Why are desis so apathetic?

How the hell do you drum up motivation and fervor (aside from the de rigueur religious and cricket sort) to start something that will benefit desis as a whole e.g. lobbying for scholarships and bursaries? Why are we so concerned about how we will look, so held back by fragmenting factions, so utterly sluggish to do something for our own friggin benefit, let alone for that of others. I can think of a handful of progressive organizations committed to advancement (e.g. MSN in the States), but there is nothing like that in Canada. Why are we so friggin myopic and refuse to see that WE are the future, WE are the priveleged who can actually make some change. Instead PSS is undemocratic, unregimented, full of idiots organizing half-assed melas committed to poondi and choorian rather than doing something for the community.

Indians are pretty good at this. But what’s wrong with Pakistanis?

Re: Why are desis so apathetic?

Most poeple are apathetic. Right now I am apathetic and it is nothing to do with my colour, but rather, I blame the flourine in the water that dulls the brain and induces a stuper. It makes us easier to control. Maybe desis drink more water.

Yeah well, why should we rail at white people in government for slighting us? Why not do something about it ourselves? Why charge others' with the onus to chart our success.

There is a difference between general apathy and what you've described as a culture which accepts authoritarianism. I'd say as a people Muslims in general and Pakisitanis in particular swing between extreme emotionalism and fatalism.

an idiotic statement to say the least …

It it not because we are too consumed by our own personal desires and passions and our drive to attain financial / material success on a personal level that we completely ignore the greater good ?

lol.:omg:

I think most of us are still struggling to find a balance and find our place in society. Some people who have found that higher ground are working for the higher good of society and giving back albeit on a small scale.

Sarah I agree with you on this one. We can do great things as a commun ity if only we all comke together.

did you mean smoke? :D Kaleem can help us out then!

Salam Sarah...

A few comments:
1) Your thread title needs some adjustment... Its not desi's that are apathetic, rather its Pakistanis since you rightlfully point out that Indians are far better (proactive - more organized) community!

2) To answer your question it really boils down to this, and those of you reading please dont blast me for saying this:

Pakistanis find taking orders and obeying the law rather difficult. We as a society can't think beyond the confines of "the family"... If there is one thing that is common amongst Japanese or Western society, it is that they pay taxes and obey the laws of their land... In pakistan, if you pay taxes then youre deemed just plain stupid...

An even more outrageous thing to say is that the Muslim world has always functioned on the basis of extreme forms of everything... even the concept of heaven and hell are very extreme... No middle ground whatsoever.

3) If you so choose to criticize my comments Id like to further add that Pakistanis dont take self criticism very well (i.e we are just not a very Introspective society).... For proof, just look at the number of "Blame America" threads... and as you all know, a society can never advance without learning from failure... and while there's is plenty of failure to go around we as a nation/society prefer to pass on the failings onto others.

4) In out society, emotion takes precedence over logic! Sad but true.

Ps. I am aware that there are 7 levels of heaven and 7 levels of hell... So it is not Islam that is extreme, rather muslim interpretation of it!

Salam to all!

There are two kinds of apatheis: One arises when one is extremely busy while the other arises when one is extremly lazy. Which one you are talking about?

Not forming communities is not being apathetic. I think it is a very positive attitude that people are starting to think outside of their ghettoes.

You can easily motivate desiz to blow stuff up, to talk bs for hours, and do all kindaa stupid stuff but doing anything constructive… hell no.

BTW that poondi comment was gud…:omg:

This is because we don't get along well with each other. The pathans feel they want to join in Pakhtoonistan and think of themselves as some superior being. Mohaajirs are under the spell of Altaf Hussain and hate everyone else. And Punjabies, well this joke describes their behavior to one another:

A saint saw hell in his dream and found that there were furnaces of fire for every nation, each guarded by an angel. If any one tried to come out of the furnace, the angel on guard would push him back. There was one furnace without any angel gaurding it. He asked why this one is without a guard, he was told that this one is for Punjabis, if any tries to come out, the others pull him back in.

He asked why this one is without a guard, he was told that this one is for Punjabis, if any tries to come out, the others pull him back in.

yeah in common parlance, it is known as "crab mentality"
if you guys have ever noticed during the rainy season, the gutters in many places have crabs swimming aroung in them. whenever one crab tries to climb up the walls and explore the better world out of the gutter...the other pull his leg down and he falls back into the gutter.
desi(most of them) have small traces of this crab mentality inside them.
khud to tarakki nahi kareingey aur jo banda kam se kam try karta hai uski taang adayeingey.
desis for some god forsaken reason find pleasure in doing this.