why desi do that part 2

First they categorize us–proud FOB with them–in a category called Desi.

Then they use Desi as a swearing word.

What the hell is wrong with you ABCDs???

seriously we FOBs are not ashamed of our existence.
We also don’t spend most of our adult life trying to make our self invisible to white ppl.
We are just F-in fine. the way we are.

SO NEXT TIME U USED TERM DESI ASK WHO WANTS TO VOLUNTEER IN!!!

OR CALL UR SELF complexed-ugly-brownish-young-ppl. who have terribly failed to established an identity for them self!!!

SPARE US..
unlike you we do love our parents. and we are proud of them :snooty:

Re: why desi do that part 2

Here we go again.

I don't get it...

Sveeti.......many people don't.

PCG, I found you a husband!

You have some serious issues....I suggest psychotherapy. It does wonders.

hi Red.

I know. I see you back on your feet.

Monk, it's great that you have pride in your culture. And one should have pride.

Lekin........koi banda agar apni khaamiyon ko nahin dekhay ga.........to woh khud ko behtar kaisay banaye ga?

It's the same thing with cultures and countries. How will a culture or country improve itself if it doesn't have the courage to recognize it's flaws/faults.

Every country has its issues (western or desi). You can't fix yourself if you praise yourself all the time. For example...........in our culture.........we DO have double standards when it comes to treatment of women. And if a person says that "Desi people are not treating women fairly".....................what's wrong with that? If you avoid saying the word "desi"................that will not make the issue disappear. Problem wahin ki wahin hi rahay gi.

I've even heard people from other races (Black, White, etc)...say "Why do our people say and do this and that?" It's not such a big deal. Yes, certain problems exist in various cultures.....but they can be more common in one culture than another.

You're taking this to an extreme. In some cultures........doing things in a timely manner is important. Other cultures are more laid-back and have a relaxed attitude about time. And of course, various other factors play into different situations.

red tum kitni smart hoti ja rahi ho..

You are right. hmmmm
But its annoying every time some one is annoyed with their parents the blame it on desiness.

I mean dude you got a bad deal. I mean our parents were amazing u know....

Yeah..........um.............thanks for the backhanded compliment (rolls eyes).

Anyhow.......this thread is not about parents. It's about having consideration for time. For a moment, just forget about desi and non-desi and look at this from a Islamic perspective......you're supposed to honor your guests.......but at the same time guests shouldn't overstay their welcome. The issue is consideration.

To keep many people waiting on account of one person.........without valid reason.......is not right. People are hungry.......it might even be more uncomfortable for children or the elderly. If the food is served really late.......that means the guests will end up leaving late. Maybe some of them have to get up early the next day or have a busy schedule the following day. I'm not saying that the guests have only come for the food. But, usually it is the host's responsibility to keep his/her guests as comfortable as possible if they have taken the time out to visit them. There's nothing wrong with that.

As far as parents are concerned..........as much as we love our parents........they're human and make mistakes. I love my parents to death......but they've made their errors. And it's human nature for all people, regardless of race, to disagree with their parents. That doesn't necessarily mean they don't love them. Calm down and read carefully before lashing out.

Monk, kya hojata hai apko? Ghussa nahin karein.

Just like black and white people use terms that dont sound wonderful to even their own ears to describe their own people, we do too.

Desi may sound derogatory sometimes but most of the time when people use it, its understood that its our own culture also.

Actually I am not...my psychotherapist told me I am beyond help....he told me that my unhealthy aversion to desis and fobs could not be fixed and thus I am doomed for life.

Monk I agree with you totally.The way people pounced on me when I started the international student thread is another example of the real feelings of these people deep within them.These peple claim to be “Tipu Sultan” of the community but infact are no more than any “Meer Jaafar” !

you know the word “desi” is used in general for pakistani and indians..and i dont see a reason to think of it as a swear word. so calm down bud…

Two Monk's in my life now who are hard to follow/understand

:eek: MONK , itna ghussa ???

Yaar i am on your side as i am a FOB too so aagay barho :jhanda: