Why are some things not OK in Pakistan, but OK in other Muslim countries?

[QUOTE=]
Ok so tell me one thing. What do the locals in Dubai say about all of this? I imagine Dubai locals are as allah walay as Pakistanis.

It doesnt matter. They dont live in Dubai. As mentioned by someone else, the local population in Dubai is miniscule to the extent that if they did commit tantrums over this issue, it wont be heard. Just like the tantrums of Pakistani villagers located in the middle of nowhere will not be heard, when they hear that some American in a five star hotel in Karachi is drinking a glass of wine with their dinner.

[QUOTE=]
Just look at this thread, I mentioned the work alcohol and three people came in saying how we shouldn’t have it in Pakistan and how it’s wrong. Now, don’t the locals over there say the same thing? What is their attitude towards it when they drive by a fancy 5 star hotel and bar?

Locals do not say anything, because they are not there. “Attitude towards it when they drive by a fancy 5 star hotel?” They dont say ooooooooh people are drinking alcohol in there! NO! They say “ooooohhhhhhh i’m too poor to even think about walking in there, for a nice Chicken Biryani”. Alcohol isnt given that much importance.

[QUOTE=]
Whenever they decided to start builing these bars and clubs, didn’t their people say something?

NO! Probably not and to be honest, i dont think they really care whether joe the plumber from outside is drinking alcohol, as long as he is not a Muslim.

[QUOTE=]
Don’t they have mullah types over there who get on the mic and scream like they do in Pakistan?

Yes they do. And? You think that just because some Mullah is screaming, they would stop building a resort?

[QUOTE=]
BTW, these “Muslims can’t do this, but non Muslims can” laws are silly. Either have a law for all, or don’t have it for anyone.

Hmmm… are you living in this world? Hello? I am a Muslim and I live in a land of kuffar. Does that mean its OK for the law of my country to force me to eat pigs? Just so everyone “can have the same laws”… you think we all have to have the same religion, the same culture, the same everything? You have to respect the laws of the country you live in, but when it comes to things like observing your religion no one has a right to tell you whether you can observe it or not. Bearing this in mind, we cannot force a non Muslim to refrain from alcohol and when they are asked to do so during ramadhan in public,(Dubai) its due to respect.

Re: Why are some things not OK in Pakistan, but OK in other Muslim countries?

It seems like you are looking for an excuse and reasoning to tell you its OK for you to attend bars, clubs and drink alcohol. If you wanna do it, then do it. But dont call yourself a Muslim.

No, I am sorry that was not the intent of my post. If you believe so, then you may stop point fingers at me, and stop responding in this thread. Your input and "insight" is no longer necessary.

It doesnt matter. They dont live in Dubai. As mentioned by someone else, the local population in Dubai is miniscule to the extent that if they did commit tantrums over this issue, it wont be heard. Just like the tantrums of Pakistani villagers located in the middle of nowhere will not be heard, when they hear that some American in a five star hotel in Karachi is drinking a glass of wine with their dinner.

Locals do not say anything, because they are not there. "Attitude towards it when they drive by a fancy 5 star hotel?" They dont say ooooooooh people are drinking alcohol in there! NO! They say "ooooohhhhhhh i'm too poor to even think about walking in there, for a nice Chicken Biryani". Alcohol isnt given that much importance.

Locals are in charge over there, not foreigners. And too poor? Have you been to Dubai?

Khair aksar Arab Shaikhs ghar ki aiyashi se dill bher jata hai tu Pakistan hi aty hain,"Nikah kiya hai zina tu nahi" Kehny walon ki asal zindagi main jhanko tu patta chalta hai ky kuch nikah baqi zina chal rahy hain tu garh tu buhat si cheezon ka hai Pakistan bas sach bardasht nahi hota magar tdw per hyrat hy konsi pabandi inhin Pakistan main nazar aai:D

The "locals" are the worst of the lot.. they go overboard with it all! Be it the men or the women! Casino's are the only things Dubai didn't have..and from what I hear, by 2009 there's one opening-up! NOT for foreigners, but for the locals..and the arabs that come from neighboring countries.

The expats have 'done that, been there" so all of it doesn't hold any charm anymore. It's the locals that full advantage of it all.

First of all, you need to check your facts.

Muslims are legally prohibited from purchasing or consuming alcohol in the UAE, but liquor permits are available to hotels and businesses serving non-Muslim foreigners. Muslims are also not allowed to drink in Malaysia...and the religious courts there have been known to send "religious police" to raid bars and nightclubs to ensure that no Muslim patrons are being served there, and have had Muslims caned for public drunkenness. The only reason alcohol consumption might be more apparent in these counties is because both have very large non-Muslim populations, and get millions of non-Muslim tourists every year...all of whom are legally permitted to drink. Pakistan on the other hand is 97% Muslim, and the only tourists it gets are Paki expats visiting family, and a handful of journalists covering the war on terror.

There are really only a handful of secular Muslim-majority states where alcohol is freely sold...Turkey, Egypt, Bahrain, Lebanon, Morocco. Otherwise, most other nations have legal restrictions that may or may not be applied strictly.

In any case, I think a better question to ask is what changed in Pakistan in the 30 years after independence. Karachi had bars, nightclubs, and cabarets back in the days when Dubai was still a Bedouin village on a sand dune. It wasn't till 1977, when ZAB decided to appease the JeI, that alcohol was banned.

If they're with family, they go back home to drop the wife and kids, get out of their local (arab) clothing, get back there in western attire so that noone coul mistake them for who they are (native arabs) and dance and drink the night away like a funky, crazy chicken. Same goes for their women, though, less in number as compared with men. They come to meet their secret boyfriends without their parents' / husbands' knowledge. You may also see some of these local women arriving there in their usual muslim cover (which they need to get there without hassle :) )

Them indians do not play with the arab political scene like they do with Pakistan's. In Pakistan, the ministors, the mullahs, the public, and just about everyone is quite vulnerable at the hands of indian exploitation as per their interests.

In order to create trouble in Pakistan starting from how a chicken is slaughtered to how the vegetable market should be run to which minister gets to stay and which one must go is all run and controlled by indian agencies through our own people belonging to different walks of life. Hence, as long as something or the other creates trouble, unrest, turmoil, despair, distrust OF ANY SORT in the Pakistani nation, the indians agents in Pakistan will keep exploiting our own people against Pakistan.

On the other hand, arab lands stability gains indians alot (in every little way) in the long run. They would never want to create all that unrest, turmoil, despair in those lands because that in turn will hurt their own interest. Because these lands can be called second home of indians due to the large number of indians who occupy these lands, earn a living and support india.

But in Pakistan the general public is either too busy struggling to make a living or too stupid, naiive to understand that; the political leaders / minister too busy looting Pakistan & living lavishly; and the pervy mullahs too busy creating more and more 'mini catagories' of small muslim groups, dancing in mosques & bollywood tunes, pointing fingers over the rest of the Pakistanis who do not follow their mullahism, & feeling confident to have already attained 'Jannah'... to realise the huge net of indian consipiracy all of the Pakistanis are fooled to live in.

Yes, in fact for your information I have been to Dubai and when I was talking about poor people, i wasnt referring to Dubai, I was referring to anywhere. Yes. There are poor people in Dubai - even in New York or London, for that matter.

SPOT ON! :)

Re: Why are some things not OK in Pakistan, but OK in other Muslim countries?

Pak is a double standard country yar. Angelic on the outside, devilicious on the ins. Its so hard to trust anyone. Zahir aur batin ka farq karna is all only revealed when u take one of 'um clubbing, atleast then u can verify who is a true angel and a demonic twit :bummer: