arrangements while you keep yourselves entertained. Thats the logic of waiting in the car for the next guest to come in, and then walk in together.

In most desi parties, hosts have built-in this normal lag between the invitation time and the time guests will actually arrive. Experienced hosts do not get pissed off or irritated when guests arrive 1 hour after the invitation time (yeah, some of you ABCD's and pseudo-ABCD's must have huge problem with this mind set, but thats ok). And if as a host, you really want ppl to arrive at a certain time (e.g. kids birthday: cake cuting, clown show etc), then you should mention it to your guests as part of the invitation. Most ppl will keep that in mind and will arrive on time. I have had no problems making sure our guests arrive right on time when we are having a time-sensitive party. If you are a guest and you have a habit of showing up on the right time, then just candidly ask the host in advance what time they expect all the guests to actually show up. Most hosts do not want you to show up way too early, and will happily tell you that. Yes its a bit confusing for the uninitiated, but after a while you get used to it.

You want to enjoy the party, either as a host or as a guest. Why keep finding ways to get pissed off. So just learn the ways of managing things rather than getting irritated and continue whining about it.

The real tricky thing is not to make sure the guests get on time, but if the party has no end time :) My internal clock shuts off some where around 2 am, and after that, whether I am host or not, I just can't talk any more. And its an interesting (and comical) sight if the host is either sleeping on the sofa or acting like a zombie. :D There are ways to manage that too, of course, and my wife just cracks up when we end up in a situation like that.

yeah but that is when you are doing a gathering at your place. for desi events..concerts, shaddis, trhiungs can get very late. Whebn baraats arrive after the time ruqsatti is supposed to take place then we have a problem. those 2-3 a.m. ruqsattis in Pakistan are not rare ya know. luckily in US most weddings halls have to close at a certain time so there is an end time to the whole thing.

My question is, why the heck these non-desi, particularly gora people are always on time? They make us desi look bad.

I’m never late, and I am proud to be a desi :snooty:

err..cuz they know how to use their watches? :konfused:

so they have a technological advantage .. their Rado vs our Sun Dial :hmmm: