Why are late marriages a big deal?

Socially in desi culture, its a big NO NO.

Reasons could be having kids late who are in their teens when you are dying, no good rishtas come in that late. What else are the reasons?

By late I mean:
Men in their 30s, say 33+
Women in late 20s, 28+

Re: Why are late marriages a big deal?

women trying to build a career . it's also noted that when men and women wait that long, they become more rigid in their choices. hence, a compromise is hard to to find.

Tradition, mostly, but I feel that society is changing, now people will mostly wait till their girls are done with graduation at least and even a year or two of work to find out where they stand and what sort of person they would like to be before they commit.

Because Aunties are large and in charge and they want everybody to suffer.

I mean why is it a sort of taboo & considered No-No in our society? Not why it happens :p

one reason is you may completely miss the boat if its too late th

well said

i heard this couple years ago from two old auntys who were sitting and discussing marriages and ages ’ larki ki time pe shaadi na ho.. to aage jaake bachey hone mein masla ho sakta hai’ :hayaa:

:hinna: oh these auntys.. :hinna:

its true its difficult 2 begin ur family after 35 for women for me 30+ is late for women n 35+ is late for males

you miss out on all the fun. :D

Cos they're less 'moldable' and less likely to put up with BS, more likely to be picky (or less likely to 'yes' to any guy their parents stick in front of them depending on which way you look at it), their standards are likely to be higher, less likely to be emotionally blackmailed or manipulated as they tend to be more educated, more financially independent and less naive about things.. The thing about not being able to have kids only applies to women who are quite a bit older and obviously the vast majority of desis are married by then.. even if they choose to wait..

for men: 40+ is considered late
for women: 30+

so you are implying that in most cases younger girls are NOT married to guys who are their **equivalents **in terms of looks, intellect, status? is that why the standards of women get higher as they get older ?

because I dont see the same phenomenon with mens preferences as they get older.

^I wouldn't say they're not their equivalents in terms of looks, intellect etc., just they often aren't expected to say 'no' and aren't able to check out other options..

Cos married folk cannit stand watching single folk do what they want, when they want, how they want and all of that sort of stuff.

Can't put it better myself

checking other options is a different thing, but you specifically mentioned "standards getting higher" I think there is a lot more to it than not saying yes to the first guy.

^Perhaps they just realise there's nothing wrong in wanting more or something different..

you dont think this is a symptom of something more significant?
I dont see that happening with mens preferences as they get older? say, as they get from 24 to 32 ?
but that phase is very significant as far as womens preferences are concerned.