Re: Why can't you pray and fast when you have your period?
did you see any ofense in my replies???
No. :)
You know, I don't know exactly why we aren't supposed to pray/fast during our periods, but the cynic in me does think it is a convenient way for patriarchal societies to exclude women from religious leadership and involvement.
Can someone show me a direct quote from the Quran or Hadith that says that women may not pray or fast while menstruating? I just feel like I haven’t seen one.
Re: Why can’t you pray and fast when you have your period?
Peace Sahar02,
There are many hadiths narrated from Hazrat Aysha R.A. I’ll qouote one for your reference.
**In ‘the Book of Menstruation (Kitab Al-Haid)’ of Sahih Muslim hadith No. 0662.
**Mu’adha said: I asked 'A’isha R.A.: What is the reason that a menstruating woman completes the fasts (that she abandons during her monthly course). but she does not complete the prayers? She (Hadrat 'A’isha) said: Are you a Haruriya? I said: I am not a Haruriya, but I simply want to inquire. She said: We passed through this (period of menstruation), and we were ordered to complete the fasts, but were not ordered to complete the prayers.
Peace Sahar02,
The Tafseer of Surah Baqarah verses 222 is as follow:
"Azan" (arabic word) means hurt, pollution. Both aspects must be remembered. Physical cleanliness and purity make for health, bodily and spiritual. But the matter should be looked at from the woman's point of view as well as the man's. To her there is danger of hurt, and she should have every consideration. In the animal world, instinct is a guide which is obeyed. Man should in this respect be better: he is often worse.
Moreover, scholars concur that fasting is not permitted for women during menstruation. In Book 'Figh-As-Summah, the late Egyption scholar Sheikh Sayyed Sabiq States: "Scholars have unanimously agreed that it is mandatory for menstruating women and women who had post childbirth bleeding to break their fast and to make up for the days they missed later on (after Ramadhan). Al-Bukhari and Muslim recorded that.
Scholars also concur that if a woman who is fasting experiencesa menstrual flow, then she must break her fast immediately. She is not permitted to continue fasting and if she does so she still needs to re-perform the fast (Qazaa).
**As to why women are exempt, **Dr. Muhamamd M. M. Abu Laylah, Professor of the Islamic Studies & Comparative Religions at Al-Azhar University, states: "Part of the logic behind exempting menstruating women from fasting and prayer, is that upon the onset of the period the woman becomes very weak and experiences weakness and fatigue in her whole body, and that is why Allah SWT exempts her from fasting and prayers in order not to add to her weakness".
**Only menstrual and post natal bleeding exempts fasting. **A woman experiencing any other form of bleeding must seek and exemption under illness. Dr. Abdul Fattah Ashoor, Professor of Exegesis of the Qur'an at Al Azhar University states: "A muslim woman is exempted from prayers, fasting and circumambulating around the Ka'bah only if she experiences menstruation or post-natal bleeding. Other kinds of bleeding that might be caused as a result of operations do not prevent women from either prayer or fasting. Therefore, operations that are carried out in the uterus and may result in bleeding do not prevent the woman from either prayer or fasting. Such operations resemble other normal operations that may cause bleeding in other body organs."
Let me make it very clear to you that Faraiz-e-Nimaz are k Jism ka pak hona, jaga k pak hona aur libas ka pak hona. (there are few others but for you these are regarding.). Now when a thing is Farz so there is no need to say anything.
similarly in a fasting, if something enter in your body or something came out so you will be out of fasting. like a little example that if you start vomiting so it Makrooh your roza. similarly having injection, or taking out blood or bleeding these are simply the conditions in which you are not allowed to be in prayer and fasting.
If someone guide you that you can do this and you can go to Allah's home and this and that so please don't follow them. I have seen women, they do their prayer and fasting during periods, but this is totally ignorance and violation of Islamic Laws. but they are mis fortunately not told any one that this is not right.
Also obviously being "pak" is important for fasting and prayer and many activities of a Muslim. There are Hadith that show that this issue is not so black and white as you suggest. For example, consider this Hadith:
Book 003, Number 0587:
'A'isha reported: The Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said to me: Get me the mat from the mosque. I said: I am menstruating. Upon this he remarked: Your menstruation is not in your hand.
Book 003, Number 0591:
'A'isha reported: The Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) would recline in my lap when I was menstruating, and recite the Qur'an.
I always look at it this way that we get a 4 to 5 year head start from the males as to when we start our wajibaat. We start praying as welll as fasting years earlier than them so in the end no body gets an unfair advantage. :)
what is wajibaat, and how come girls start praying/fasting before boys? i thought both genders were meant to start praying at 7?
soo did this debate ever get resolved? Nadz thread in life1 got me thinking about the habit of praying 5 times a day.
Does anyone find that not being able to pray during that period makes RESUMING the habit soo much more difficult.
Praying 5 times a day is like a habit you get into....then it is easy to maintain. There have been SO many times that I pray 5 times a day non-stop and feel so good about it. Then all of a sudden, its that time of the month, can't pray for a week and I have lost the momentum :(
soo did this debate ever get resolved? Nadz thread in life1 got me thinking about the habit of praying 5 times a day.
Does anyone find that not being able to pray during that period makes RESUMING the habit soo much more difficult.
Lo ji yeah kya baat hui. So If I travel for 7 days, once every month, I would pray Qasr. That means that it would become hard for me come back and pick up full salat?
Praying 5 times a day is like a habit you get into....then it is easy to maintain. There have been SO many times that I pray 5 times a day non-stop and feel so good about it. Then all of a sudden, its that time of the month, can't pray for a week and I have lost the momentum :(
Peace pkgrl000,
If u feel that u lose the momentum, here what u can do. In those special days do as usual wudu at prayer time and sit in a place for 10 - 15 min alone assuming that u r here to about to offer that namaaz. This is to how u keep the habit of daily life routine. :)
So obviously my whole life I've been told that I can't pray or fast or touch the quran or go into the masjid for as long as I have my period, but nobody's ever told me why?
The thing is I thought the point of prayer was to be close to God and 5 times a day show him that you're grateful to him etc. Considering that you're supposed to pray even if you're sick, or travelling or handicapped and you can pray lying down or however possible for a particular situation, why is that the only exemption to praying is when you have your period?
Does anyone have any sources from the quran or hadith that specify this order too?
Just following the Jewish tradition and Torah... Go ahead and google it...